We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Inn, View of Lake Champlain, Great Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable Inn, View of Lake Champlain, Great Breakfast”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Willard Street Inn has been my favorite stopover on trips to northern NY State. I've stayed in the Tower Room, with a view of Lake Champlain. This is a refurbished mansion--with rich dark woods and spacious hallways. A delicious breakfast is served in a many-windowed room that overlooks the mansion's gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonrose98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    50
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
299
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I have traveled multiple times each year to Burlington the past four years as our daughter pursued her education at UVM. We have stayed in a number of the hotels and B&Bs in the area and we Strongly believe the Willard Street Inn is best in class. Great location close to both downtown and campus, interesting and meticulously cleaned rooms, delicious breakfast fare...and just great service. The only limitation is that it is not an ideal setting for families with young kids. Otherwise, it is the best place to stay in Burlington.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rgsmsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in December. The B&B is charming and in a fantastic location! The ladies at the front desk were helpful and they tried to be accommodating to our dietary requirements. We stayed in room #6 which was very nice, the only drawback was that our private bathroom was located outside across from our room. Overal the B&B was lovely and we would probably stay there again, just maybe in another one of their amazing rooms!

Room Tip: I'm sure that all the rooms are amazing. Room #6 is great, however the private bathroom is outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi0086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've been to Burlington before but never stayed at a B/B. While visiting our youngest children, we took advantage of a special they were running and booked a stay of 3 nights. While it might be within walking distance of church street and shopping, that would be the warm weather and even then a bit of a hike I think. But back to the Inn - - a GORGEOUS old home built in the 1880's, well kept and refurbished, yet still maintains that old charm. Staff were VERY welcoming and helpful. Anything you needed, you just had to ask. THe front desk is manned from 7:30 to 9pm...quite a luxury. The breakfast room was lovely and decorated for the holidays. The side dining room had round the clock coffee, hot chocolate, tea, cookies, and the kitchen had a fridge for any itmes you might need to put there. We happened to stay in the Nantucket room..one of the largest. We really didn't need one that large but oh what a treat. Any of the other rooms that were not being used were set up and avaailable for a look see as long as you didn't go into the room. I checked out as many as I could (:))) and loved everyone I saw. Some were smaller but still plenty of room and cozy. The rooms at the back of the house overlook Lake Champlain...lovely!! Breakfast food was a choice of three items..always an egg dish and always a fruit / granola dish. What can I say? Delicious!! THere was a charge if you were having guests for breakfast, but a reasonable price and it was nice to have my children join us for one of the mornings. I've always found that I rarely "hang out" in the living room of a B/B when I travel and always have missed that. but not this time. It was freezing in burlington the days we were there and while we did do things, it was nice for us and our children to hang out by the fireplace sipping cocoa, coffee and tea. I would HIGHLY recommend this Inn if you are visiting the area. Nicely located and even if you just stay in the Inn all day - - Wonderful!

Room Tip: You do not need the biggest room. All are great. The only two that did not appeal to me were the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynHyannis_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
varese
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The b&b is very comfortable and charming, the building is a traditional new england construction, very well decorated.
The furniture of the room are very nice. Rooms and common spaces are clean

breakfast is really outstanding, same as the breakfast room.

there are three things that doesn't make excellent our stay: it's a little bit expensive, to go in the city centre it's not so near and the building doesn't have the elevator

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PietroVarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife & I really enjoyed our stay here in Oct 2012. On arrival we were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. Our room (9) on the top floor was a good size, clean and very comfortable. Breakfasts were very good and offered a choice of 3 options and the cookies on offer with the day long coffee were really good too.

The Inn is an easy 20 mins walk from downtown Burlington so it's possible to leave the car in the car park and explore the town, go for meals etc.

We would like to return to Burlington at some stage and would certainly return to this Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The inn is very nice, well appointed and the innkeepers are friendly. They were happy to offer suggestions for day trips, alternative routes, etc. The inn is conveniently located to Church Street, though it's a bit of a hike to get there by foot.

The breakfasts are outstanding. Each morning you're served fresh baked scones and some type of sweet bread. On top of that, you have three breakfast options to choose from, made fresh for you after ordering.

Vermont is beautiful and I highly recommend a visit here. I traveled to the nearby towns of Stowe and Middlebury and the scenery is amazing on both routes. Both places worth visiting.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank righteousbabe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
728 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
604 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn...
#3 of 12 in South Burlington
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Property: The Willard Street Inn
Address: 349 S Willard St, Burlington, VT 05401-3910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing