We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew?”

Cabot Visitors Center & Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Cabot
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Location where Cabot cheese and other products are made.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
267 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Who knew?”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We needed a little something to check out before heading to Dog Mountain.
This informative tour was just perfect. 1 Hour was all you needed to watch the film and tour the facility and load up on delicious samples. bring home some cheese snacks as well.
learned some great dairy fun facts and history of Vermonts dairy industry.
Who knew Cheddar cheese was lactose free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank caryn1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    142
    45
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The tour was so-so. The guide showed little enthusiasm. If we did not ask questions, she had little to say. It was 2:30pm. Most production had finished for the day. We did not see much. They did provide ample cheese to sample (and purchase) at the end. The gift shop items were quite expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce-Joanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, eTeam at Cabot Visitors Center & Tour, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We truly appreciate your feedback and are sorry your visit did not totally meet your expectations. It is more exciting when production is in full swing, we agree. On behalf of our 1200 farm family owners, thank you so much for visiting and for trying the "World's Best Cheddar."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yum”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love Cabot cheese so much that I buy it in Texas. It's the only cheese I eat. When you buy Cabot, you are supporting Vermont farmers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mollythevermonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, NJ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun tour, great samples...a must!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

A top notch company that has now earned me as a customer! We all found the video very interesting, informative and enjoyable. The actual tour was nice to see everything hands on but the generosity of the cheese samples was amazing! It gives you the opportunity to taste the differences of each cheese and learn a little more about them. When in VT this is one tour you should not miss!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachlovur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious samples, fun tour”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Yeah, the video beforehand is too long, but the tour is interesting—quite amazing to see how a major company makes an enormous amount of cheese all at once, packages it and prepares it for aging. You walk down a center aisle in the factory with large picture windows on either side as the guide explains what is happening. She takes too much for granted though—especially with so many little kids on the tour—I don't think they really understood that cheese is made from milk and that milk comes from cows, like the ones they've seen at every farm on the way here. Best part comes afterwards when you can sample perhaps twenty different Cabot cheese varieties—including their specialties and reserves (like a vineyard tour.) Jam packed gift store has many interesting food items (not just cheese), plus clothing and other Vermont gifts, but it gets awfully crowded when the place is busy. Fun time. Good tour. Great cheese.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelphantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabot Visitors Center & Tour also viewed

 

Been to Cabot Visitors Center & Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing