We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Lang House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Overall the Lang House was great. Breakfasts were Unbelievably good each morning we were there. They had two courses for breakfast. Usually the first course was a baked good and the the main course was either an egg option and a pancake/waffle option! I loved that there were two courses! We stayed in the Carriage House in the back and the room was okay. It wasn't as clean as I would have liked and could use an update. The location is great - walking distance to downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank varitek33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 310 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2008

My husband and I spent an overnight at the Lang House B&B and found it charming and convenient. It is located on Main Street and is a quick 3 block walk to the Church Street Marketplace area. The Inn is a turn of the century house with high ceilings, lots of oak trim and many windows. We stayed in the Hayward room on the second floor which is bright and attractive with a four poster bed piled with pretty blue and cream pillows and duvet and topped with a fishnet canopy. There are hardwood floors with a large, patterned wool area rug. The furnishings are oak and painted wood and there is a large antique mirrored armoire in place of a closet. There is a small but immaculate bathroom with a shower, pedestal sink and toilet.

A sound machine is provided to block out any unwanted noise, as well as 2 pairs of earplugs. Apparently it can get noisy on the street during the warmer months as the B&B is located right between the UVM campus and downtown and there are several frat houses just up the street and this is the main walk to "town" and back. We had no noise issue but it was probably 10 degrees out and our room was at the back.

The B&B staff are very helpful with recommendations on where to eat, shop, visit etc and will make reservations for you. There are welcome cookies set out each afternoon in the dining room, delicious and a nice touch. The B&B is clean, neat and decorated in turn of the century style. The breakfast was wonderful: we were given a basket of fabulous maple nut scones to start. We then had a choice of scrambled eggs with cheddar in a dill and onion popover with grilled ham and fruit, Challah bread french toast with ham and fruit or homemade granola with fruit and either yogurt or milk. Everything we tried was delicious including the fruit (fresh pineapple, strawberries, cantaloupe, orange and grapes). There is a self serve coffee/tea bar and juice station. You eat either in the dining room or sunporch.

We would definitely stay here again; it reminded us of the houses we grew up in and had a homey yet elegant feel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank monkeydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at The Lang House twice and both weekends were lovely. The Van Ness room, with its view of Lake Champlain and charming sitting area was perfect. The Lang House has a relaxed, cozy, welcoming atmosphere. It is an easy walk to Church Street in downtown Burlington, where the shopping and eating are fabulous. In the morning we woke to a delicious full breakfast which was fresh and homemade! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AussieBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

I stayed in the Van Ness room for one night in January. Location of this B&B is great and parking was easy. Very close to shopping and restaurants. I wouldn't describe this as a luxurious bed and breakfast, but it is clean and comfortable. The bed had a memory foam mattress and was quite cozy. The furniture in the room (antiques) is pretty beat-up looking. The bathroom in this room is VERY small (no tub, only shower stall that was very dark). The sink is outside of the bathroom; very small vanity with no room to put your toiletries/makeup. I agree with another reviewer that the bath products are not very nice. The robes in the room are a great touch. I also enjoyed the coffee/tea that are available on the main floor. Staff is extremely friendly, helpful, and accomodating. There is some noise from the street traffic. They actually provide earplugs and a "white noise" maker; so they must have received complaints in the past. Overall, I had a pleasant stay. . . but I probably wouldn't recommend this place if you are looking for a luxurious romantic getaway.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank TravelBug63366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperlang, Assistnat Innkeeper at Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2008

We heard you! Just wanted to let all trip advisor users out there know that we have heard what you had to say about our toiletries and have recently purchased new products. Much deliberation went into this decision and we feel we have picked a wonderful product that our guests will truly enjoy. The Gilchrist and Soames, London Collection shampoo and lotion went into our rooms on June 22nd, 2008. We would love to hear what you think about these toiletries or anything else about the property. Thank you all for taking the time to review our bed and breakfast we always appreaicate hearing what you think.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

Being a business traveler to Burlington I feel so lucky to have found the Lang House. It is warm and welcoming and the breakfast is always yummy! I have the opportunity to stay anywhere in the Burlington area but always come to the Lang House because the Inn is comfortable, clean and the staff are always helpful. The Lang House is a true find!

Stayed: December 2007
Thank trippermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We stayed in the upstairs unit of carriage house behind the Lang House, and really liked it. It was spacious, clean, and well-appointed, although my tall husband had to duck around the vaulted ceilings. The breakfast was quite good, and it was an easy walk into town and Church street.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2007

Lang House was the first place we stayed on a Fall tour of New England and it was lovely. The staff were pleasant and hospitable, our room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were just amazing. We really enjoyed our three days around Burlington and despite the uphill walk back to Lang House after dinner every evening we looked forward to retiring to the comfort of our room and anticipating the next morning's breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NetSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast

Address: 360 Main St, Burlington, VT 05401-3413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range: $186 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lang House on Main Street, built in 1881, combines turn of the century Victorian charm, with the services, amenities, and comfort of the 21st century. Located on Burlington's historic Main street, guests enjoy tasteful and comfortable accommodations, local gourmet breakfast -- all just blocks away from Downtown Burlington, the University of Vermont and Champlain College, and Fletcher Allen Health Care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lang House Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing