We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantatic service and some of the BEST seafood I've had in Vermont.”
Review of Bluebird Tavern - CLOSED

Bluebird Tavern
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bank St, Burlington, VT
Transit: Located in the heart of downtown Burlington Bluebird Tavern can be accessed by CCTA bus services.
Description: At Bluebird Tavern our inventive New England Style cuisine is centered on farm fresh Vermont ingredients in a casual but elegant setting. Founded in 2009, Bluebird Tavern has been recognized by Bon Appetit Magazine, Food & Wine Magazine, and by the James Beard Foundation. Located in the heart of downtown Burlington, one block off of the Church St Marketplace, Bluebird Tavern offers a large bar area, open kitchen, chef's table, and an intimate dining room. Our cuisine is centered New England classics with a French and Italian influence. Fresh seafood straight from the docks in Boston, hand made pastas, and traditional tavern offerings such as our double burger are anchors of the Bluebird Tavern menu.
jericho, vt
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantatic service and some of the BEST seafood I've had in Vermont.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Everything was cooked perfectly. The waiter was fast, fun and efficient. The atmosphere is laid back in a classy way. I entertained business guests here and felt that it was the perfect choice for them. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank cindy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Bluebird Tavern, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Good evening Cindy,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed your seafood and that your server was so pleasant. It is always nice when a guest enjoys themselves enough to let others know about us. If you ever have any questions or comments for us please let me know. I can be reached at jim@bluebirdvermont.com or (802)825-1915.
Thank you again,
Jim Hsieh
General Manager
Bluebird Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    11
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious and unique”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a nice find in the city of Burlington. I hadn’t heard of the Bluebird Tavern but was referred there by the folks at the front desk of our hotel and we were very pleased. The food was perfectly prepared and the service was exceptional. The menu also has several unique items on it such as Mussels Ginger Beer and Poutine. Try this place out, it is great!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Bluebird Tavern, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello David,
Thank you so much for your positive review. It always means a lot to us when a guest enjoys their experience enough to write about us. It was very kind of your hotel to recommend us and I am so glad we lived up to their suggestion. Hopefully the next time you are in town we will see you again.
Thank you,
Jim Hsieh
General Manager
Bluebird Tavern
jim@bluebirdvermont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top 3 in Burlington, VT”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

With a son at UVM, we have come to know many restaurants in the area. BT has become one of our favorites. Just off the town square, it has a delightful, welcoming space and creative, delicious cuisine to match. An added bonus: our last two visits, we found it quieter than others right nearby...a plus for diners who want to share good conversation during their fine dining. Go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cycle-dad50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Bluebird Tavern, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi Cycle Dad,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate when guests enjoy their experience enough to let others know about us. I am glad that when you come to visit your son at UVM you choose to dine with us. If you ever have any questions or comments please feel free to contact me at jim@bluebirdvermont.com or call me directly at (802)825-1915.
Thank you again,
Jim Hsieh
General Manager
Bluebird Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Truly amazing food! We were so impressed with our meal and found the prices more than reasonable given the quality and creativity received. We ate like kings --- carrot soup, jar of pickles, fishmongers board, hand cut macaroni & flat iron steak. Fantastic! The fishmongers board & flat iron steak are an absolute must do! We hope to dine at the Bluebird Tavern again soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarraD9225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Bluebird Tavern, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi DarraD,
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your food and your service. It makes my day when guests think highly enough of our restaurant to write up a review like this. We hope to see you again soon.
Thank you,
Jim Hsieh
General Manager
Bluebird Tavern
jim@bluebirdvermont.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique cocktails”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

While we did not dine here, I was extremely impressed with our drink experience. We were a group of 4 and sat at the bar. Our bartender was phenomenal and served up tasty drinks that I do not expect to find anywhere else with charisma! Each of us ordered something different and each was delicious. The prices are a little higher than other establishments in Burlington, but you are receiving a u issue drink that has been made with lots of thought and care.

Helpful?
Thank Jmaek0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Bluebird Tavern, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Hi Jmaek0729,
Thank you so much for coming in for drinks. I'm glad to hear everything went so well. We are always happy to hear about our guest's experiences. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Thank you again,
Jim Hsieh
General Manager
Bluebird Tavern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebird Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing