We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Al fresco dining fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ri Ra Irish Pub

Ri Ra Irish Pub
Ranked #36 of 239 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Al fresco dining fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We enjoyed the vibe on Church Street and this pub had been recommended to us by a number of people. We were easily able to get a table outside for dinner. Our server was very friendly and made recommendations. We did not feel rushed and had a very nice casual dining experience. The food was good. My husband had a gyro (funny being this is an Irish pub) and said it was the best lamb meat he's ever had in a gyro. I had the vegetarian white bean burger, which was delicious and different. We had a couple of beers and really enjoyed the atmosphere of the street. The only downside was that we ate dinner late and would have enoyed sitting on the patio a bit longer. The patio portion closed at 10pm, but for a Monday night, I can't say I blame them :) Would definitely recommend a casual meal here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mamaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    131
    57
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go here for the beer and location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stopped here for a light supper and beer with my wife. Was a beautiful Sunday afternoon and we had a pleasant experience drinking Sam Adams Octoberfest (special 3$/pint on Sundays) with nachos and onion rings on the terrace. The onion rings were ok but we asked for grilled chicken on the nachos and got minced beef.... the waitress eventually got us the chicken we asked for on the nachos just before we had finished them and wrote off the nachos for our trouble. As mentioned by others before, the path to the bathrooms is a treacherous one down greasy stairs so you may want to bring your felt-bottom boots to avoid slippage.... All jokes aside it was ok but don't expect too much. Go for the Church St ambiance and a cold one and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, VT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basically a frat scene: Waiting 1 1/2 hours for over-priced burger is not the way to celebrate a birthday.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Do not go here unless you are 22 years of age and have a lot of time on your hands and don't mind spending $17 on a burger that you will wait for 1 1/2 hours for. Ear plugs are necessary too. It's basically a frat scene with expensive burgers. Took my sons, their girlfriends and husband here because my husband wanted "just a burger and a Heady Topper" to celebrate his 60th bday. Big mistake. I had even made a reservation. We waited over an hour and half for over priced burgers. LOUSY SERVICE. Even mentioned it was my husband's bday. Waitress didnt' seem to care about that or that we waited so long. One might have thought they'd throw in a dessert for such lousy service, given it was my husband's bday. But no. Not even much of an apology. Couldn't get out of there fast enough. Burlington has a restaurant problem---over emphasis on over priced burgers, Asian food or pizza.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VTWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An OK place to eat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stopped for brunch with friends on a Saturday morning. Had a lovely table out on the mall. Food was typical pub grub. Nothing to write home about but OK.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetorent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

I want to love this place. Like the decor, the drinks and sometimes the food. But, as with the last visit, there have been two 'forgot to put the slip in events', a session of being of being as far back in the restaurant as possible because we were just two (and where we were treated to the right next to us staff putting together table linen and cutlery and chatting in loud voices) and a really sorry serving of fish and chips.

Get your act together guys! Consistency is the name of the game!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ri Ra Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Ri Ra Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing