We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly interesting.”

Cabot Visitors Center & Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Cabot
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Location where Cabot cheese and other products are made.
Hampstead, New Hampshire, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly interesting.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This tour was more than we expected and the ability to try so many different cheeses was really great. We are sold on Cabot cheese!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AKM-DJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    149
    46
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, MD
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great and affordable family learning experience... and free cheese”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We learned a lot today about cheese. We got to see how it's made, saw a great video about the farmers that supply the milk, and got to try over 20 different kinds of cheese that Cabot makes. My personal favorite was the garlic and herb.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“$2 pp for the cheese tasting”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our tour guide was not pleased about leading the tour, but it was ok. Tillamook does a better job, imo, but the tasting table at the end of the tour was fantastic. They had about 15-20 different kinds of cheese to taste plus dips and popcorn flavorings. There were some great sales on cheddar too. Bring a cooler if it's warm so you can get your haul back. The drive is beautiful!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lgwacbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

You start off watching a short video. It was interesting enough. We then saw them putting cottage cheese into large containers. Next we saw large blocks of pepper jack cheese being made and wrapped. We were then allowed to sample all types of cheese. It wasn't a bad way to spend a rainy day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nanna5indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,122 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“AFTER THE COWS COME HOME”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Cabot Creamery was a suggested stop by our bed and breakfast vendor. We found the creamery in a scenic and tranquil setting with lots of photo opportunities.

The tour is very inexpensive and lasts about 30 minutes. You get to view all of the stages of cheese making and good explanations from the tour guide. There is also good signage that tells you exactly what you are looking at.

At the end of the tour you are encouraged to taste a large variety of cheese, cheese products and fresh butter. If you find a cheese that you really like it is available for sale.

This is a good tour for families. The children seem to love watching the cheese making process.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabot Visitors Center & Tour also viewed

 

Been to Cabot Visitors Center & Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing