We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to tour, cramped shop”

Cabot Visitors Center & Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Cabot
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Location where Cabot cheese and other products are made.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great to tour, cramped shop”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The Cabot Creamery is a great place for anyone who loves cheese! The tour does have a small fee of $2, but it is worth it. This tour begins with a video about the history of Cabot. It was interesting to learn about the cooperative and how the farmers are paid for the milk they provide. After the movie, you get to take a tour of the factory. They were in the process of making pepper jack cheese and we were able to see all the different stages of the cheese. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and took the time to answer all questions and expand on them to give a great picture of Cabot as a business. The tour ends and you are invited to spend time tasting the various samples and shopping in the store. The store itself is quite small and it was very busy. The sample table is in the middle and there isn't much room to move around. On the plus side, there are about a dozen different types of cheese available to sample, along with samples of dips and maple products. Cabot is about an hour drive from Stowe and if you don't have the time to head to the factory, or aren't interested in the tour, there is an annex store in Waterbury Center. This store has a lot more room and more samples. Cabot is certainly a must for cheese lovers!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank tine1281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    149
    46
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
alabama
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“real tour”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

on this tour you actually go into the factory, not just watch a film. you get to see how they cheese is made. it is quite informative and afterwards you do get to taste some cheese. make sure that you go to the location in Cabot if you want the tour, the other two locations are just stores, although you can try samples there.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank cynful2no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“GREAT TOUR AND GREAT CHEESE”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

As part of our trip thru Vermont, I convinced my wife that we should stop for a tour of the Cabot Creamer. She knew very little of the process for making cheese, except that it started with the cows and ended up on the store shelves, ready to buy. Having grown up in a Wisconsin town (that happened to be home to one of the states larger creameries) and working every summer on my uncle’s dairy farm - I knew there was a whole lot more to it.

We learned about the history of this dairy co-op. She was fascinated to learn how the cheese making process started and all the steps it takes to end up with it looking and tasting like the cheese that we love. This tour is like a first hand viewing of the TV show "How It's Made".

At the end of the tour you have a treat waiting for you - samples of their cheeses! Not just one little taste. The samples are plentiful - you can re-sample to taste and compare this one against that one and discover new favorites. The $2 for the tour was well worth it. The staff that we saw were all very friendly and answered everyone's questions. This is another tour that was well worth the time - highly recommend it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank gemini52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fun, Informative Tour”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We went on the Cabot Creamery tour and really enjoyed it. It was both fun and informative. We learned alot about not only the cheese making processes but also the history of the company. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. She was able to answer all of the different questions that the group asked. We were able to also see the cheese making rooms. Afterwards they had numerous samples of their cheeses. I would certainly recommend this tour, especially if you are a cheese lover.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“worth the tour & great info”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We love cabot cheese and the tour of the creamery was informative and fun for the whole family. They show you how they make the cheese which we had never seen before. tour is not very long so that way if you have young kids they will have fun too. lots of cheeses & spreadsthat you cna try in the store - some of the cheese flavours are not the usual ones you see in the store. Definitely worth the trip to the creamery. It is one of the very few brands that uses microbial rennet so for vegetarians this cheese is perfect

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank DHKY4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabot Visitors Center & Tour also viewed

 

Been to Cabot Visitors Center & Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing