We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deplorable and unsanitary restrooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Beach Campground
Brick, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Deplorable and unsanitary restrooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

North Beach is a beautiful, and ideally located campground. This year was our third vacation there, and the restrooms have degraded to a deplorable and unsanitary condition. The showers were finally cleaned on our fifth day there after I asked the attendant on how often they are cleaned. There is no hand soap, and that's disgusting. I am writing the Mayor and Parks & Recreation manager.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank marc515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    30
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
25
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited friends at the campground. The place is really nice just by the beach and bike path. It was actually full - no vacancies due to the Quebec long week end. Very regulated and police patrolled. Campsites are compact and very close together - and as it was already mentioned it is a mix of RVs and tents - not much privacy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

For tents:
Campgrounds are large, right by the bike path and beach to Lake Champlain, private from the public. Restrooms are basic, showers were hot (50 cents for 6 minutes). Security is fantastic- never felt so safe camping outside! Employees monitor the campgrounds 24hr a day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alefeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived at North Beach Campground on a Friday in mid September, around dinnertime. We'd called around 2:00 pm that day, had NO problems getting a person to answer the phone, and no problems making a reservation. Funny thing, though: the lady who took my call seemed genuinely concerned that we could get to Burlington from Concord, VT before the office closes for the night at 9 pm. She said security would probably have to wait for us. Made us a little worried that our AAA map calculations were off but, turns out, she just had no idea how small her home state was. Go figure.

Anyway, we purchased wood & ice at registration, and a nice man loaded these into his golf cart & escorted us to our site. I'm glad he did, cause otherwise I'd have thought I was reading the signs wrong or something cause these sites are SO SMALL!!! It's quite literally like a parking lot, like you're tailgating at a big game or something. It's amazing how everyone squeezes in, though. Trailers of all sizes, other pop ups, even big rigs can somehow make these teeny spots work.

There's a sign in the camp office that says North Beach has won awards for Best Urban Campground -- key word is "urban," there. It's like a camping city! I've camped similarly at Knoebels in PA and Wading Pines in NJ but this was definitely the tightest camping quarters I've ever experienced. However, the place is very clean (including the bathrooms) and plus, it's super quiet. Can't believe how peaceful this place was, even at full capacity as it was when we first arrived.

So we stayed the weekend, and then on Sunday watched in delight as almost everyone cleared out, leaving us with a lovely wide open grassy campground all to ourselves. Oh, before I forget -- don't even think about late checkout here. They've got stern guys on golf carts zipping around while everyone loads up their gear, and if you look like you're slacking they'll remind you in no uncertain terms they need you O-U-T by noon. One poor family was having a hard time loading their stuff up and the Golf Cart Police pretty much circled their campsite, hurrying them on, chirping that signs in the bathroom clearly stated 12:00 pm checkout in both English and French...

Seems a little much, frankly. It's not like they had anyone waiting on the campsite or anything. But I guess a campground this busy needs some "rule enforcers" to be so clean & quiet... It's a shame they can't be a little more relaxed but then again I can see the need to run a tight ship here.

The campground's location is AMAZING. Seriously amazing. You can hear the waves of the beach from inside the park, and then it's just a very short walk down to the beach. No way is it a mile and a half as one reviewer claimed. The beach is right there, right outta the campground. You don't have to cross a road or anything... but there IS a super awesome bike path along the beach that you'll have to walk across on your way to the water. I suggest, though, that you get a bike and ride it cause Oh My Gawd the scenery is ridiculous.

Mountains! Water! Sunsets! We saw a huge bald eagle catch a fish on the beach one morning, even.

Too cold to swim when we went but lovely place to pull off your shoes and walk in the sand. The water wasn't too brutal on the feet but I didn't go in past my ankles.

Let's see... what else... Oh! The bathrooms were fine but there were only three showers in the lady's room so you have to plan your time to avoid the pre-dinner rush that seems to be the popular time for campers to wash up these days. Fifty cents (in quarters only) for 6 minutes of warm water was plenty -- especially if you're like me and enjoy hot showers. These showers were not hot... they weren't lukewarm, exactly, they were kinda "mid warm," I guess. Meh.

A final word on tent sites: these looked great. Much more spacious than the ones with water/electric hookups where we stayed with our pop up. If we go back, we will opt for one of the grassy level tent sites and use our battery/holding tank.

I have attached before/after photos of the campground that show exactly how close other campers on during weekends when they're filled to capacity.

Room Tip: Go on a weekday if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON, MA, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We generally camp here every year around Labor Day. This place is decent assuming you're fine with the long list of rules and speeding golf carts everywhere (at all hours!).

Making a reservation will require 30 minutes or longer. Expect busy signals but keep trying. Once I got someone on the line, they took my reservation but messed up something with the computer so everything had to be done over.

When you first arrive and check in, you will be escorted to your camp site (in case you're too stupid to find it on your own). The escort will point out the boundaries of your site and let you know fires must be extinguished by midnight.

The reason we come back every year is the location. It's close to downtown Burlington and the Burlington bike path. You also get access to a beach where you can rent kayaks etc.

We've had pretty decent luck picking out camp sites. I've only stayed on tent sites so I can't comment on the RV/trailer sites however some of the RV/trailer sites seem to be almost on top of each other. My biggest complaint is that the sites are very close to each other and lack privacy.

Bathrooms are generally clean. I think for 50 cents you get 6 minutes in the showers. Expect long lines in the morning; there are only 3 showers in the men's room. Be sure to bring your own hand soap -- no hand soap is provided in the bathrooms.

Trash cans and recycling bins are located throughout the campground conveniently (for both campers and wildlife in the area).

There is an airport nearby so planes fly over the area, even early in the morning.

Our last visit was one to remember after we were confronted by security at the front gate around 9PM. After grabbing drinks and dinner on Church St, we tried to re-enter with a car full of 5 people. But, we only brought 2 car passes. Be sure you bring all passes with you if you plan to arrive late. Since we were missing 1 pass, we were interrogated for several minutes and the rent-a-cop finally let us through but said he would stop by our site to verify the pass. 30 minutes later he stopped by, verified the pass, and went on his way. The guy was really rude to us but I can understand they don't want unregistered guests entering the campground.

Room Tip: Sites 122 - 137: There is a fire ring on the sites but no cooking grate. Sites 129-132 seemed really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2007sonata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The North Beach campground is very good. The negative comment that someone posted about it being a 1.5 mile walk to the beach clearly demonstrates the exxageration this person was experiencing when he/she wrote it. The walk is minutes (like 3 - 4 minutes max IF you are crawling on your hands and knees) from any one of the campsites. We have stayed there, and it is quiet, and the bathrooms are on par with any great campground. The tent sites are close, but that isnt a problem - you are just a couple minutes to a beautiful beach, a 10 - 15 walk to the Burlington Waterfront Park, and conveniently located near a hardware store, a grocery store, a laundry mat, a fantastic bagel place, a retail pharmacy store, and a great little pub.

You will not find any other place to camp with the beauty of the lake and the Adirondacks in the distance. Whoever is posting the negative comments is just a negative person and wouldnt have a different opinion if someone rolled out the red carpet for them.

You wont be disappointed by this family friendly campground-ever!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, CT.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We just got back from there, did not see or experience any of the problems mentioned. staff seemed nice but a little stressed most likley becuase they are so busy all the time. It is a public campground run by the Burlington parks dept. (not privately owned, or state run.) so they have to follow the city rules, (campfires out by midnight, no fires on beach etc.) The bathrooms were average for cleanliness, seeing how many people use them a day, you are in the woods so there will be some bugs and stuff in the bathrooms I've never been in a campground private or state where there were'nt bugs and some spiders on the ceilings or walls. the sites are kind of close but considering the place was full it was pretty quiet. my only real compliant is that you can't control the temp of the water in the showers really hot thats all you get, after being at the beach all day in the sun I prefer a cooler shower. We had a great time there, i don't way all the negative reviews I didn't see it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.4 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Beach Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Beach Campground

Property: North Beach Campground
Address: 60 Institute Rd, Burlington, VT 05408-2764
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Burlington
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Beach is a 143 site campground found on the shores of beautiful Lake Champlain. We offer tent sites with no hook-ups, water & electric sites & full hook-up sites. Starting this season we have a new Group Site, which is perfect for groups biking around Lake Champlain. The group site can hold around 50 people and offers a large fire pit, a bike rack & a grill this site does not come with any hook-ups. Along with the gorgeous views we offer Wi-Fi and a friendly smile to everyone that walks into the park. We have 2 bathroom facilities; one with coin operated showers, coins operated laundry for guests, easy access to Burlington’s bike path & of course complete access to our large beach. On the beach you will find a Snack bar, kayak rentals & bike rentals. Our price lists are as follows: $36.00 per night for tents sites, $41.00 per night for water & electric sites, $45.00 per night for full hook-up sites & the group site is $100.00 per night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Beach Campground Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing