We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Get Away - Just perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 3, 2014

A little while before my birthday, my SO and I decided we needed/deserved a mini vacation just to get away from the daily grind. We knew we wanted something quiet and not too far away from home. A friend of ours recommended Made Inn Vermont and, given the pictures and past reviews we just had to check it out. Linda was very accommodating and fit us in short notice right before Thanksgiving.

From the moment we walked through the door, we knew this was the right choice. The decor was chic and modern, yet warm and inviting. Our room (905) was fitted with an electric fireplace, leather lounge chair, super comfy queen sized bed and a record player. Not to mention a personal fridge and pantry stocked with loads of yummy treats and drinks. We arrived just in time to enjoy some hot cocoa and watch the sun set over the lake from the widow's walk.

Breakfast was amazing both days with not only a spread of fresh fruit, yogurt and plenty of coffee, but also a new made to order option like, eggs benadict, pancakes or crepes every morning. Jana was even nice enough to serve us breakfast in bed the first morning.

To be honest, we spent most of our time in our room playing the huge assortment of games, records and movies and hanging out with the inn cats Casey Boy and Cutie Catie. When we did go out, we enjoyed a very tasty and very affordable dinner just down the road at Vermont Pub and Brewery (tons of local brews available). We also toured Lake Champlain Chocolate Factory on Pine street (Yum...free samples). There is no shortage of things to do right within walking distance of the inn.

This trip was exactly what the two of us needed. Made Inn is the most perfectly romantic little get-away-from-it-all place. It has that extra something that allows you to forget it all for a little while. Thanks, and we hope to return again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTbound802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 547 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

The charm of Linda,the Innkeeper, was outstanding. The Inn was great despite the cold, cold weather. The breakfasts were above and beyond what one could expect, great fresh eggs, french toast, a lot of fruit (blue berries, raspberries, black berries), plus maple bacon and fried potatoes. Coffee at any hour plus the New York Times as well as the local papers. The beds were extremely comfortable. Looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waldo4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I'm sure I sound like everyone else for the raving review I am about to write. The Made Inn Vermont B&B is an incredible place to stay. When my girlfriend and I arrived there we were exhausted and slightly disheartened by the amount of horrific weather we experienced on our drive up. The minute we stepped out of the car, Linda (the inn keeper) was waiting at the door to take our bags. Immediately she offered us heady toppers (arguably one of the best beers), hand-squeezed orange juice mimosas or some of her sangria. We opted for the beer (it's not ever day someone offers you a free world-renowned beer!) and headed up to our room.

The room was so awesome - there were neon lights underneath, one of the halls was a chalkboard and there were electric guitars and snacks (plus a fridge filled with juice and MORE beer). We put our stuff down, cracked our beers and were given a list of excellent places to eat just a hop, skip and jump away from the inn.

The next morning our breakfast was made by an incredible woman (I feel so badly that never got her name). Linda brought us countless mimosas *all free of charge* and sat and chatted with us the entire time. We really felt special, and you could tell she was actually interested in getting to know us.

Bottom line: If you're someone who values community, good food and hospitality this is the place for you. Linda has created an environment that is inclusive and communal: you will talk to the people staying there and most likely eat with them. Linda will quickly become someone you're spilling your secrets do and you'll forget that you've paid to be there. it honestly feels like a steal for the amount you get.

My only regret is not getting Linda's personal cellphone number so I could continue to gab with her! She is SO fun!

this place is PERFECT for anyone that likes people, art, food and drinking. I will be coming back in the spring! I cannot wait!

Thank you, Linda!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonesofmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadeINNVermont, Owner at Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guests,

On behalf of the entire team, we wish to thank you for the overwhelmingly kind review about Made INN Vermont. We pride ourselves in providing high-end personalized service; your testimony is well appreciated. Please call our INN, as we would love to continue our conversation . . . any time.

We seldom respond to guests who write glowing reviews on this forum, but for the guests who are deciding to book with us, this is an opportunity to clarify a few points and questions they may have. . . . Our petite hotel offers as a welcoming drink service with choices of non-alcohol or alcohol quenchers, (because we know that is the kind of welcoming we appreciate when we travel), however, our (1) alcohol drink per guests is our actual service as part of their room rate. . . . It is also true, we serve organic mimosas with Sunday breakfast, topping off a relaxed stay and ending to our weekend service at our B&B, or as we like to title our service . . . . all-inclusive "mini-resort". Even though our mimosa service may have seemed unlimited, our rule is (2) limit per non-driving guests and (1) limit for drivers.

Made INN Vermont is a chic boutique, yet casual and relaxed B&B with just (4) rooms, allowing us, again, to provide more attentive and personalized service It's important to let our future guests know that as responsible hosts we honor are drink service, keeping a comfortable balance for all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back. The spring and summer seasons in our beautiful city of Burlington adds different options to your stay. Try them all. Burlington is a great base for your adventures in Vermont.

Kind regards,

Linda Wolf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My husband and I kind of messed up. We hadn't read the website carefully an didn't realize that the inn's (private) bathrooms are not en-suite. So when we arrived with our 2-year-old, I was worried we had picked the wrong place. I could not have been more wrong. Linda and her amazing staff bent over backwards to make sure that everything about our stay was perfect. And we were there for four nights, so we really got to experience the breadth of their talents. They went out of their way to make sure we had the best possible breakfasts, though all three of us were eating differently. They provided our son with snacks, toys, and the most kid-friendly kitty we've ever met. One evening while I was winding up some work, Linda tapped lightly on my door to give me a glass of Sangria and a bowl of crackers (she had already learned that I liked her Sangria). By the end of our stay, I was convinced that Linda should be teaching courses to other B&B owners in how to get everything just right. All three of us had a truly wonderful time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenMB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

What more can I say than this is one of the coolest and most unique places I have ever stayed! We stayed on NYE and simply had an amazing time. The host is incredibly kind and gracious, and went out of her way to make our evening memorable.
The whole house is immaculatley decorated with themes in every corner. There is even a hot tub and game room with pool table!
I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at Made Inn Vermont over New Years Eve and enjoyed First Night Burlington. LInda was a fabulous host - her eclectic style can be seen throughout the inn. The food was amazing - from Lox and Myers Bagels to Biscuits and Gravy and on to caramelized baked French Toast

This was a bit pricey as far as B&B's go - but worth every penny! it is in walking distance to downtown Burlington and the famed Church Street with all the shops and restaurants, as well as Lake Champlain.

If you are looking for a place that you can kick your feet up and relax, enjoy some great food and a great city - stay here. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in 904 - it was perfect. Note that there are no ensuite bathrooms - they are private but d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyDonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was a weekend I will never forget. The room was amazing. Every corner you looked there was something new to explore. Linda was amazing and very accommodating. The food is excellent. We will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchellem85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
773 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,627 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast

Address: 204 S Willard St, 204 South Willard St between Maple and Main, Burlington, VT 05401-3903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range: $215 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected "2014 TOP TEN ROMANTIC INNS"by I Love Inns, ranked among the "TOP FIVE VERMONT HOTELS" by Richard Bangs, Travel Editor for the Huffington Post, and "TOP TEN N. AMERICAN WINTER DESTINATIONS" by Chase Sapphire's TABLE & TRAVEL Magazine..... We feel we offer the best Inn in Burlington. "Come for the Design. Stay for the Experience." Trademark...... Escape from the ordinary at Made INN Vermont, our new urban-hip boutique B&B is a Victorian landmark, ideally located in downtown Burlington in an classic New England historic neighborhood;just a few steps to University of Vermont, Church Street Marketplace, Fletcher Allen, and a short drive to Burlington International Airport..... A new chic petite-hotel offering four guest rooms in an private sanctuary with first-class amenities: sumptuous beds, indulgent hospitality, gourmet breakfasts, unforgettable views & Heady Toppers...... The Inn's trendy hipster style is fused into this 1881 classic Victorian architecture with Vermont craftsmanship. The atmosphere and ambiance are bound to remain in every couple's memory..... Our sumptuous, fresh breakfast is made of local farm fresh to table, sustainable foods, cooked to gourmet perfection..... And our First Class, 5-Star Service (self-rated that is) offering for luxury & romance start with the stunning panoramic views from the INN's 4th floor cupola, secluded gardens and under the stars, year round hot-tub, as well as a number of options for customizing romantic packages..... For those spontaneous get-away bookings: we are just a quick get-away drive offering breathtaking views of Vermont from Boston and Montreal; and just a quick get-away-flight from D.C. And N.Y. Everything here calls for you to relax, unwind, rejuvenate and be happy.....Family, and Pet Friendly. Offering Welcoming Heady Toppers, Switchback Ale, Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream, Green Mountain Coffees and many other Vermont specialty foods as our theme is "Made in Vermont". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing