We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in Burlington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   360 Main Street, Burlington, VT 05401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sailing Package
Ranked #3 of 17 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, New York
1 review
“Superb in Burlington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have been a business guest at the Lang House for 3 years on several occasions. It is a gem. The staff are capable, courteous and professional. The rooms are exceptionally clean, comfortable and attractive. And the food is some of the best I have had (especially the baked goods). The location is easy to get to and conveniently walking distance from great restaurants and bars in Burlington.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent. Despite being on Main Street near UVM, the Lang House is comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    52
    5
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
157
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here on a very rainy weekend in early June, 2013 and had a lovely time. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and quick to answer any questions or help us with anything we needed. You must participate in the free breakfast as it is simply wonderful and very delicious. The rooms are very nicely appointed in Victorian/mid to late 19th century decor. The only complaint I have is that they should consider examining the electrical outlets. They are most likely aging (at least in the Allen room) because our chargers fell right out of the wall. This happens with aging outlets and they simply require a very new and inexpensive outlet to be installed.
The location of the home, nestled between the University of Vermont and Champlain College, made for the a delightful stay. I highly recommend this home for those that want a much cozier experience than a chain hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperlang, Owner at Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello, Mark! Thanks so much for your thoughtful review. I especially appreciate knowing that you had problems with the Allen room outlets. Checking all outlets is on our property manager's list. You are correct, these are an easy fix. Hope to have you as guests again, Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had to come to burlingtong for a wedding we stayed here as a last resort because we have a 2 year old... Honestly we LOVED it! All the staff was so friendly to my daughter and same as the guests as they thought she was a joy and loved seeing her. I read 4 bad reviews on the place and decided when I left that they were all full of shi$.. Yes they place has young ladies doing a lot of work around the place, but all nice and professional. I really thought a lot of them were sweet. I never write reviews but this was the first B&B I have ever stayed at and I will say I was pleasantly impressed! Food was great! We stayed 2 nights and had a full nights rest. I think we stayed in one of the smaller rooms. the Fisher room but still it was very cozy! I did not hear any street noise ,but that could also of been my fans fault. I will say the one problem I had was our fan! Our fan sucked. it sounded like someone was mowing a lawn outside. So we used the a/c.. Alos the coffee was great! I loved it and my daughter loved the hot coco and the cookies they put out! I def like this place. If I ever come back to the boonies Ill def. come back here!!! :)

Room Tip: Fisher room is small! But the room across was much bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle72283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeperlang, Owner at Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks, Danielle, for your review. All staff members, young and older, enjoy having children in the inn. They bring a nice energy with them. We so appreciate it when guests let us know they identify a problem. A new fan is being tested in the living room as I write this response. Come back to the boonies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to Burlington for a weekend. Stayed at the Lang House (with 2 friends) on recommendations from Tripadvisor. It was the best place, by far, to stay in Burlington. It was only a few blocks from the main restaurant area and a short walk to the waterfront. Everyone at the Inn was so nice and attentive. On their website recommendation, we ordered two bottles of wine and two cheese platters. With the sun shining in on a Friday afternoon, we sat in the sunroom and fully enjoyed the day. Can't say enough about their breakfast (pick from3 choices, which you are served), which surpassed all of our expectations. We will return in the Autumn. I highly, highly recommend it. My only wish was that our room on a mirror I could see in. I am only 5'2" and there wasn't any mirror I could really see into. The one in the bathroom was up too high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skapec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lang House in late April and it was wonderful. Lovely accommodations, great location, fantastic breakfast and amazing staff. This was our first time staying at a B&B and we can't wait to return to the Lang House.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarraD9225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights there in late March - in the Garden Spa. The room was spacious--like a little suite with a hot tub, its own private entrance, a huge bed and really comfy robes--a little like the apartment I would have liked to have had right after college. Lang House has a liquor license and they sell a selection of wonderful bottled wines and a cheese plate to go with that selection. Heaven!

My husband and I really enjoy our privacy and coming and going as we please, and the Garden Spa was perfect for that. We socialized at breakfast, and kept to ourselves the rest of the time. The house itself is beautifully outfitted and more than comfortable. The staff were gracious and welcoming and the breakfast was hearty and fun. The location was perfect for us Burlington newbies, as everything was within walking distance (even in March, which I hear can be chilly there!). We will stay there again!

Room Tip: If you want the traditional B&B experience, choose a room in the main house. The owner said tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
124 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I just returned to the Lang House (third visit and second review for TA) and were not disappointed. Room, staff, location, breakfast, maintenance all A-1.

This is a picture perfect New England B&B. The rooms are large and tastfully decorated. Great robes.

The staff very pleasant and accomodating.

Breakfast was delicious.

Recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IgFlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 14 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast
Address: 360 Main Street, Burlington, VT 05401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lang House on Main Street, built in 1881, combines turn of the century Victorian charm, with the services, amenities, and comfort of the 21st century. Located on Burlington's historic Main street, guests enjoy tasteful and comfortable accommodations, local gourmet breakfast -- all just blocks away from Downtown Burlington, the University of Vermont and Champlain College, and Fletcher Allen Health Care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lang House on Main Street Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lang House Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing