We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, nice service”
Review of Sweetwaters

Sweetwaters
Ranked #30 of 258 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Sweetwaters is an American Bistro with an unique twist on your favorite eats. For over 30 years, we've been serving fantastic cuisine with local ingredients in a family-friendly atmosphere in the heart of Burlington, on the corner of College and Church Streets on the charming Church Street Marketplace. Architecturally interesting, Sweetwaters is housed in what was the original site of the Burlington Trust Company. Built in the 1880s, the building retains its original mouldings, cornerstone, clock and architectural appointments. With a full bar, extensive menu, unique interior, and plenty of indoor and outdoor seating, Sweetwaters certainly has something for everybody. We serve lunch and dinner daily, with a late night menu for all you night owls out there.
Reviewed January 13, 2019

We wandered in for lunch on a very cold weekday. My friend opted for a burger, and I opted for mac and cheese with pulled pork. Both dishes were very good. I ordered a side dish of coleslaw, which was very good.
Our waitress, Autumn was very attentive.
The prices were a touch high for Canadians.
The restrooms were located down a very steep and long staircase.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank kitsou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMelincoff, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Thank for the review, kitsou. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed both the food and service. As for the bathrooms, we are housed in the old Burlington Trust Buiding, built in 1850. We are working within the archetectural constraints of the space. And in saying that, using the bathrooms does require taking the stairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 778 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2019 via mobile

Quintessential Burlington experience for the serious palate or traveler. Warm welcoming atmosphere with a relaxing upbeat vibe.
After being gone for three decades this was my first choice to meet friends and family and as always, it was the PERFECT choice.
Great drinks, fantastic friendly service, delicious food for the distinctive person in your group.
We had Meghan. I have been treated like a queen. Ask for Meghan. Give her all your money. It will be worth it.
If you visit town and do not go here you are genuinely cheating yourself.

5 stars to Meghan.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank 7rebekab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMelincoff, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

We hsared your review with Megan and she was thrilled! Thank you so much for the shout out and welcome home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019

We’ve enjoyed this place in the past and figured we’d go back for late dinner. Huge Mistake! They were out of our favorite beer and the woman behind the bar was extremely indifferent. She messed up our dinner order and then sort of tried to insinuate it was our fault. Lol! The chicken nachos order was wicked small and there was no chicken! We left the restaurant starving and disappointed. Not worth the visit. Look elsewhere.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank lm5131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidMelincoff, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2019

Im5131, I'm so sorry to hear of your experience. Please know that we would have been more than happy to rectify the situation on the spot had we known. We have worked hard to achieve our Trip Advisor Award of Excellence and I assure you, your experience is not the norm. Please reach out via message or phone to provide details and we will be more than happy to make amends.

Best,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018

Nothing fancy but a very nice dependably good place to eat. Moderate prices, great friendly service and a good selection on the menu. Super in the summer when you can eat outside while people watching and the enclosed porch is nice and toasty during cold weather also.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank denmicone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Great service, good food and selection and an all around good place to eat are what we were going for! Thank you for noticing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018

This was our first time here. The staff is Pro. Friendly, funny and on point. Went for Lunch. BBQ Brisket slices on a perfectly fresh sourdough roll. Next dish was Chicken crusted with cornflakes and almond slices, so perfect as the center of the chicken was tender and moist & the outside crunchy without being overdone. One of those rare moments when you want to barge into the kitchen and say to the chef "Dude!" Don't forget to walk around, the decor is amazing, it was a bank last century or two. I felt I was in a Maxfield Parrish print that came alive from the 1920's.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JacksBack05101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M, Owner at Sweetwaters, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

JacksBack, you can barge into the kitchen and yell dude any time. Thank you for the entertaining and spot-on​ review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetwaters also viewed

 

Been to Sweetwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing