We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unusual in a good way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vermont

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vermont
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cohasset, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unusual in a good way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very comfortable hotel with very unusual decorating and design. Earthy crunchy in a good way, with shared coffee and water stations on every floor. Little touches in the room, like a vermont woolen throw blanket, makes up for lack of standard items in a 5-star hotel (ex. no bathrobe, refrigerator, minibar). Because there was no minibar, I went to get a drink at the bar and after 10 minutes of being ignored, left. Great location allowed me to walk elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CIPS205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    107
    32
    13
    10
See reviews for
151
274
21
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I had a chance to stay at the Hotel Vermont while we were in the area for a friend's wedding. The rest of the wedding group was in the Hilton next door, but we missed the reservation block and got stuck in the Hotel Vermont. Boy were we glad we did!

For three nights we got to enjoy the brand new rooms, ammenities and top of the line service that the hotel offers. There were a few snags with the valet (probably because we were some of the first people to valet our cars since they opened!), but overall the staff had a 'can-do' attitude and you couldn't beat the fresh rooms and fun style of the hotel.

Things to highlight while we were there:
- Free gourmet ice-cream cones from a local purveyor one day in the lobby
- Complimentary 'pantries' on each floor with ice bags, K-Cup coffee, and sparkling water
- Great restaurant with outdoor seating for breakfast, dinner and cocktails
- Helpful front desk that handled a few packages we had shipped for our stay


While the rates are comparable to the Courtyard Marriott and Hilton next door you'd be crazy not to give the Hotel Vermont a chance next time you're in Burlington (at least until everyone realizes this and the prices double!).

Room Tip: Don't worry about getting "partial lake view" rooms as the hotel is perpendicular to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Well designed and extremely comfortable. It is a hotel that represents the high end of earthy Vermont. I found the staff very accommodating and friendly. Location is wonderful in a very a walkable active city. Water views, shopping and good restaurants abound. We negotiated our price and got our lovely room for 100.00 less then the published price. Sadly, at the published price it is over priced by Burlington Vermont standards. It is the kind of hotel that sets the bar high for other hotels. Even the smells are nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sherman220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Easy walk to the lake, and to the Church St pedestrian mall. Beautiful modern decor. Large rooms with comfortable beds, modern full bath with tub and shower, body gel, shampoo, conditioner, etc. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here recently for one night. It's a new hotel, but I don't think it's worth the price. We payed extra for a lake view and really all you see is a little bit of the lake. And while there was a space for a fridge there was none in the room but they did bring one when we asked about it. The AC was extremely noisy so we turned it off at night. Also, we were very surprised that a new hotel would not have a safe. They said we could store things at the front desk. That's unacceptable for a new hotel like this. The room itself was spacious but the bathroom was small, however it helps that the the flush and shower are in two separate rooms each with a sink. When we arrived there was no one to greet us and tell us where to park or to help with our bags. Not that we minded really, but after we loaded up the cart ourselves with all our luggage someone then asked if they could help us! We have stayed at many beautiful hotels and paid the same price, but received excellent service and the room was fully equipped. While it's nice and new it's too expensive for what you get. Go to the restaurant though as it's excellent!

Room Tip: Just get a regular room. Paying extra for the lake view is not worth it as you really only get a gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathandArn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is right by Lake Champlain and within walking distance of most things in Burlington. It's clearly still working out the kinks, but they're clearly trying.

I'd classify the place as "neo-lumberjack" where rustic trappings meet modern design. Heavy use of wood throughout the hotel and room but in a modern fashion. The room was clean and beds comfortable.

One of the quirks was the LEED certification and thus attempt to save on energy. This worked on a lot of fronts, but the in-room detection has still some to be desired. While they recognized the situation of one individual leaving causing power shutting off for any remaining individuals (the solution is to lock the dead bolt to re-engage the power). This doesn't apply for the bathroom it seems. I was stuck showering in the dark while no one kept the motion sensor alert in the main room.

The other attempt to avoid paper by emailing receipts is great. Except I never received one, even with confirming the email address at the front desk.

Aside from that quirk, the amenities are nice including fairly cheap bike rental. The restaurant was fabulous for breakfast, in fact I ate there for both breakfasts instead of exploring other options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahslian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We ended up here by accident, after I mixed up a reservation at another hotel chain. They were kind enough to call around for us on Labor Day weekend and found a room for us at this hotel.

What a find. Everything about this place is wonderful. The modern-rustic decorations are wonderful, the rooms are great, the service first class, the bar serves great drinks and the food is unbelievable. They only have been open 103 days, but if they can maintain this level of performance, this will be where I stay whenever I am in Burlington.

Not inexpensive, but worth every penny. A truly finest kind hotel.

Thank you to the staff- well done

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, even a partial of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlington
Homewood Suites by Hilton Burlin...
#1 of 14 in South Burlington
5.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 14 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vermont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vermont

Property: Hotel Vermont
Address: 41 Cherry St, Burlington, VT 05401-8458
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vermont 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vermont is downtown Burlington's new independent LEED Certified hotel. Hotel Vermont offers 125 guest bedrooms, 2,700 square feet of function space, and two outdoor terraces with views of Lake Champlain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Vermont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing