We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, not friendly if by yourself”
Review of Trattoria Delia

Trattoria Delia
Ranked #9 of 242 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Outside look is deceiving. Once you enter it is a well maintained and decorated small antique place, I wonder how old this building is.
Even when I counted 8 tables pty on my arrival, I was told to seat at the bar, but in an specific seat, because the others were reserved.
If tou are offer to seat at the bar, walk away, yhere is no privacy nor room, you will be knocking elbows with your neighbours. Even when I tried no to listen to my neighbor's conversation, it was impossible to avoid, and that cut my appetite too
The fish of the day, swordfish, was under cooked but nicely simply flavoured. Presentation was simple.
Panna Cotta for dessert, very nice and light.

Left an hour later and niw they have 10 tables empty. This could have been a very good experience if not for the arrogant air of the staff

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TD152, Manager at Trattoria Delia, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your review, all feedback is very important to us. We pride ourselves in accommodating all guests, we have many regulars who request specific seats at the bar. We take reservations for guests at the bar who wish to dine at a specific time and at a specific seat!

Having been in business for twenty years, we are a very fortunate to be a busy restaurant and cannot often accommodate walk ins; we do not hold tables for walk ins. With that being said, often tables do sit vacant for periods of time to ensure that when a reservation arrives their table is ready! I apologize if you felt there was an arrogant air to the staff but, the fact of the matter is that we unfortunately did not have an open table for you to dine at, and you were not happy with that.

In regards to your swordfish, we cook our fish to a medium rare temperature, and we are happy to cook if more upon request. Glad you appreciated the simplicity of the presentation and enjoyed your dessert!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 469 of 632 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

"Tratt," as we lovingly refer to this restaurant as, is the best choice when you are looking for an unforgettable meal. The food is delicious, fresh and authentic. My grandmother is from Abruzzo, and even she (who refuses to go out for Italian food) requests a meal here when she visits from Boston. I am a slave to the Zuppa de Pesce, I can't seem to order anything else. The savory tomato broth, rich with flavors of garlic and fresh seafood is amazing. The garlic rubbed, grilled crostini which accompanies is also quite the treat! We often order a half order of gnocchi as a starter, as the pillowy delights are hard to miss. Ask the server if the chef is willing to make the Alla Baba (unsure of spelling), as the creamy sauce and duck combo is unforgettable! The apps are also always on point, the anti pasti and carpaccio are our favs. The wine list can not be forgotten, it is extensive and impressive. The staffs knowledge and service skills are also remarkable. I would love to request that they begin making the homemade zambuca again, it was truly amazing! All in all and A+ for couples, friends and family (please leave the kids at home for our sake!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank n0rthsh0regal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trattoria D, Owner at Trattoria Delia, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your many compliments! The details of your review evoked the smells and flavors of our food so well. You certainly are an old regular ordering items that were once on the menu that we are happy to make and, it has been years since we have had the homemade Sambuca!
I will communicate your request to the chef. But, next time you come in you must try the Silvio Meletti Anisette which is on our Digestivi menu; very reminiscent of the one we made many years ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Food is very good, waitstaff excellent, a little noisy and crowded at times. Service was prompt. Make reservations during peak travel times

Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trattoria D, Manager at Trattoria Delia, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Janet,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Glad you enjoyed your meal and service. Apologies, sometimes we wish we had a little more space. Hope to see you when you return to Burlington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

amazing experience, went here for our 1 year wedding anniversary this past weekend. when they say to get a reservation several days in advance, they aren't kidding. We called 3 days ahead of our visit and got two bar seats for an 8pm saturday night reservation. do not be swayed by sitting at the bar, it was awesome! plenty of space between couples and an attentive bartender who took care of every need. having all italian wines and spirits was a nice touch. the antipastone appetizer was one of the best we've ever had in both presentation and taste. entrees were mouth watering italian - coming from the southern CT/NY area we eat plenty and this ranks up with the very best. would love to come back next year for our 2nd anniversary. enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trattoria D, Owner at Trattoria Delia, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Happy Anniversary and so glad you chose to celebrate at Trattoria Delia! Agreed we have many regulars who prefer to dine at the bar, it is so nice to have the Wine Bartender at your disposal to answer food and wine questions. The Antipastone is a new addition to our menu and is a great addition with so many wonderful selections. We hope to see you back next year for your tow year anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were in Burlington , Vermont for our first visit & were told by the hotel to try out the restaurant.
We arrived late but surely they still took us in, the FOOD, Service and atmosphere is absolutely fantastic. Very happy, helpful staff. The owner has a lot of passion for fresh authentic Italian food and he puts his heart into it & it shows.
Each meal is delicious; we went back 2 nights in a row ; one of which was our wedding anniversary.
IN addition, the organic house wine a MUST try + Tiramisu......
We are from Montreal and thus far this is the best place we've ever eaten thus far!
We would recommend it to all....
Can't wait to go back!


Magda & Carlos
Montreal,Qc.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Magdalena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trattoria D, Manager at Trattoria Delia, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to your return, and we will continue to seek out quality organic wines.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Delia also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Delia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing