We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Learning tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabot Visitors Center & Tour

Cabot Visitors Center & Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Cabot
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Location where Cabot cheese and other products are made.
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Learning tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Very informative tour, and nice gift shop, lots of samples of product. There are annex stores in addition to the actual factory in Cabot. This tour was inexpensive, enjoyable and easily accessible. The entry is on ground level and the tour was accessible by elevator. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, and friendly. She could have used a microphone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GenuineCustServNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    140
    44
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Somers Point, NJ
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Must See for Cheese Lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were in the area for Ben & Jerry's and on the advice of another tripadvisor member, we stopped here for some samples. When you first pull up (it's the same parking lot as the chocolate factory), Cabot just looks like a store. But once you get inside, there's a table full of samples. There were at least 20 cheese samples as well as popcorn, dips, bacon, etc. If you're in the area, stop by.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linamary69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Not sure why so many reviewers seem to complain about this being so far off the beaten path. I had no problem with the 45 minute or so drive to the Waterbury-Stowe area (for Ben & Jerry's), and then another 45 minutes or so to Burlington. Gorgeous little back roads getting to the creamery including passing by a cute covered bridge called "Martin's". Worth stopping by for a quick poke around that site to help complete the Vermont experience. As for the creamery, we got there early on in the day and didn't have problems with crowds. We had called ahead to make sure they were making cheese and they were (their website specifically advises to do this since they only make cheese about 4 days a week) so it was fun to see the factory in motion. Samples were tasty and the tour guide was knowledgeable. Have a new found respect for Cabot's cheese and will definitely look for their product back at home, especially the Tuscan variety. Mmmmm.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Must see and do if you love cheese!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

After a disappointing tour of Ben & Jerry's, I did not want to spend even the $2 for the tour at Cabot - but am very glad that my husband talked me into it. A short movie gave a very good overview of the company - very inspiring with the cooperative philosophy. The tour was right on the production floor - as close as you can get, even though some of the lines were not working, our guide made it work, referring to what we saw in the movie, and what we could see looking into the rooms. It was very interesting. And then, the cheese!!!! 20+ samples of cheese, also samples of dips and other products. Prices in their store are comparable to non-sale prices in grocery stores.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lawonridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
386 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“YAY for cheese tastings!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Got to try over 20 samples of cheese on this date which made me very happy. Didn't get to tour the factory though as it was not a production day. Worth a stop for sure!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyTravelBug80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabot Visitors Center & Tour also viewed

 

Been to Cabot Visitors Center & Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing