We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real bargain for the area!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of G.G.T. Tibet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
G.G.T. Tibet Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
Cadiz, Kentucky
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A real bargain for the area!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

Rooms are spotlessly clean, and very large with new fridge and microwave and very large TV. Furniture and woodwork were rather scuffed up, and the owner/manager was difficult to understand, but I’d definitely stay here again. Main problem was (as someone else already noted) that the price quoted was less than the check-in price.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Language difficulty
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    16
    8
    43
See reviews for
30
49
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2008

We reserved a room for 5 nights and sent in a deposit almost 2 months in advance of our visit. When we never received a confirmation, I called the Inn 3 times. They kept saying that they couldn't find the reservation, but would check and get back to me- nobody ever did. Finally, on the fourth try, I told them that I was looking at the cancelled deposit check. They reluctantly agreed to make a reservation for 5 nights, but asked me to bring the cancelled check with me. Later on, they called back to say that they could only make a reservation for 4 nights. We agreed, and when we arrived, the owner made us feel like somehow it was our fault, even when we showed them the check they had cashed. After 3 nights at the Inn, the owner asked how early we get up because he wanted to move us to a different room for the fourth night to accommodate someone who would be arriving. We objected to having to pack all our stuff, and he complained that we would not cooperate with him.
The room itself was OK, although the traffic noise from busy Rt. 7 only 50' away kept us from opening the windows, and the entire continental breakfast consisted of coffee and a few bagels. (By the way, the place that we wound up staying at the fifth nights was wonderful!)

  • Liked — It was relatively cheap and clean.
  • Disliked — The management consistently treated us poorly, starting with losing our reservations.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains, ny 10603
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

We stayed a year ago, the room was fine, but when we paid the owner tried to raise the price.. I tried to book today, 9/08 and the owner quoted me one price, I asked him to hold the phone and he hung up on me, when I called back he said he did not have that room but he would give me two beds for more money, I questioned how could he quote for a bouble bed and in 10 seconds he doesnt have the room, he then hangs up again. Its a nice place but the owner doesnt know how to talk to people.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Too dark, bad customer service
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrior063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Penna.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

Nice base hotel. This hotel worked for me because it was close to where I needed to go. I did not like the fact that it was on a very busy highway There was nothing to see other then you local gas station. That being said it was very reasanoble. If youy only need a place to rest your head, then ggt is fine. It was close drive to Burlington, Shelbourne, and I 89. Room was clean. Did not like soap dispensor in shower. No bar soap. Very little interaction with staff. I would say go for it.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HistoryAlive1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

G.G.T. Tibet Inn was an independent motel that provided this budget-minded family with great value. The rate per night was about $55 -- considerably cheaper than the other lodging options on Shelburne Road.

Great location. A block from the bus to/from the heart of Burlington, close to I-189 and Shelburne Farms.

So what did the $55 get us? A room big enough for a king bed, pack 'n' play, and room to walk/crawl around. The room was in good condition and the bedding was extremely comfortable. It was easy to eat meals in the room thanks to the in-unit fridge and microwave. The bathroom had a shower and toilet -- the sink resided in an alcove between the bedroom and the bathroom.

The kidney-shaped pool had a great sprinkler. The pool area was always clean. It opens at 9, so don't plan for any early morning swims.

The breakfast was lackluster at best, consisting of just bagels (not fresh) and coffee (no tea). We ended up eating our breakfasts elsewhere after our first day.

G.G.T.'s owner wears many hats at the hotel. At any time, you'll see him signing in guests, replacing phone books in rooms, or cutting the grass on his John Deere tractor. Nice to see an owner so vested in his property.

The location, price, and independent vibe will certainly beckon us the next time we return to Burlington.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ExtraPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

We just returned from a long weekend in Burlington VT. I looked for a motel on Trip Advisor and saw this motel had good reviews. The reviews were very accurate. This is a family owned business.. The room was clean. The towels were fluffy and the sheets were very soft. There is a microwave and small refrigerator. This is a no frills motel. Bring your own hairdryer and tissues. We found it very quiet.. and will absolutely stay there again for our next visit to Burlington.

  • Liked — value and cleanliness
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepynytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

This place is a great find (thanks, previous reviewers!). We paid $50 a night and got a spacious room with a king size bed, small couch, TV, minifridge and microwave. Everything was perfectly clean, the bed was comfortable, and the towels were fluffy and soft. For a lower priced option, you absolutely can't go wrong.

  • Liked — price, comfort, location
  • Disliked — no complaints!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nygirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
4.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 13 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G.G.T. Tibet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G.G.T. Tibet Inn

Property: G.G.T. Tibet Inn
Address: 1860 Shelburne Rd, Burlington, VT 05403-7722
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — G.G.T. Tibet Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your G.G.T. Tibet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g.g.t. Tibet Hotel Burlington
g t Tibet Hotel
g t Tibet Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing