We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in charming Vermont!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The inn is very nice, well appointed and the innkeepers are friendly. They were happy to offer suggestions for day trips, alternative routes, etc. The inn is conveniently located to Church Street, though it's a bit of a hike to get there by foot.

The breakfasts are outstanding. Each morning you're served fresh baked scones and some type of sweet bread. On top of that, you have three breakfast options to choose from, made fresh for you after ordering.

Vermont is beautiful and I highly recommend a visit here. I traveled to the nearby towns of Stowe and Middlebury and the scenery is amazing on both routes. Both places worth visiting.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank righteousbabe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for The Willard Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 461 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Great stay at the inn! Quiet and comfortable. A bit far to walk at night into town in the cold. Frittata was not the greatest but eggs Benedict were perfect the day before. Used living room to have wine with cheese and crackers before a dinner out in Burlington. Very nice hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordanna8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I recently stayed at the Willard Street Inn for a weekend for a girl's weekend. We stayed in Adirondack room 14 which is the only room with two double beds. The room was small and cozy but well appointed. The beds were VERY comfortable and the bathroom looked recently redone. The breakfast everyday was delicious, they have a sweet option, an egg option and an house-made granola. The Inn itself is lovely and very comfortable. Hot beverages are available all day as well well as homemade treats. The innkeepers are extremely helpful providing suggestions of things to do and where to go. The inn is a short walk to the University and downtown as well. I would highly recommend this location to couples or friends looking for an easy get-a-way.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Willard Street Inn is a quiet refuge in a bustling college town. Breakfasts in the bright, solarium were delicious. The view of Lake Champlain while eating is an added benefit. As it was November, we opted for the Conservatory Room on the first floor rather than a view of the lake, because of its gas fireplace. It was a good, toasty choice. The staff was friendly and accomodating.

The inn is within a 15 to 20 minute walk from the pedestrian friendly Church Stree Marketplace. Just note the trip back is a vigorous incline. For food, Leunig's is an atmospheric French bistro - recommended. If you are up for an adventure try Duino's. It's eclectic Ethiopian food and high energy was fun. Just note, we dropped the demograpic down a few decades.

The Willard Street is well worth the visit and price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay recently and were proud to introduce friends from the Bay Area to a place we liked so much. We actually live in Vermont with relatives in Burlington and stay here from time to time because it is beautiful, comfortable, very friendly, and the breakfasts are stupendous. The location is perfect-- the hill district, great for walking, and convenient to town. Many rooms have lake views. The sun room where breakfast is served makes you want to live there.

Room Tip: Check out the web site with room descriptions. They're very accurate. West side rooms have a lak...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Vermont-travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful! All wonderful, from the Inn to the service. Rooms are terrific and equipped with all comfort. Care to all details. Personnel helpful and kind. Breakfasts are homemade and extraordinary! We've felt at home, a splendid home!
Paola & Lorenzo

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonardoViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Such a lovely B&B! They have great breakfasts. Wonderful hosts, a beautiful garden. Must stay here when you're in Burlington! Short drive to the town center, and other sights like Ben & Jerry's Factory, Lake Champlain, Von Trapp Family Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
763 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
0.8 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,600 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Address: 349 S Willard St, Burlington, VT 05401-3910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range: $150 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing