We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably Bad Service”

Four Corners of the Earth
Ranked #60 of 242 Restaurants in Burlington
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Bad Service”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The owner of this place is all about himself, and not about the customers. His sandwhiches are really good, but he will spend 10 minutes talking to people hanging out in the cafe and completely ignore you standing right there trying to order something. I've eaten here twice, and both times I had to wait for almost a half-hour for my sandwhich. Astonishingly, the place WASN'T busy at the time! WTF? It's a SANDWHICH, not Baked Alaska. There's absolutely no reason that a sandwhich should take a half-hour to make.

The last time I tried to eat here, I ordered a sandwhich and waited 10 minutes for it, and then was told that they were out of sour kraut and couldn't make that. They offered to make me me something else, so I said okay. Five minutes later, they came back and told me that they were out of bread. But they offered to make the same thing for me as a salad. I said fine. He came back to me a THIRD time. As a joke, I asked him "What's the matter? Are you out of lettuce or something?" And he yes, "Yes, I'm sorry, but we're out of lettuce." He then offered to go the grocery store and buy some lettuce if I'd be willing to wait another 30 minutes.

I walked out. And I've never been back since.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KAMangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    8
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly a hidden gem”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The owner produces some of the tastiest and most creative sandwich combinations I've ever seen, including several excellent vegetarian options. And the space is a delight of funky decoration.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mull-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unreal”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

This place is like a good trip. A small, inconspicuous door leads to a cavelike room. You walk in, and you don't know how, but the next thing you know you're savoring the last bite of the most delicious and mysterious sandwich you've ever had. What was in it? You have no idea, but you don't care. It's that good. When you walk out, you'll wonder if you've imagined the whole thing. The happy ending- it's real.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josselyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well worth tracking this one down!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012


I first came here 4 or 5 years ago and at the time they only took cash. I believe this has since changed, but I brought cash last time just in case. The food is delicious and is made using whole ingredients right before your eyes. Simple dishes with great flavors at reasonable prices. This spot is a bit out of town so is more popular among the professionals who frequent it during their lunch hour but it is definitely well worth tracking this one down!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JMTvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“frequent patron”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I am a Burlington resident who frequently purchases sandwiches to go from FCOTE. They are truly unique and delicious, with a genuine international flare. I don't think they take credit cards, but do take cash or checks. They do have a few tables. It is off the beaten track, off Pine Street. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acercampestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Four Corners of the Earth also viewed

 

Been to Four Corners of the Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing