We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahoy, Matey! Great Grub!”

Shanty On The Shore
Ranked #36 of 249 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a locally owned and operated restaurant located on Burlington's waterfront. We specialize in the freshest seafood but also offer burgers, steaks, and vegetarian items. We have Burlington's only raw bar and the best views of Lake Champlain. Come on in, we look forward to meeting you.
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

This seafood favorite is a great experience! The food is always awesome, the place is always hopping, and it’s an unforgettable good time! Family friendly and authentic!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Saltysassyclassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 550 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2018

By good fortune, upon arrival a bit early for lunch, we were shown to a table by the window overlooking Lake Champlain. Within fifteen minutes all other window tables and the next row back were full.
Looking over the lake, we could see Juniper Island in the distance.
The server was a local with good knowledge of the area. We had the cajun salmon sandwich and were very happy. Big, delicious, and reasonably priced.
Being early, parking was easy but one might have to park on the street once the restaurant is busy.
We would definitely recommend The Shanty on the Shore should you find yourself in Burlington, Vt.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 32840David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful lunch! The clam chowder was the best, really is award winning. The shrimp cocktail was so fresh, and the service and atmosphere is terrific.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018

A group of six for dinner. Everyone loved the food, the mixed drinks were a little "off", overall experience was very good though.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I had the good fortune to pick this restaurant for a recent lunch. Our server greeted us immediately, answered our questions of menu items and did a fine job setting the stage for a good lunch.
We both had the seafood platter and it could not have been better. The best of non greasy seeming fried seafood. The clams melted in my mouth and the shrimp and haddock were superb.

All this while enjoying a wonderful lake view. We will be sure to visit here next time we are in Burlington.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank murraysig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanty On The Shore also viewed

 

Been to Shanty On The Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing