We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
37
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio apartmentgreen thumboff street parkinglittle touchescarriage houseandreacerealguesthousefurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 41 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2009

My husband and I spent 3 nights here. We really liked the spacious apartment-style room, the lovely decor and the privacy. Andrea is very accommodating if you request her help, but leaves you alone if you don't.

As other reviewers mentioned, it is a little removed from downtown. However, the benefits of staying here far outweighed that minor disadvantage. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alj478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

I really can't find fault with this beautiful place to stay. We booked it because we're not into the total B&B lace/floral experience and prefer privacy, freedom of timings, and a lighter breakfast. It was ideal on all those counts. I should mention the standard of decor is extremely high (deserves to be a magazine feature, really) and more than one writer in the guest book seemed ready to move right in. I know how they felt - if my own home was this stylish I would be very pleased. Nothing we needed was missing. We found the walk to downtown for restaurants just fine, but in winter it might be less appealing. Don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pogmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

Both the accommodation and the place are simply breathtaking. The room, above a converted carriage barn, is exactly as the website shows. It is bright, airy and spotlessly clean. Andrea’s welcome was very friendly, but then we were left to enjoy the stay, but helped when we sought advice. It was so pleasant to have the space provided, with every comfort you are likely to need. You are limited in the choice of breakfast cereals provided, but we were more than happy to supplement this to our own taste and made use of the microwave for one evening meal when we had eaten out one time too many and needed a break.

We thoroughly recommend the accommodation and Burlington and as has been said before, if you can book it – do so!

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulClear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2006

We visited Burlington over Thanksgiving last year and stayed at the delightful Howard Street Guest House. Unlike a traditional B&B, you are responsible for your own breakfast and have total privacy (though proprietress Andrea is quite friendly and helpful and assisted us in selecting a place to have Thanksgiving dinner – Pauline’s Restaurant was excellent) – and that suited us just fine. The guest house is a studio apartment on the top floor of a carriage house. It is spacious and beautifully decorated, with a light and cheery motif. The polished wood floors, skylights, colorful area rugs and upbeat dishes and accessories made it feel like a very special retreat. It’s on a quiet residential street that is a very short drive from downtown. Burlington, besides being a lively and lovely destination on its own, is also an excellent base for exploring – we got to the Vermont Teddy Bear Company, Ben & Jerry’s, Cabot Cheese Factory, Cold Hollow Cider Mill, Magic Hat Brewery. There is so much to do in the Burlington area, and I can’t imagine a more pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank VOYJEAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2006

We stayed in this B & B while visiting Burlinton for the marathon. Very private with many special details. Off the beaten path but well worth it!

Stayed: May 2005
Thank ani725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews