We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sailing on Lake Champlain on board " Friend Ship"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whistling Man Schooner Company

Whistling Man Schooner Company
Ranked #1 of 24 Tours in Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail aboard a traditional sailing sloop on the grand and gorgeous Lake Champlain on a two-hour tour. Or charter this classic sloop for up to 4 hours for your private party with up to 12 people. The Friend Ship departs from her slip next to the ECHO Center at the foot of College Street in Burlington.
South Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
“Sailing on Lake Champlain on board " Friend Ship"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

What a beautiful time we had yesterday sailing on The Friend Ship! Took our family on the 3pm cruise. Great crew! We had some good laughs while enjoying the beautiful scenery. This is a must do if you are visiting Burlington Vermont! Will be doing it again soon....especially as the leaves start to change!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Owner at Whistling Man Schooner Company, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your cruise. It was fun having you on-board and I hope to see you again.

Thanks,
Capt. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    17
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jay, Vermont
1 review
“Moonlight Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is the only way to see Lake Champlain. Lots of laughs, fun conversation and the time passed on way too fast. We will definitely be sailing again with Captain Mike and his first mate (who did whistle while he worked - for a little while any way). Thank you to all the crew and the awesome sailing passengers aboard.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoseJack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nobody Even Whistled!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

After reading reviews, we thought this would be a great experience. Although it was a pretty day, there was little wind, so the trip was not much more than riding a motor boat around the area. The captain was not sociable at all...didn't even make introductions of himself and mate or the other people cruising. Didn't offer much info about the area until some of the participants started asking questions. Most of the time, he talked with one of the participants that owned a sailboat of his own and they talked "shop". What a waste of money!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dmaccat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Owner at Whistling Man Schooner Company, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I use all reviews and information to help improve our cruises. I'm sorry we didn't have any wind the day you went out with us, but some days the wind just doesn't blow enough on the lake to allow us to turn the motor off. Also I don't use a canned running commentary like the large tour boats do, as most guest wish to have a conversation either with me or among themselves and not be preached to. They like the informal atmosphere, like they are on a friends boat. But I will use your comments to help improve the experience on future sails.

Thanks,
Capt. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunset cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you are looking for something different to do outside this summer, try a cruise on the friendship. We met some friends for a sunset cruise, great time. We self provisioned and watched the other sailboats, islands and Burlington skyline go by. Sitting by the lake is great, but treat yourself and get out on it. Thanks to Captain Mike and crew

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ninkasi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun, Relaxing Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We've been vacationing in Vermont for the past 16 years, but only discovered the Whistling Man Schooner about six years ago. Now it is a mandatory part of our vacation. We've sailed at all times of the day and certainly the sunset cruise is most picturesque, but any time on Lake Champlain with the captain and crew is a good time. I can't recommend this experience highly enough!

Rich

Visited July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank foolishcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whistling Man Schooner Company also viewed

 

Been to Whistling Man Schooner Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing