We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast with kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pearl Street Diner

Pearl Street Diner
Ranked #40 of 239 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In a spot which has been a local Burlington Vermont institution since the 1970's, Pearl Street once again has a restaurant place where local people can get decent food at decent prices. We love our neighbors dearly and welcome new friends from all over. If you are visiting Burlington and want what one customer calls "simple food done right" we are your place. Specializing in breakfast all day, we are famous for our homemade corned beef hash and many kinds of Eggs Benedict. Don't forget to try our authentic Philly cheesesteak for lunch.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
573 reviews
420 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great breakfast with kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Had seen this diner along Pearl St in Burlington several times but didn't like the mundane look of it from outside. Two days ago, however, we were walking back up the hill from the waterfront with our grandkids and they were cold and we needed to eat lunch, so were sort of driven in from the weather. Lo and behold, it was bright and inviting inside and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. On top of that, the meals that were served were wonderful. We all ordered breakfast items which are served all day. The girls each had one egg scrambled with bacon and toast. We had the shaved steak eggs benedict and eggs over hash. They make their own hash regularly and it was great. Wow! Everything was served hot and tasted fresh and delicious. The home fries were cooked just right, crispy on the outside and no excess oil or fat. We all were very satisfied. Will return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
196 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Unique Benedicts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Truly a greasy spoon, but in a "not bad" way.
We went because of a "give us a try," half price promotion. Honestly it's not someplace we would have walked into, had we been strolling along Pearl St. The food was good, even if a little on the greasy side. They offer a good selection of breakfast standards, and a very interesting selection of unique 'Benedicts.'

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonetone2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A solid breakfast all day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Along with Henry's, a Burlington "institution," this new diner serves a substantial, delicious breakfast at a reasonable price. Eggs benedict in a variety of ways, interesting omelettes, as well as pancakes and other breakfast goodies. It also serves lunch although I have not eaten then.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, VT
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I arrived around 9:30am Sunday and were seated right away in a cushy booth by the big front windows. We read the paper and drank coffee until our breakfasts arrived. I had French toast and a scrambled egg (with real butter and real maple syrup!), while my husband had a chorizo/egg wrap. Both very tasty; good service. nice morning atmosphere, not too noisy. When we left at 10:30, there was a wait to be seated. This restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. We had no trouble parking on the street. Good alternative to the more established breakfast spots in town that always seem packed, with long lines outside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SG_ColchesterVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndonville, Vermont
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Laid back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Went there this past Sunday. Food was good. Service slow but attentive. Decor old but it was very clean. I would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nekjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Street Diner also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Street Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing