We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic design gem in historic district”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vinalhaven
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eclectic design gem in historic district”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Beautiful, engaging, eclectic design throughout; many comfortable sitting areas inside and out; delicious breakfast, and treats always around; relax in the hot tub or stroll to the farmers market, many wonderful restaurants or active waterfront; owner and staff warmly met all our needs; small whimsical surprises found in house and rooms compliment the design aesthetic; highly recommend and will return.

Room Tip: 903 is small, but cozy and has all you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinalhavenAziza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    17
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
76
337
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My son and I were visiting for the weekend in Burlington. We had a wonderful stay at Made Inn. Linda did everything to make our stay special. The location was perfect and the property was very unique and fun to explore. We will be back.

Room Tip: Booked through their website, but call for any questions since other sleeping arrangements are possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelley v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Inn is quaint with a wonderful mix of vintage, playful, homey and eccentric accents. All living areas including rooms and bathrooms were spotless. The breakfast was the most delicious journey into the world of gourmet heaven, VT style.

The innkeeper, Linda, will attend to your every request. Though I can see why some guests may find it overbearing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangotas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Cozy
Clean
Quiet
Quaint
Tasty
Tasteful
Friendly
Helpful
Centrally located

I'll qualify: The House is beautiful and impeccably maintained, on a side street, easy walking distance to downtown; the price is fair (we find Burlington expensive as far as accommodations are concerned, it is reflected in the price, we find that normal). We like the decor with its tasteful use of vintage toys and industrials, and upcycled items (snowboards turned into benches etc.), no fuddy-duddy Victorian. Breakfast was tasty, copious and inventive, nice continental spread with made to order choices. We came with our toddler, they were super accommodating (not that this is a place for kids, but they had no problems with it). We had questions about dining options, directions, and toddler related stuff, all of which the owner and staff were eager to answer and help with. We will definitely be staying at Made INN Vermont on our next visit to Burlington.
PS. YOU MUST GO TO THE SHELBURN MUSEUM!

Green Features: Lots of upcycled items used for decor, locally produced foods
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckarpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Arrived at the B and B at 2:30, only to be told, "You know, check in is at 3." No problem, I was willing to wait, only to be told in the next breath that the reservationist made a mistake and had us scheduled for July instead of June. OK, but I spoke to two different people on two separate days within the last week, and was told that our room was secure. I cannot comment on the B and B in terms of cleanliness etc., because we walked out only to get a phone call 10 minutes later telling us that the Marriot or some such place had rooms, and that they were sorry for the mix up. If you want to stay here, stay at your own risk. Just from first impressions of this "Hip" place, I'd rather it were less "Hip" and more professionally run.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rcuchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadeINNVermont, Linda Wolf--Owner/Designer/Innkeeper--Bartender, Barista & Burlington's Concierge for the Best Stay-cations at Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 28, 2016
Dear Rouchel Reservation Guests,

As we read your quoted words we realize there was a misunderstanding. I was standing nearby when our staff member asked you and your guest to allow (5) minutes to check on your room to see that everything was in professional order, as you stated you arrived early. After your abrupt departure, we took it upon ourselves to call around to find you availability and we reported back to you. This was not because we lost your booking, but because we were not informed as to why you had chosen to leave the INN, and we wanted to help. We knew you had driven all the way from New York in heavy thunderstorms.

We regret that after your long and tedious hours of driving left you too (tired) and somehow you missed-out-on what we really had waiting for you—(our attentive fun “hip” design and hospitality service . . . within our gorgeously restored Victorian and your whimsical fun room that we feel you would have enjoyed).

Thank you for this opportunity to remind our future guests that our hours for check-in are 3-6 PM. We request that if our guests are expecting to arrive outside these hours, for best service, please informed the INN in advance. This makes for a better welcoming and meets everyone's expectations.

We hope in the future you will let us share our INN with you. — Linda Wolf

—The INNkeeper for Burlington's Top Non-Traditional Historic B&B— one with attitude, charm, funk & pizzaz. If you are looking for fun— really why stay anywhere else?

—If you need Zen—absolutely stay somewhere else! We are an urban-retreat—(an interactive, charming, attentive, delicious & delightful getaway). Child & Pet friendly, as well!

_______________________________________________________________________
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Come for the Design. Stay for the Experience.®
. . . . . . . . “ V i s i t V e r m o n t A n d G o C r a z y! N o b o d y W i l l N o t i c e.”
. . . . . Burlington is the  "F o o d i e P a r a d i s e" of Vermont. Take a cow to lunch.
. . . . . . . .”Washington Post (2016) Sunday Edition: we are: "Where to Stay!”
. . . . . . .We're not "Downton Abbey,” and we don't serve "bangers & mash," "toad in the hole,” "bubbles & squeak," or "spotted dick.” (We do serve the best maple-cured bacon you'll ever taste!) _______________________________________________________________________

___________________Come to our Inn & Come out of your Shell _____________

MADE INN VERMONT BED & BREAKFAST [bed-n-brek-fuh st]; noun.
An urban, chic, artisanal, intimate Victorian mansion that pairs well with localvore fare, award-winning IPAs, all-inclusive amenities, and located minutes from Lake Champlain and the heart of Burlington.
Synonyms: Nothing compares.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had such a fabulously relaxing experience...room 905 was amazing...so comfy, vintage record player rocked!! Food was absolutely delicious and abundant...Linda was gracious and extremely accommodating...and if course, Burlington is quite the charmer... We can't wait to go back next year!!! Thanks for a super relaxing 24 hours Linda!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linds_ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, IL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

There is only one word to say about our stay at Made Inn Vermont......Awesome. The room was awesome, the food was awesome, the service was awesome and the owner Linda and her staff was awesome. Definitely will go back again!!!

No better place to stay if you are traveling to Burlington Vermont.

Room Tip: We were in room 904 and it was perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast

Property: Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast
Address: 204 S Willard St, Burlington, VT 05401-3903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Made INN Vermont, an Urban-Chic Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selected "2014 TOP TEN ROMANTIC INNS"by I Love Inns, ranked among the "TOP FIVE VERMONT HOTELS" by Richard Bangs, Travel Editor for the Huffington Post, and "TOP TEN N. AMERICAN WINTER DESTINATIONS" by Chase Sapphire's TABLE & TRAVEL Magazine..... We feel we offer the best Inn in Burlington. "Come for the Design. Stay for the Experience." Trademark...... Escape from the ordinary at Made INN Vermont, our new urban-hip boutique B&B is a Victorian landmark, ideally located in downtown Burlington in an classic New England historic neighborhood;just a few steps to University of Vermont, Church Street Marketplace, Fletcher Allen, and a short drive to Burlington International Airport..... A new chic petite-hotel offering four guest rooms in an private sanctuary with first-class amenities: sumptuous beds, indulgent hospitality, gourmet breakfasts, unforgettable views & Heady Toppers...... The Inn's trendy hipster style is fused into this 1881 classic Victorian architecture with Vermont craftsmanship. The atmosphere and ambiance are bound to remain in every couple's memory..... Our sumptuous, fresh breakfast is made of local farm fresh to table, sustainable foods, cooked to gourmet perfection..... And our First Class, 5-Star Service (self-rated that is) offering for luxury & romance start with the stunning panoramic views from the INN's 4th floor cupola, secluded gardens and under the stars, year round hot-tub, as well as a number of options for customizing romantic packages..... For those spontaneous get-away bookings: we are just a quick get-away drive offering breathtaking views of Vermont from Boston and Montreal; and just a quick get-away-flight from D.C. And N.Y. Everything here calls for you to relax, unwind, rejuvenate and be happy.....Family, and Pet Friendly. Offering Welcoming Heady Toppers, Switchback Ale, Ben & Jerry's Ice Cream, Green Mountain Coffees and many other Vermont specialty foods as our theme is "Made in Vermont". ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing