We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Timely Food ”
Review of El Gato Cantina

El Gato Cantina
Ranked #57 of 249 Restaurants in Burlington
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: El Gato Cantina, is a traditional Mexican restaurant offering authentic Mexican cuisine to Burlington and Essex Junction, Vermont. The philosophy at El Gato Cantina is to make delicious food with traditional Mexican family recipes. We now have two locations! Visit us in downtown Burlington at 169 Church Street, or visit our NEW restaurant on 4 Park Street in Essex Junction, VT. Our menu consists of tamales, carnitas, fresh salsas, chili relleno and at least 10 different kinds of tacos and more. We take pride in our elote (Mexican grilled corn) and pozole, (the ancient Aztec soup of pork and hominy). Behind the bar we are fully stocked with a wide range of tequilas including some our house-infused tequilas made with jalapenos, oranges and our daily infused tequila specials. We offer delicious vegetarian and gluten-free Mexican dishes and source our food locally whenever possible. Dine in a casual atmosphere with a traditional Mexican Cantina feel. Join us today for a tasty Mexican meal the way Grandma used to make it.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

We went with another couple and since it is not in the main area the wait time was only 20 minutes . Two other restaurants we checked were 1 to 2 hours on Saturday night at 645. Food was tasty, ample portions and appropriate spice/hot level. Margaritas were mixed right and consistent. Look forward to going again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank sarabT5540DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2018

This has become one of our favorite places to go. I get something different most times but like the shrimp quesadillas and chicken enchiladas the best. Good atmosphere and of course they have good beer selection. Also have sat outside with views of lowwer church street.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

When our usual restaurant was full, we ended up at El Gato Cantina out of desperation. The staff was very nice. They started with the free home tortilla chips (very good), and we all chose two tacos to try. The skirt steak (carne asada) one was good but I found it a little simple. On the other side, the avocado one (Aguacade con Queso) was outstanding. It was flavourful and really creative. The other two were the Pollo and Barbacoa and both were really good. The total price was decent and we had plenty of food.

The decor is charming with warm and vibrant colours. Empty alcohol bottle and mexican decorative objects fill every bit of free space. It feels warm and cozy. I really recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philippe_Marie-Line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Stopped in for dinner before going to a concert at the Flynn.
Got in early so it wasn't crowded but by the time we left it was filling up fast. Looked like there was more tables but they were not sitting in that area.
Food was good overall, Tamillas were good just a little dry but very hard to find homemade TexMex in the area so for having homemade Tamillas it won a gold star.
Wait staff was good and friendly. Portions were just right
Will go back again

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1,041,159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018 via mobile

Food was really tasty, good menu options, good service. Loved the free chips and salsa. If. Had to make one suggestion it would be to offer wheat and/or whole grain tortilla options for us health conscious people. Overall great!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank matthewgonyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gato Cantina also viewed

 

Been to El Gato Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing