We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many better options available in Burlington”

Shanty On The Shore
Ranked #19 of 242 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a locally owned and operated restaurant located on Burlington's waterfront. We specialize in the freshest seafood but also offer burgers, steaks, and vegetarian items. We have Burlington's only raw bar and the best views of Lake Champlain. Come on in, we look forward to meeting you.
Acme, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Many better options available in Burlington”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just because it sits on the water doesn't make it a good seafood restaurant. Very average quality food. Our waiter seemed amped up on espresso - never mentioned the evening's specials, which we noticed on the chalkboard on our way out. On the plus side, service was quick (the espresso effect?), and the food was hot. It wasn't awful, but we'll choose other options the next time we're in Burlington.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    160
    82
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Feels like the cape”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

When you sit on the main floor it feels like being on the cape waiting for the islands ferry, as the ferry boat dock and Lake Champlain are in view. The whole belly fried clams are delicious. The curly fries are mediocre, but the coleslaw is pretty good. Service is very attentive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dallasalice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“our luncheon at the Shanty”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were told that this was the place to eat sea food in Burlington ,VT. Since we were tourists we decided to give it a try. The place was OK from outside but decided to order Fish & Chips & 2 beers. Beers were good & the young lady who served us was good. The fish & chips however were bland & were not crisp at all. I don't think we will go for Fish & Chips to this place again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rama1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the seafood!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This restaurant never fails to provide wonderful seafood in all of its meals. The view is fantastic too as it overlooks Lake Champlain. The waiters and waitresses are friendly and attentive. If you like chowder or lobster bisque you will absolutely love it here. The shrimp cocktails are mouthwatering and the scallops sweet and tender. One of our favorites is the lobster Mac and Cheese. Everything is delicious and you must save room for the key lime pie!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were on the mood for some fish and chips and someone recommended Shantys. We arrived and it wasnt that packed which is usually a red flag for us if it is lunch time anywhere...but we still decided on giving it a try. We were greeted warmly and immediately upon arrival. We were sat down where we requested(by a window) and proceeded to order our food. We tried two appetizers, and this is were the mixed review comes in. We ordered a bowl of lobster bisque, and the escargot, they were AMAZING!! So we were that much excited that our main meal would be that good. Thats how it should be right? WRONG wow did they mess that up, both of our fish and chips tasted like paper, meaning NO flavor at ALL bland bland bland... Even the tartar sauce didnt help. Soooo for $60 for this meal, yeah i would of imagined the main course would be as good as the appetizers. I will skip this restaurant next time im in town, unless i feel like good escargot :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanty On The Shore also viewed

 

Been to Shanty On The Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing