We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Max is so creative”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pistou - CLOSED

Pistou
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Sosua, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Max is so creative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Max, the chef/owner of Pistou, is always full of surprises, creating unique combinations of tastes, textures, and colors on the plate. He is bold, even daring in his use of locally grown foods. You will never find what Max serves on any other restaurant menu because the menu is always changing, based upon what the best fresh raw ingredients he can buy happen to be at the time. I've never been disappointed at Pistou.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dallasalice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pistou is one of Burlington Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Enjoyed the tasting menu at Pistou on Main Street tonight. This was our first visit to the restaurant and we were mightily impressed. The food was exquisitely prepared and the four courses of the tasting menu were delivered with kind grace by John, our server. I highly recommend Pistou for locals and visitors alike.

You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Champlainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great service and original food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The menu was a small variety of great food choices. We loved everything and especially the desserts. The service was way above most restaurants in Vermont.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“must keep this little gem in business”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

such a tiny space and the food packs such a fabulous wallop! original cuisine and amazing flavors. This is my new favorite local restaurant and although it is a few blocks off of Church Street it is well worth the journey!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not memorable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Went to Pistou because of the good reviews and an article I had read, expecting at least a bit of originality. Service was good, although the waitress asked if I wanted wine and offered my steak tartare with my 7 months pregnancy bump.... Restaurant is missing in decor, seems like they just put tables and chairs in the space. Nothing was wrong with the food, but really nothing to make you remember it once you left the restaurant. The portions are perfect, not too big or too small. Will never go back, there are better options in Burlington.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoloB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pistou also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing