We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worry Free and Charming Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Let's not complicate this...just a fine place to stay with wonderful staff, and personal attention without being invasive. I like a place I don't have to worry about while I enjoy the area, but Lang House actually became part of my enjoyment. Kim has a great staff, and dedicated her own time and attention to assure a great stay.

I always worry in these B&B situations that privacy might suffer, but The Lang House has struck the perfect balance. Your rooms and bathrooms are private and well kept. And there's enough space in the dining room, so that it feels more like a restaurant than a B&B. And the food was "get out!" good. It was what made getting out of the comfort of the rooms worthwhile...always a new spin, and always delicious.

Burlington is a great spot to visit too. If you've never been to Vermont, and like hiking, and laking, and photography...yes, even shopping...go.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 310 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2010

We planned a wedding in Burlington and chose the Lang House as our place to stay. The staff was wonderful at helping to plan a variety of details. From having flowers, wine on ice and cheese & crackers all waiting in the room upon check in to coordinating with a baker to have special cookies delivered to the room after the ceremony. They also helped select special Lake Champlagne Chocolates for the big day.

The staff is very courteous and friendly. The breakfasts they served each morning were absolutely wonderful. My favorite was the granola. I had it every morning.

The room (Captain Lyon) was decorated very nicely and it was warm and inviting. All of the rooms seems very well appointed. We never heard any noise or had any issues. The location is perfect. We could walk or drive to everything in minutes.

I'd highly recommend the Lang House. It is not a big fancy hotel. It is so much more. It is quaint, charming, very friendly and more inviting. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. If you are looking for a hotel with a full room service menu, it's not a B&B but if you are looking for a place with character, history and absolutely fantastic curb appeal, look no further.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

The location is perfect--within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants. The decor elegant yet homey, you feel like you are staying in 5-star accommodations without the stuffiness. The staff could not have been friendlier, more helpful or courteous, everyone bent over backwards to make sure every little one of our needs was met. Seven of us staying there, we felt at ease congregating in the living room or in the sun room at all hours to visit and get caught up from the day--much better than a hotel. There is a different menu for breakfast every morning and if you can't find something on it you like, they'll cook you something different. The only complaint I had was I couldn't see my whole head in the bathroom mirror (Reed Room) but I overheard one of the staffers say they were taking care of that. The place is amazing. Stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quibblebooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

My mom and I took a weekend mom/daughter road trip to Burlington, to see where she lived after college. My mom is very picky when it comes to cleanliness and hotels, so I knew I needed to find a really nice place to stay. I'm happy to report that The Lang House lived up to both of our expectations!

The Lang House is a huge white Victorian with a smaller guest cottage around the back. The house is situated on Main St. just a few blocks up the hill from downtown Burlington, so it's location is ideal for exploring the town.

We stayed in the Hayward room on the 2nd floor. We both thought the room was beautiful. The bathroom was tiny, but that's just a trade-off for staying in an old historic building.

The B&B staff, comprised mostly of local college students, were friendly, helpful and hospitable to us during our stay. In this economy where so many recent grads cannot find work, it really is refreshing to see an establishment that likes to hire young people.

Our breakfast was delicious, truly gourmet. The menu changes daily, and there are several entrees to choose from. You can see (and smell) everything being freshly prepared in the kitchen down the hall.

Overall, my mom and I both loved this B&B and enjoyed our weekend in Burlington. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graduatexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We booked seven rooms for various friends and family members to attend a wedding. Everyone was pleased with their room and we especially enjoyed the common spaces where we could gather each evening to touch base, relax with a cup of tea and delicious home made treats, and plan for the next day. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, comfortable and elegant. The staff was always friendly, helpful, capable, and considerate.

Breakfast was something we looked forward to every morning. We had 3 options and each one was always delicious. Late in the afternoon we would return to find something freshly baked in the dining room.

The Lang House is located just a 10-minute walk to the center of downtown Burlington (the Church St pedestrian mall) and we found plenty of great restaurants and shops within walking distance. It is also a pleasant walk to Lake Champlain and back. Great location.

I highly recommend the Lang House.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

A large extended family gathering was well served by this Bed and Breakfast. The public areas were inviting and comfortable. The rooms were generous and well-appointed. The breakfast options were always delicious. The ambiance and staff allowed us to feel "at home", but at the same time, gave us excellent and cheerful service. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJAR00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We decided to go to Burlington for a few days for a quick getaway. After looking at a reservation at the Williard Street Inn, we found that it was booked and instead selected the Lang House.

The inn is a lovely old Victorian on a busy street in Burlington. It is right across from two fraternity/sorority houses at either Champlain College or University of Vermont(not sure which). School was out when we visited and there were no issues, but it's something to be aware of. It is possible that the street is crowded with partying college kids during a weekend during the school session.

We stayed in the Reed Room, the only guest room I believe on the first floor. It was very large, beautiful with awesome woodwork and period touches. The bed (a king) was extremely comfortable and fitted with top-rate linens and pillows. We were concerned about being on the first floor and also on the street but we slept like babies and never heard a peep. There was a neat tabletop white noise generator in the room and also a very quiet and effective air conditioner in the window. The bathroom was also large and comfortable and there was a small TV. We did not get to see any of the other rooms but they are all on the Lang House web site. I believe there are eleven in all, divided between the main house and a carriage house in back. There is parking in between for one car per guest, a nice touch in Burlington where parking can be an issue.

There is a comfortable sun porch and sitting room and they serve breakfast in either room. During the day the staff bakes fresh cookies or brownies and leaves them out for you to eat as you like and also has coffee, tea, and water available 24/7. There is speedy wireless internet throughout the whole place which worked nicely.

Every morning you get a nicely prepared breakfast- usually an egg dish, a pancake/waffle dish, or fresh granola with yogurt. Each breakfast is made when ordered so it does take a bit of time but it is well worth it. Breakfast starts with some type of amuse bouche- one day it was a small slice of orange-glazed poppy cake, the next, a shot of strawberry smoothie. Breakfast is accompanied by a slice toast and a side meat. We are not big portion eaters but be aware that if you are expecting a large and hearty breakfast this is not what they serve. The quality is excellent but it is more of a petit dejeuner. Some might consider this a drawback considering that the nightly rate is pricey but we did not have an issue but rather enjoyed the hand-crafted food and small portions.

The staff is friendly but consists almost exclusively of young people- perhaps college students. They are super friendly but at times somewhat awkward and even shy-it almost made us feel guilty to ask them for things. We found it charming- some might be a bit disappointed at service that is eager and pleasant but not polished. Overall this was a plus for us and we enjoyed the staff.

The innkeeper, Kim, is a wonderful lady, a talented chef, and full of recommendations about things to do in the area. We really enjoyed talking with her and she was around for part of each day. Clearly, she has a passion for her business and her city.

The inn was always squeaky clean, by the way, no easy task in a place with that much wood and carpet around. Great job cleaning staff.

All in all, it was a fine stay. Had the price been slightly lower, the service a bit more polished, or the breakfast choices a bit wider, it would have been a clear 5,but these were minor flaws in what we considered a 4.5 B&B well run by a talented innkeeper and a staff that tries very hard to please.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast

Address: 360 Main St, Burlington, VT 05401-3413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range: $186 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lang House on Main Street, built in 1881, combines turn of the century Victorian charm, with the services, amenities, and comfort of the 21st century. Located on Burlington's historic Main street, guests enjoy tasteful and comfortable accommodations, local gourmet breakfast -- all just blocks away from Downtown Burlington, the University of Vermont and Champlain College, and Fletcher Allen Health Care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lang House Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing