We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all-around B&B in Burlington”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great all-around B&B in Burlington”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband and i just stayed in Room #10 (Suite Larkin) for 2 nights and I highly recommend this inn. Once we parked our car, we didn't get in it again for almost 48 hours! The inn is conveniently located to downtown Burlington and the waterfront. We strolled down to the Church Street Marketplace area for dinner each night (Leunigs one night and the Farm House the next). We rented bikes at Local Motion on the bike path which we highly recommend. during the four hour rental, we biked most of the bike path, heading out to the causeway, then completed most of the "City Path" which surprisingly and pleasantly took us through the woods (in Ethan Allen Park) and through beautiful fields before coming into the UVM campus. We locked them up downtown and had a wonderful lunch of beer and pizza at American Flatbread. The inn was extremely quiet and our room was HUGE. The breakfasts each morning were filling and yummy - there was a choice of three dishes each morning. This is not a B&B where you ever see the owners (at least we didn't), but that didn't detract from our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    53
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
315
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We went to The Willard Inn for a short stay in Burlington. I had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and they were all right! We stayed in Lindsay's Loft (#15). It is a smallish room on the third floor, but very comfortable with plenty of light and your own private bathroom. The shower was very small, but was fine. The house itself is gorgeous and I loved the gardens out back. We were able to walk into town for dinner/activities during our stay. We got great advice on hikes in the area and were given helpful maps. I would highly recommend this place to any of my friends!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Where_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I could not have asked for a more enjoyable experience than we had during our brief stay at the Willard Street Inn!! I would HIGHLY recommend staying here if you are going to be in the Burlington area. We stayed in Lindsey's Loft room, which was clean, comfortable, and plenty spacious for the one evening we were able to spend there. Breakfast in the spacious, well lit dining area overlooking a beautiful garden in the back was a highlight. And the food was top notch! We are already planning a trip back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megn2music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have tried in the past to get our family into The Willard Street Inn with no luck. Either they were full or we only needed a room/rooms for one night. (The Inn has a 2 night minimum.) I was so excited to finally be able to book the last room The Larkin Suite (Room 10) for my husband, daughter and myself during the very busy 3rd/4th of July holiday. After a long drive we were warmly welcomed and given a quick tour of the downstairs and explained the breakfast seatings. A dining room with coffee, tea, lemonade and cookies was available to help yourself. A downstairs refrigerator was available for guests to store food/drinks or refreeze ice packs for picnics or on the road snacks/meals. It was a spacious (well air conditioned) king bedded suite with a conjoined sitting room and comfy daybed. A small flat screen TV was in the sitting room for my daughter to enjoy, while my husband and I enjoyed relaxing on the super comfy bed with wireless service for our laptops. (There is also a public computer available on the first floor.)The bathroom was quirky yet charming with a slipper tub and small shower. Towels plushy and robes befitting a high end spa. An added bonus was that the city of Burlington celebrates the holiday with fireworks on the 3rd of July on Lake Champlain. We were too exhausted from traveling all day to attend the fireworks, but were able to enjoy them from the air conditioned comfort our room. It's a relatively quiet street so we all had a great nights sleep. We loved the red, white and blue waffles served with fresh fruit 4th of July morning. 2 other options were available, in addition to coffee, juice and a basket of breads and muffins. Took a picnic lunch to North Beach and decided after 3 hours the hotel/room was a much more comfortable option to relax. The Inn is situated within walking distance to a variety of wonderful restaurants. Our other daughter just moved off campus from UVM and the inn is also within walking distance to her apt. Looking forward to returning to the Willard Street Inn in the near future and highly reccommend this inn to all.

Room Tip: Larkin Suite (room 10) has a partial view of Lake Champlain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGoose58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just spent 3 days at The Willard Street Inn! The grounds are amazing, the house is gorgeous, the solarium for breakfast is beautiful and the rooms are lovely as well. My husband and I were not at all impressed with the breakfast, however, which was a bummer. We tried each different kind: eggs/savory, sweet (pancakes, waffles, french toast), and their yogurt and granola. The eggs were not prepared well, the granola was much too sweet and the others were just okay. We were also surprised by the showers in the rooms-- gorgeous old rooms with impecable detail and that perfect country feel, but with plastic showers... seemed quite out of place. I think it would be a great investment to put in nicer showers with tile. We stayed in Rose Garden (a room on the third floor) one of the nights and the shower was TINY. I am 5 feet tall and thin and it was hard to move around that shower stall even for me! I can't imagine what it would be like for an average sized american.
Overall, our stay was really great and the service was wonderful... just a few things that I think could be improved upon.
The location is fantastic as well!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynDeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Willard St Inn Burlington was the 23rd stop on our 2 month US roadtrip. When we pulled up out the front of the amazing building we thought we were at the wrong place, we couldn’t believe how beautiful it was! We were so excited to be staying somewhere with some character after 7 weeks of cookie-cutter style hotels!

Check in was fast and easy and we were shown to our room on the second floor, Champlain Lookout. Wow! The first thing we noticed was the beautiful four poster canopy bed and the sitting area by the bay window. This room also has a private bathroom with shower and bath. After our previous hectic weeks, we could not have asked for a more perfect spot to truly relax and enjoy our surroundings. Having rooms above us we were concerned about noise but needn’t have worried, things were very peaceful and quiet!

Each day when we returned to the Inn we were greeted by the smell of freshly baked cookies. The lemonade and coffee machine available to all guests was a nice touch. As others have noted, the breakfasts are the best we have come across and the two selections available each day were fresh and delicious. It’s also a nice chance to have a chat to other guests.

The Inn itself is beautiful, the gardens and sunroom are lovely spots to relax. There are games and books available for guest to make use of and we had no problems at all with the wifi.

We had a car so the distance from town did not bother us but the Inn is situated a little on the outskirts. Staff were all friendly and unobtrusive.

All in all we LOVED our stay at the Willard St Inn. It was one of our most memorable stays and we really hope to come back some day and enjoy all Burlington has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenWBendigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nestled in the midst of a small college, this inn was quite the respite. We booked the Woodhouse Suite (room #8) which had a queen bed, love seat, nook with two chairs and a table. Since this room was a corner room, we had a great view of the beautiful garden in the back, and plenty of windows to make it a bright, cheery room. We were on the second of the three floors (note: there is no elevator). We were within walking distance of Church Street, a pedestrian-only area where there are many shops and restaurants (see my review of Leunig’s Bistro – very average!)

We were given a quick tour upon arrival – the solarium is where breakfast would be served (you need to sign up for a time; only 4 rooms can sign up at a time for 8:00, 8:30, 9:00 and 9:30). Lemonade and cookies were available in the afternoon and the hot beverage area was available 24 hours. Guests also have use of a refrigerator and microwave in the kitchen. The free wi-fi was pretty fast. The information book in the room is very informative, listing local restaurants, shops, museums, parks, etc. within walking distance and a short drive, instructions on how to use the ceiling fan, tv, fireplace and A/C. Our room had a shower for two and each had a double shower head. The only con was that we ran out of hot water.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious – it changes daily but we had fantastic French Toast with Vermont Maple Syrup (served cold which was interesting) and fresh fruit.

Definitely a great place to stay in this area!

Room Tip: There is no elevator. A room facing the back overlooks the absolutely gorgeous garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
0.8 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,570 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Property: The Willard Street Inn
Address: 349 S Willard St, Burlington, VT 05401-3910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing