We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best B&B experience -outstanding service, food, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“Our best B&B experience -outstanding service, food, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

On our most recent trip to Burlington my husband ended up on crutches after a fall. We have appreciated the quality of the service, food, and location on previous stays and Kim and her staff impressed us even more this time. They graciously provided us with extra care for meals, opened up the sun porch to our extended family for an evening get-together and, in general, made us feel well-cared for. Definitely a high recommendation for any visit - the ordinary and the ones when you need extra care!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    54
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
51
181
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Mountains
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

Lang house is a old 3 story victorian, furnished with antiques of that age, with thick carpets underfoot throughout.Our third floor room gave a view of Lake Champlain over the roof tops of Burlington city. Spotless, friendly, helpful, with a gourmet quality breakfast awaiting you in the morning... newest one of my top three places on either side of the Atlantic.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaelfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

We were in the area college visiting. Such a perfect location for that but yet so much to do, wish we stayed longer. Plan to return just my husband and myself!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

We have been staying at Lang House since Kim bought it seven years ago. It is one of our favorite spots anywhere. The house is charming, beautifully kept and warm. The rooms are lovely and comfortable and the breakfasts are delicious. The location puts you in walking distance to just about anything in downtown Burlington--which itself is a great place to visit. More important however, is the fact that Kim and her team are unfailingly friendly and helpful. This is one special place.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

I highly recommend this B&B for people traveling to Burlington for pleasure. I was in town for my wedding, and our officiant recommended the Lang House as a romantic play to stay by our officiant.

The room was nicely decorated, spacious and well appointed. We stayed in the Captain Lyon room and it had a comfortable, luxurious-feeling bed and a nice seating area in the turret. The Inn offers three breakfast selections each morning - meat, vegetarian or house granola with yogurt. Being a vegetarian, I appreciated the availability of a veggie choice.

The University of Vermont is on one side and the town on the other, so there is plenty to see nearby on foot.

I had never been to Vermont, and this inn provided the experience that I had imagined.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckerjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Let's not complicate this...just a fine place to stay with wonderful staff, and personal attention without being invasive. I like a place I don't have to worry about while I enjoy the area, but Lang House actually became part of my enjoyment. Kim has a great staff, and dedicated her own time and attention to assure a great stay.

I always worry in these B&B situations that privacy might suffer, but The Lang House has struck the perfect balance. Your rooms and bathrooms are private and well kept. And there's enough space in the dining room, so that it feels more like a restaurant than a B&B. And the food was "get out!" good. It was what made getting out of the comfort of the rooms worthwhile...always a new spin, and always delicious.

Burlington is a great spot to visit too. If you've never been to Vermont, and like hiking, and laking, and photography...yes, even shopping...go.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

We planned a wedding in Burlington and chose the Lang House as our place to stay. The staff was wonderful at helping to plan a variety of details. From having flowers, wine on ice and cheese & crackers all waiting in the room upon check in to coordinating with a baker to have special cookies delivered to the room after the ceremony. They also helped select special Lake Champlagne Chocolates for the big day.

The staff is very courteous and friendly. The breakfasts they served each morning were absolutely wonderful. My favorite was the granola. I had it every morning.

The room (Captain Lyon) was decorated very nicely and it was warm and inviting. All of the rooms seems very well appointed. We never heard any noise or had any issues. The location is perfect. We could walk or drive to everything in minutes.

I'd highly recommend the Lang House. It is not a big fancy hotel. It is so much more. It is quaint, charming, very friendly and more inviting. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. If you are looking for a hotel with a full room service menu, it's not a B&B but if you are looking for a place with character, history and absolutely fantastic curb appeal, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 11 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 360 Main St, Burlington, VT 05401-3413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lang House on Main Street, built in 1881, combines turn of the century Victorian charm, with the services, amenities, and comfort of the 21st century. Located on Burlington's historic Main street, guests enjoy tasteful and comfortable accommodations, local gourmet breakfast -- all just blocks away from Downtown Burlington, the University of Vermont and Champlain College, and Fletcher Allen Health Care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lang House Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing