We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Italian surprise”
Review of Pizzeria Verita

Pizzeria Verita
Ranked #1 of 237 Restaurants in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a full service Neapolitan pizzeria with a focus on exceptional Italian cuisine, inspired craft cocktails, and a well-informed, engaging staff.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Italian surprise”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in Burlington before heading to the airport to return to Austin. What a nice surprise to find this place. Loved the Almalfi salad, Rugola Pizza and the Ring of Fire. Staff was patient to explain the dishes, and our water glasses were never empty.

Helpful?
Thank BabsdeAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie W, Owner at Pizzeria Verita, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post about your dining experience. We truly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    113
    39
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Vermont”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Being from long Island, I am pretty picky about pizza. A lot of places start off good and then begin to get worse. After 4 visits, Pizzeria Verita is getting better, and I did not think that was possible. From the lively atmosphere to the great drinks and of course the PERFECT PIZZA, this place is a must for all dining out in Burlington.
The waitstaff was very friendly and patient in helping us choose drinks and pizzas, and the bar was a fun place to wait for our table. One complaint is that it is really time to expand...somehow so the wait time can not be 45-60 minutes most weekends. Probably because it is sooo good! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suitelifevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie W, Owner at Pizzeria Verita, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review! We really appreciate your feedback and business. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but .....”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

No question the pizza, service, and decor are wonderful. But be prepared for the noisiest restaurant you have even been in. If any in your party have the slightest issue with hearing, I would not recommend Verita. I would also limit your parties to 4 people, as you'll never hear anyone more than a chair away. You could always stop in and check the noise first before you book - this could save you some problems later. If your guests are loud and boisterous, go for it.= fun place, great food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie W, Owner at Pizzeria Verita, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hi there, thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to post, and definitely take our guests' feedback into consideration. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed the food. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fresh pizza, fresh attitude in an upscale but relaxed setting - See my tips”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have now dined here three times and have a consensus about this terrific downtown eatery. The pizzas are hot, fresh and creative. Cooked in a very hot wood-fired oven, these pizzas are just about perfect. This restaurant has a warm open feel to it and is generally quite busy. The owner could be seeing running around, talking to customers, helping the waitstaff, cleaning spots off glasses and just making sure everything was right.
I started with a plate of antipasti. You get to mix and match what you want and so I chose the Genoa salami, Prosciutto di Parma and their fantastic homemade mozzarella which was served with very fresh focaccia. I thoroughly enjoyed every bite while my wife had their salad special the Amalfi. Lots of arugula with large chunks of soft Gorgonzola. This was also very tasty. I had the Salsiccia e Funghi pizza which features their home made sausage. It was perfect. I split this with my wife who had their Cherry Amore (with added Prosciutto) which was also excellent. Great locally sourced beers rounded out a perfect meal. Ok here are some tips;

1)This place gets VERY busy. If you cannot make a reservation arrive just before 5:00 PM to get a table during the weekend otherwise you will have a long wait.
2) A plate of antipasti (with 3 choices and bread) and one pizza is plenty for 2 people.
3)If you go with friends or family order several pizzas and then share so you can each try something different. Don't be afraid to try something new.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PogoSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie W, Owner at Pizzeria Verita, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi Pogo, we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice and thorough review. Thanks for adding in some tips too...we agree with all of them! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pizza but very noisy.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I love the great pizza in this restaurant. Awesome salads. Good wine. But it is so noisy, I can't hear myself think.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josiebherrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie W, Owner at Pizzeria Verita, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hi there, thanks for posting a review. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Verita also viewed

 

Been to Pizzeria Verita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing