We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything We Were Looking For”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
254 South Union Street Guest House
Ranked #6 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 15, 2008

My girlfriend and I booked a weekend in Vermont and we decided to stay at 254 South Union Street.

Our experience was very much in line with the reviewer before us and almost mirrored it exactly.

The guest room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable. We had our own private porch that had plenty of tree cover .

The room has a gas fireplace, which we didn't use because it was warm, but I am sure this is a great feature for people staying there during the winter.

The fridge is small but was more than enough for us and Cindy, the owner, stocks it with all kinds of good stuff. She even dropped off a carafe of coffee and the newspaper for us in the morning and left it outside our door.

The television has tons of channels and features HBO and Showtime. Most guests probably don't watch a ton of television but it's little stuff like this that makes it better than average.

The bathroom was very nice and all the linens, robes and toiletries were pretty upscale and were more than I would ever expect at a B&B. She even left us fresh flowers from her garden in the room.

Overall, just a great place to stay. It was comfortable, private and in a great neighborhood. The walk to downtown Burlington was 2 blocks up and 2 blocks over. A nice walk and pretty short.

Cindy recommended "Magnolia" for breakfast and we're very glad she did as it was one of the highlights of the weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank colinquigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 75 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2007

My husband and I usually try to steer clear of larger hotels. We tend to like the warmth of b and bs but have often felt disappointed by the frilliness of them, or the lack of privacy. I stumbled upon this guest house on the internet. I thought that the rooms looked nice in the pictures, and we were not at all disappointed when we saw it in person. We stayed in the guestroom for two nights. The room was very comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was very nice also, with a roomy shower, nice linens, and a nice big Turkish robe. Another thing that we really loved was that we had a porch all to ouselves, a real treat on warm nights. There is a small fridge in the room and the owners supplied us with some assorted treats like cheese and crackers, granola, yogourt, juice, and milk, all locally produced. The location was great. A quick walk gets you to shopping, restaurants, and the water, but it is not so close that you are bothered by noise. The owners were very friendly but not at all intrusive and came through with some great recommendations for dining. I would definitely stay here again!

7  Thank andynstacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Certaines chambres sont accessibles de l'extérieur (sans passer par la maison).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Octeau M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SonjaBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.1 mi away
Hotel Burlington & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,650 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
784 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 254 South Union Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 254 South Union Street Guest House

Address: 254 S Union St, Burlington, VT 05401-4514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
254 South Union Street Guest House is a magnificent 1887 Queen Anne design home in the heart of Burlington's Hill Section. Centrally located just a short walk from Church Street, UVM, Champlain College, and Burlington's beautiful Lake Champlain waterfront. All rooms have private bathrooms, queen size beds, free wifi, premium cable TV, and air-conditioning. All rooms come stocked with a free continental breakfast consisting of local organic yogurt, granola, cheese, crackers, fresh whole fruit as well as cereal bars, coffee, tea, and orange juice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
254 South Union Street Guest House Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing