We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Cabot Visitors Center & Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Cabot
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Location where Cabot cheese and other products are made.
Indiana
Level Contributor
142 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

You start off watching a short video. It was interesting enough. We then saw them putting cottage cheese into large containers. Next we saw large blocks of pepper jack cheese being made and wrapped. We were then allowed to sample all types of cheese. It wasn't a bad way to spend a rainy day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank nanna5indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    142
    45
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
1,073 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“AFTER THE COWS COME HOME”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Cabot Creamery was a suggested stop by our bed and breakfast vendor. We found the creamery in a scenic and tranquil setting with lots of photo opportunities.

The tour is very inexpensive and lasts about 30 minutes. You get to view all of the stages of cheese making and good explanations from the tour guide. There is also good signage that tells you exactly what you are looking at.

At the end of the tour you are encouraged to taste a large variety of cheese, cheese products and fresh butter. If you find a cheese that you really like it is available for sale.

This is a good tour for families. The children seem to love watching the cheese making process.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, NH
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Cabot is a bit out of the way, but it was well worth the drive. The tour was very affordable and provided great info about a company that is a lot more impressive than I realized. It was very interesting to learn about how Cabot does things. And as an added bonus they have a huge variety of free samples. Just make sure to bring a cooler with you, because after all that sampling, chances are high you'll want to buy lots of varieties of dairy products.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wildcatsfan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Say Cheese!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

For $2pp they have a brief presentation on the history of the Cabot Creamery coop followed by a fairly rapid tour of the creamery itself. The whole thing takes maybe 30 minutes before you are lead into the gift shop to try all of their cheese. We had an opportunity to taste sample of each cheese and we took full advantage! Ended up buying a few blocks as well as their Greek yogurt.

Next time I'd skip the tour and go straight to the cheese tasting!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank y498yates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, CT
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Family Destination in Vermont”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Fabulous tour of the cheese factory and a movie on the history, and lots of cheeses and things to sample, and gifts to buy...great Vermontiana. This place will show the kids the essence of Vermont.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dragonflysees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabot Visitors Center & Tour also viewed

 

Been to Cabot Visitors Center & Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing