We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could it be that the owners hate Canadians?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
254 South Union Street Guest House
Ranked #6 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 13, 2008

Giving away a room is unacceptable, especially when you have confirmation that the room is booked. But to add insult to injury by slamming the door in your face instead of opening a bottle of wine, apologizing for the error and inconvenience and helping to call around for other accomodations is downright cruel. How does anyone operate a business by slamming a door in the customer's face and refusing to look at the proof of a booking? How does anyone who runs a business send a confirmation then lie to the customer and say they never had a booking? I guess they love to make people travel great distances then throw them on the street. Burlington's Chamber of Commerce and Better Business Bureau should take head of the reputation this B & B is giving to the town.
Terrible business people.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank TravelBugManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treetop123, owner at 254 South Union Street Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2009

Absolutely not! We welcome all guests!! This was an unfortunate mix up, in that the reservation was cancelled prior to arrival. We make every effort to extend help and hospitality to every guest that arrives on our doorstep.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 74 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2008

WHATEVER YOU DO, DON'T STAY AT 254 SOUTH UNION!

Let me start by saying my wife & I have traveled quite a bit both for pleasure and business and I have never had as terrible an experience as I did with this Bed & Breakfast. It has nothing to do with the Inn itself, but everything to do with the ignorant people that run it.
We had planned a 12 day trip through New England during the fall foliage and had booked all our B&B's 8 months in advance and received written confirmation of all our bookings. We flew from Winnipeg to Montreal and picked up a rental car at Montreal airport and drove down to Burlington for our 1st stop. Since our plane had arrived a little late into Montreal we called the B&B from our car to let them know we wouldn't arrive at the Inn until about 7:00p.m. Imagine my surprise when Cyndie Reilly answered my call and proceeded to tell us we didn't have a reservation! when I tried to explain we had a written confirmation from her email address as well as the fact they had taken our credit card number to confirm the reservation she wasn't interested in hearing anything. Her only comment was, "we don't have a room for you"! No explaination, no apology.......nothing. When we asked her what she expected us to do at 7:00 p.m. on a Friday evening, on "parents weekend" to try to find accomodation she just said "call the chamber of commerce".
well we drove to 254 South Union as we had no where else to go and met Bill there. They're a good match for each other as he was just as ignorant as she was. He refused to even look at the written confirmation we had and wouldn't even offer to call other accomodations for us. He just said, everything is booked and told us there was nothing he was going to do.
Thankfully not everyone in Burlington is as ignorant as Bill & Cyndie. We went to thre Sheraton hotel where although they were booked solid, the front dest staff immediately offered to call other hotels for us and managed to find us alternate accomodations. Thank you to the Sheraton staff for all your help!

I can't stress enough how disgusted I am with this B&B. With an attitude like they have I'm amazed they chose to try to run a B&B.

The rest of our trip was fantastic. We stayed at a total of 5 different B&B's throughout New England and every one was a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank smirk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treetop123, Owner at 254 South Union Street Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2009

Come visit and find out for yourself. I am sure you will find that we offer wonderful accommodations and that we make every effort we can to make your visit a truly relaxing one. Sometimes people forget that they have canceled their reservation and since we are very small and have limited rooms we cannot remedy every mix-up that occurs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2008

My wife and I stayed here two nights in mid August. We were in the room with the side porch entrance. The room was mid sized but very comfortable. Bathroom was clean and modern. Hosts were very nice and helpful with restaurant advice. Loved being able to walk to downtown. There was a nice "book" of area attractions and restaurant menus in the room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Curveball2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We stayed here for one night after seeing the reviews and were very pleased. The proprietor was very nice, and the accommodations were great, including wi-fi, extended cable TV, and thoughtful touches like wine glasses, and snacks in the fridge (tastefully out of view in the closet). As has been said, its walkable to the downtown Burlington area, and the whole area is very picturesque. We were very happy and would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JeffMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

My fiance and I stayed here on a Wednesday night and found the room to be very nice, the owner was very pleasant and it was a nice little walk to town. HOWEVER, we were woken around 8 a.m. by construction going on ABOVE OUR ROOM in the house! It was impossible to sleep during the noise and so, even though my fiance was sick, we not only had to get out of bed but out of the room! The owner had gone to work so there was no-one to follow-up with other than the builders with all their heavy equipment! It was topped off by ALL THE WATER BEING TURNED OFF shortly after so we couldn't even rinse after brushing our teeth let alone have a shower past about 9 a.m.!! We had ABSOLUTELY NO WARNING that this would occur!!

This was TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE for any place, let alone at $170+ per night!!! Normally, I would have refused to pay but the owner had asked for payment the night before because she wouldn't be around in the morning!

STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK AND IN ANY EVENT BE 100% SURE THERE'S NO CONSTRUCTION GOING ON.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thegaz_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treetop123, Owner at 254 South Union Street Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2009

We were truly upset that we had a problem during this guests stay! Unfortunately, accidents occur and this one required a plumber!! When the plumber arrived we knocked on this guests door but they did not respond, and since they did not have a car it was presumed that they were not in. The water was shut off briefly to fix a plumbing problem. It was not done intentionally nor did we knowingly ignore the needs of this guest. We apologized to them profusely and offered compensation, but we cannot please everyone all the time, and sometimes unforeseen problems occur that simply out of our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

My boyfriend and I recently split a visit to Vermont between two B&B's. 254 South Union was the second of the two. We stayed in the Guest room and truly enjoyed it. The room was located in the back on the first level of a home near downtown Burlington. The location was fabulous and the room accommodations were terrific. The room was a great size and included a small but very nice bathroom with a large shower. The room included a tv with digital cable and a small refrigerator. The owners included local granola, cookies and cheese to snack on while staying there. The owner provided coffee each morning by leaving it at the door. This B&B was very private, with helpful but not hovering owners. We enjoyed the convenience of the location. The owners provided a book in the room about Burlington with information on dining, activities, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed in the smaller of the two rooms rented at this inn and it was perfect in every way. The entry to the room was directly off a side porch and we felt "set away" in our own cozy corner. The room was very comfortable and the landscaping around the house beautiful. The location was perfect for exploring Burlington on foot or bike; with the waterfront and many other sites nearby. No formal breakfast was provided (which was good for us) however there were some local foods provided in the refrigerator in the room and a carafe' of coffee set outside our door every morning. I highly recommend 254 S. Union Street to anyone visiting Burlington.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank NYTancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
691 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,627 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
774 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 254 South Union Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 254 South Union Street Guest House

Address: 254 S Union St, Burlington, VT 05401-4514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
254 South Union Street Guest House is a magnificent 1887 Queen Anne design home in the heart of Burlington's Hill Section. Centrally located just a short walk from Church Street, UVM, Champlain College, and Burlington's beautiful Lake Champlain waterfront. All rooms have private bathrooms, queen size beds, free wifi, premium cable TV, and air-conditioning. All rooms come stocked with a free continental breakfast consisting of local organic yogurt, granola, cheese, crackers, fresh whole fruit as well as cereal bars, coffee, tea, and orange juice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
254 South Union Street Guest House Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing