We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, historic, if not slightly pricey”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Willard Street Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Burlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
jamestown, NY
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming, historic, if not slightly pricey”
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We stayed in this Bed and Breakfast in October 07. The Mansion is large, very clean, and comfortable. It is located on the outskirts of Burlington, which makes walking into town a little difficult, but parking is ample and free in some spots. We stayed in the Tower Room, which likely has the best view of Lake Champlain, and has a private bath located across the hall. I believe every other room has an in-room bathroom. The Innkeepers are friendly, and make an attempt to chat with each guest at breakfast. It is the largest Inn in Burlington, and also priced slightly high compared to some of the others. For us, the expense would not allow a prolonged stay, but would definately recommend trying the Willard St. Inn for at least one night. Although pleasant, Burlington may not offer enough attractions to keep your interest more than a couple of days anyway. It is a college town, and often the night life consists of locals who are questionably welcoming. Overall, this is a well kept, professional, large B and B located in a relatively pleasant college town. I'd give it a B.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — price, location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NeuroTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    51
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
308
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Stayed two nights at the Inn. It is as wonderful as all the reviews say. Each room is charming in its own way (the lady was kind enough to let us peek in the vacant rooms during the morning cleaning). We stayed in the Adirondack, which had a stunning view of Lake Champlain out of the double windows. My aunt stayed in the Champlain, a very spacious room and bath. Two armchairs overlook the lake and garden. #9 was a girly room with a cute sink tucked away in the bath. Try to get a room on the lake side of the inn to take advantage of distant yet wonderful views.

Take time to enjoy the house while you’re there. We lingered in the sunny solarium after breakfast to finish our coffee and leaf through the Inn’s scrapbooks filled with all articles about Burlington and its attractions. No need to buy a Fodor’s book; just browse their extensive Vermont travel book collection for activity ideas.

In the afternoon we relaxed by the fire in the parlor and helped ourselves to tea and cookies after a pleasant day of shopping. There are many books to enjoy from Life Magazine picture books to novels.

The breakfasts were delectable! There was a choice of three each day. First day was an omelet with smoked gouda, mushrooms, and leeks served with crusty bread and a lot of perfectly ripe fresh fruit. Day two featured scrambled eggs with feta and broccoli. Enjoyed the basket of fresh-baked scones and muffins, too. In fact, the smell of the pumpkin bread wafted into my room and gently woke me up in the morning.

The staff was super helpful in recommending the Oasis Day Spa. They also found a medical supply rental company to provide a wheelchair as one of the ladies in our group broke her ankle just prior to our trip.

We rented a car at very reasonable rate at the airport. Glad to have an advance reservation b/c they were sold out when we arrived. Had wonderful meals at Trattoria Delia and Leunigs. The tasting menu at the latter was out of this world!

The Willard Street Inn was the perfect home base for our October ladies spa weekend. They deserve every rave review you’ve read here at Trip Advisor.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Go Jenny Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

My sister and I recently stayed at the Inn and loved it. The staff is very attentive and helpful (they helped us with directions each day and recommendations for restaurants). The breakfasts each morning are out of this world!! The Inn is a beautiful, cozy place with a lovely garden. We would definitely return to Burlington and the Willard Street Inn.

  • Liked — cozy old inn
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherik08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Totally agree with all the positive reviews for this place. Room was excellent. Breakfast is served in a lovely conservatory overlooking the garden. Although it proved too 'American' for our tastes they were more than willing to provide plainer food for those who did not want scones, sweet waffles etc for breakfast. The extra touches were wonderful - home made biscuits and mints in the rooms; coffee, tea and cold lemonade plus biscuits and cakes available all day long. Free internet access by the reception desk.
The innkeepers and staff were happy to recommend good restaurants and book them for us. I would advise a car to get downtown if you are going as far as the waterfront in the evening, it's a good mile walk up some pretty steep hills coming back, but otherwise the city is easily accessible by foot from the Inn.
Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Liked — Extras like coffee and lemonade available all day long
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was virtually perfect
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank David9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

This was my first stay at the Willard Street Inn, and I must say that it was a wonderful experience. The Inn is lovely, our room was very comfortable, and the innkeeper and staff were very personable. Breakfast was great, and I have never had such delicious scones. It is ideally located, and the treats provided in your room and in the dining room are a bonus.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank about222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2007

The Willard Street Inn is beautiful. . The Inn is immaculately clean, lovely amenities, the staff warm and professional, and the breakfasts wonderful. The chef worked in New Orleans before coming to the Inn and was well trained.
The neighborhood is quiet and you can walk down to all the sights and restaurants in Burlington. No car is necessary. (However remember its uphill coming back---good way to walk off some calories). Highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcbeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chew Moor, Bolton, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

The Willard Street Inn is a perfect B&B and fully justifies all the positive reviews.

The room was small but had everything you'd need - the cookies in the room every day were a nice touch and if you've eat those in your room there are always more available downstairs.

The breakfasts are different but very nice. Scones of some kind for "starters" followed by a choice of 3 "main" courses. Certainly plenty to keep one going to lunch time if not later!

The inn is in a pleasant residential location, about 10-15 minutes walk into town. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in Burlington and it's a very pleasant place to stroll around.

There is a path along the lake shore with swing seats - great to just watch the world go by. Make sure you watch the sun go down over the lake - great for photographs!

If you want to stay in Burlington I don't think anywhere will better the Willard Street Inn.

  • Liked — Breakfast & Cookies
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MichaelC1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
Sheraton Burlington Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burlington
636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 8 in Burlington
741 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Burlington Harbor
0.8 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 8 in Burlington
1,540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in South Burlington
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Willard Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Willard Street Inn

Property: The Willard Street Inn
Address: 349 S Willard St, Burlington, VT 05401-3910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Burlington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Willard Street Inn is a historic 1881, Victorian mansion nestled within Burlington, Vermont's picturesque hill district. Offering 14-individually appointed rooms with private baths, views of Lake Champlain & Adirondacks, English Gardens, free Wi-Fi, and gourmet breakfasts in our marble-floored solarium. Walkable to downtown, waterfront, colleges. Come experience the service of yesteryear with the amenities of today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Willard Street Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing