We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true taste of Vietnam in Burlington!”
Review of Pho Hong

Pho Hong
Ranked #10 of 242 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Takeout
Gaithersburg, MD
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A true taste of Vietnam in Burlington!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A great Vietnamese restaurant in Burlington, staffed by excellent cooks, and serving very fresh and tasty food. I can compare with the "original" as I recently returned from a visit to Vietnam - and ths restaurant did a great job. Prices were good too! I had a spicy dish with stir-fried calamari, and it was terrific. Others had noodle dishes with spring rolls, and they too were very good. If you know Vietnamese cuisine, you will be pleased with this restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anbrugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    67
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Vietnamese, great prices”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place is incredible and I go here a few times per month. I haven't had a dish here I didn't like (tried more than half of the menu items) and the prices are great! The beef pho is the best in the area. Delicious staples like bún thịt nướng, gỏi cuốn, or panang curry, everything has authentic flavors and good portions. Food always comes out in under 15 minutes for the two of us. Another nice thing for many people is that the waiting staff speaks fluent English. Unfortunately this place only seats around 30 people so don't go on a Friday/Saturday during dinner time unless you want to wait for seating-- no reservations. It's also closed between 4pm and 5pm every day, which is strange to me. Another nice thing for many people is that the waiting staff speaks fluent English.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly authentic, fresh and tasty”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I'm relatively new to Vietnamese cuisine and have now eaten here twice. You can get excited about a place that is run by and filled with culturally similar patrons. The first time I went in (lunch on a Wednesday) I was the only non-Vietnamese patron among 10 others. Dinner on a Friday night at 5:30pm was PACKED with all kinds of folks, but tables seemed to turn over quickly. Food came out as it was ready, not all at once. Every dish was loaded with fresh veggies, still crunchy, not over cooked. Interesting sauces and things to try. Curried squid in coconut sauce? Wow! Not what we expected. NOT Indian food. It's the kind of heat that creeps into your taste buds til you're pink in the cheeks. Prices are cheap-reasonable. We pigged out and came home with leftovers (bill for 3 was $60). That included appetizers and milkshakes (coconut, and mango). This place is legit...Highly recommend! Would be nice if they had a website. Closed on Monday. Serve til 11pm.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IngaGaminga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent, Fresh, and Satisfying”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I just wound up a long hard day of air travel, followed by a 3 hour car trip and found myself here on a cold snowy night. The large bowl of Pho was exactly what I needed. It was delicious - the broth was perfect. Not too salty, or bland. I did, however add some Sriracha to spice it up a little. The spring rolls were large, fresh and delicious - we even ordered a second order of them. The atmosphere is also a cheery green, with colorful paper lanterns hanging from the ceiling - clean and casual.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, awful dining room”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Good value, better-than-average food. The big problem with this place is the space. It's a converted warehouse/bus depot space. So you've got a small dining room with chintzy furniture, painted pink brick walls and 40-foot ceilings that bustles with people cramming in the door to pick up their take-out, and the wait staff is all poorly dressed college kids; this place is far from relaxing or classy. No liquor license, impossible to get a seat after 6:30, service can be slow behind the take-out demand. All that aside, you'll get a good Viet meal for around $10.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VT D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Hong also viewed

 

Been to Pho Hong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing