We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Place in a Nice town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Nice Place in a Nice town”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights here in June. We arrived without a reservation (during the week) and were greeted at the front door by a very friendly, helpful, person. Fortunately for us, there were quite a few rooms available. She kindly took the time to show each room and give the price for us to better determine our choice.

The Inn is a wonderfully big house (although it has always been an Inn). The interior is one that you would except - grand staircase, dark wood paneling, etc. We decided upon a room on the 2nd floor (facing the street). It was a generous size room and though facing the street was quiet. The bathroom was just fine too.

The grounds are quiet ample and there is a small balcony off of the sunroom (where breakfast is served) to enjoy the view.

The only thing that was a bit strange was that they ask you to sign up for breakfast - not sure why - but the breakfast was good as well.

The Inn is within walking distance of downtown (about 15-20 mins.) and close driving distance to many things in the area.

All in all a very pleasant stay with very nice people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysgoneFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    50
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
300
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St-Lazare
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was our 4th stay at the inn, and once again it was perfect! The location is ideal for walking down to Church Street but far enough away to enjoy the peaceful neighbourhood. The breakfast selections are amazing, local ingredients, freshness, mmmmm.
We stayed one night in the Rose Garden room (3rd floor) and one night in the conservatory room, both rooms were spacious and perfect. It was a pleasure to meet the owner. They do an amazing job with the Inn!
thank you and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed one night in Vermont, this is a lovely place. Beautifully restored bed and breakfast. Great breakfast next morning, room was wonderful, beautiful gardens. The owner, made us feel very welcome. Would stay again on next trip to Vermont.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We sent two nights in the Conservatory on the first floor. It was quite spacious with three large windows and two exposures, facing the street. At the time of booking, I had some concern about its first floor location near the front door and public rooms. We never heard anyone coming or going or talking inside or outside the inn. It was quiet, and we had the windows open.
When we checked in, Nina was at the desk. She was very friendly,personable,obliging, and knowledgeable. More to follow about the rest of the staff.
The house and gardens are beautiful, especially the breakfast room that overlooks the gardens. Glimpses of the distant lake can be viewed through the trees.
There were three choices for breakfast, and we enjoyed the fresh daily cookies placed near the lemonade and Keurig. We were allowed to use a small refrigerator and microwave in kitchen, and they came in handy with left overs and storing My Diet Coke. There was 24 hour access.
The room was well appointed with a four poster king size bed and there were two large comfortable leather chairs in front of a gas fireplace. There was a ceiling fan to circulate air. The furniture was somewhat awkwardly placed. You could ony watch the (very small) flat screen TV from the bed, not the chairs. The bathroom was fine, but there's only a shower, so if you require a soaking tub, this is not the room for you.
The Inn's location was good for us because we enjoyed the ten minute walk into the restaurant/shop area and the University of Vermont.
Wth the exception of Nina, we felt no connection with any staff member nor did we see the manager or owner. The rest of the staff seemed very young and took care of our immediate needs at breakfast, however, there was no conversation or any rapport. This is something that we have come to anticipate and expect from a B & B. None of the guests spoke to each other which is usually not the case in a B & B. For this reason, I have rated Willard Street Inn with four stars instead of five. I would still recommend the room and the Inn to other travelers.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our check-in was smooth and efficient, made easier by the fact that the room had been prepaid some weeks before. Our room (Nantucket) overlooked the front door and was a little noisy if people were talking outside. The room was spacious and comfortable and the Inn provided lots of hot water when needed (So often in the mornings smaller establishments cannot cope with multiple showers/baths, etc.). Breakfast required that you signed up for a time slot the previous evening and only allowed 30 mins per party. By the 9 am slot we had booked came around we were only able to sit down by 9.25. This is the reason for 'Very Good' instead of 'Excellent'. Setting expectations that cannot be met spoiled an otherwise great stay. On demand cookies, fruit and lemonade were a treat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldT001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Wow, this is quite a B&B in Vermont, the house is really nice, the garden are amazing, it is located at a walkable (10-15 min walk) distance from downtown Burlington. The staff is great, the breakfast are really good, it is a perfect place for a romantic getaway. I will definitly get back someday to this great place!

Room Tip: Room #11 was great, it is quite large, very quiet with a private bathroom, located on the last level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We selected this Inn having researched through Tripadviser. We wanted a different experience to the larger more formal hotels we generally stay in.
On arrival we were very impressed with the building and the setting and the welcome we received.
We had booked the Victorian Cabernet and Cobblestones room. My wife and I stayed in the Victorian Cabernet and my daughter and son in law, the Cobblestones. Both rooms were delightful.
The public spaces were well equipped and light and airy. Coffee, Tea, soft drinks, home made cakes, biscuits were freely available at all times.
The conservatory was an excellent space for sitting and for breakfast.
Much was made of the breakfast options which generally included either granola, yogurt and fresh fruit, a savoury option or pancakes/waffles. It all looked very special. Our one issue was that my wife is gluten/wheat intolerant and my daughter was 25 weeks pregnant. For my wife we did travel with her own wheat free granola and, once mentioned the following morning a wheat free bagel was made available. The next morning this was not offered. Because my daughter was pregnant she did ask specifically that the poached egg was cooked through and it wasn't so she was unable to eat it. Because of this for the following two mornings we all opted for granola, fruit and toast. It just seemed because we wanted something different it was hard to accommodate. Indeed, on the last morning it took over 30 minutes for the breakfast to be brought to us and it seemed as if there was a shortage of fruit.
This was such a shame because in all other instances the stay was excellent.
Would we return? I'm not sure to be honest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillardStInnkeeper, Owner at The Willard Street Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
On behalf of all the Innkeepers and staff I would like to apologize if we did not meet the expectations of you and your family. Here at the Inn we continuously strive to improve our guest experience and one of the ways in which we do so is by listening to guests’ feedback. A large component of the experience offered at the Inn is provided through our breakfasts and many efforts are made to accommodate dietary requirements and preferences. As gluten intolerance is becoming much more common we do make available appropriate options upon request. We kindly request that any dietary issues be mentioned at the time of booking or at the very latest upon check-in to provide time to accommodate. With regards to the poached egg, I have spoken with our Chef about that specific order and you have our sincere apologies for any confusion that occurred between our Solarium breakfast room and kitchen. Hopefully, if you so choose to stay with us again, we will be able to accommodate your requests and exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
730 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Property: The Willard Street Inn
Address: 349 S Willard St, Burlington, VT 05401-3910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing