We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast in Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penny Cluse Cafe

Penny Cluse Cafe
Ranked #2 of 239 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is all around awesome! Their portions are HUGE, and so reasonable priced. We were in VT for a week and went three mornings! Their Penny Pickler Bloody Mary is delicious. We ordered a large fruit plate and it had four slices of watermelon, figs, kiwis, everything it was just awesome. The first day I had maple walnut French toast with rubarb sauce for $6. It was three huge slices of French toast that were to-die-for. They also have a "bucket o' spuds" that is essentially the most fresh and delicious breakfast potatoes smothered with Mexican style cheeses and salsa with an egg ontop. The second day I had a lunch which was a kale and garlic quesadilla for $8 and of course was excellent. I hear there is sometimes a wait on weekends we went around 11 and were fine. It's pretty big with lots of tables. The wait staff is excellent you will never wait for coffee or water. I have been craving this place since I left!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NursesNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    180
    37
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Troy, New York, United States
2 reviews
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went on a holiday weekend and the wait was said to be over an hour. Only about 35 minutes passed before the four of us sat. It is quaint and spacious inside. The waitstaff were great and worked together to refill our drinks and deliver our food. The food was very good and very large portions. Prices were reasonable for the amount of food you got. Will definitely make this a must go every time we are in Burlington!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Vermont breakfast place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Bright and open dining space, laid back vibe. Great food. Even breakfast Bloody Marys, which we did not try. Would definitely revisit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fresh and filling brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

This cafe offers a varied menu of breakfast, brunch and lunch options. We shared the three-egg omelette, which was more than enough for two people, along with an order of fresh fruit. Good fruit variety, which included cherries, kiwi, strawberries, two kinds of melon, pineapple, and citrus. Good coffee and prompt service. Nice place to go for a filling breakfast in Burlington.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PMtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wardsboro
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cannot wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Went for breakfast Sunday of Graduation weekend. Wait was about 45 min for 7 of us but can you really give someplace a bad review because of the wait??? Seriously? And what a better place to wait than church street in Burlington! We all had different breakfast ranging from their wonderful fresh smoothies to eggs, biscuits and gravy, cinnamon french toast, grilled corn muffins, homemade hash browns and the best part for me fresh orange juice. The restaurant is very cute and bright inside and the waitistaff very attentive. This was just another 5 stars during our families graduation weekend!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maus10Wardsboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny Cluse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Penny Cluse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing