We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood”

Shanty On The Shore
Ranked #36 of 249 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a locally owned and operated restaurant located on Burlington's waterfront. We specialize in the freshest seafood but also offer burgers, steaks, and vegetarian items. We have Burlington's only raw bar and the best views of Lake Champlain. Come on in, we look forward to meeting you.
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

The food was great but the view of Lake Champlain was phenomenal. I had the broiled scallops, shrimp, and salmon. Definitely worth a visit

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank mmilam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 550 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

The ambiance is lovely...the meals were generally good although my shrimp scampi had over cooked pasta which made the whole dish a little mushy. The steamed clams were good but the scallion-filled birth wasn’t very flavorful. My husband didn’t like that there were breadcrumbs on the Mac and cheese side dish and broiled seafood platter. The service was fine and the overall experience was nice.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jodyp115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

We came here in April looking for a place to have drinks on the lake. We found at that point there was no bar, but renovations were getting done. The waitress was completely fine with us sitting at a table for a few beers. We decided to come back to eat when we returned in September and found the place finished with renovations. There is a nice new bar area as well as a nice deck to eat out on. The food was very good and I got my fried seafood fix. One thing that I will mention is the menu posted on trip Advisor is different then the menu at the restaurant. We asked the waitress and she told us they changed the menu when they finished renovations. My husband was looking for a surf and turf and found that they no longer offered it.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank GardenGal101681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

This is a must visit if you like sea food. The portions are HUGE and well priced. We had the lobster bisque, garden salad, and lobster roll. This was by far the best lobster we’ve ever had! So many options on the menu just plan to share because we could barely finish all the food we ordered!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Being from the Southwest, we’re always on the lookout for some great authentic New England Seafood. Well, we had an opportunity to visit Burlington, VT for a few days on a business trip. The locals recommended Shanty on the Shore for seafood. They were spot on! We ordered carry out to take back to our hotel. We got the lobster rolls, lobster bisque and clam chowder. It was amazing! The huge portions of lobster were embedded in toasted Texas toast. So good! The chowder was excellent as well as the lobster bisque. It was without a doubt the best meal we had on our visit to Burlington. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MrBlueSkyNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanty On The Shore also viewed

 

Been to Shanty On The Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing