We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay, but Just Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Pond House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Brownsville B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed at the Pond House for 2 nights. It is a small inn, however, our room was quite large. It was clean and well stocked. For the amount of money that we paid, however there was a 'just enough 'approach to most things. The heat was turned on in the evening and turned off at night, making it very cold and uncomfortable. Breakfast was only hot and served on the weekend because the innkeeper has a job during the week. This was very disappointing to my son who really enjoyed the pancakes on Sunday and was hoping to see them again on Monday. The breakfast on Sunday was tasty, but again just enough. There are no offers for seconds or extra of anything. Also, it is only served at one time and if you miss it- too bad. As the innkeeper is very busy, there isn't that much that you can talk and ask her about things to do in the area. If she is there, she is helpful, but she won't make calls or had you information. Whe will point you in a direction, and then you have to run with it. It is a one person shop, so there is no one else to help. All in all, we had a fine stay, but don't expect any frills or great service.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoAmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2009

We have just returned from a trip to the NE. Unfortunately, the weather was grey and rainy but, in spite of that, we especially enjoyed our stay at The Pond House Inn in Brownsville, Vermont.

The inn is small with three guest rooms. Our room was large and beautifully appointed with an oversized marble shower, thick fluffy towels, feather beds and two comfy reading chairs. They even had wireless and an iPod dock. We had our laptop with us and took advantage of the great inventory of DVDs offered by Gretel, the owner.

Even though it was August, the mornings were wet and chilly. Gretel prepared a wood fire in the dining room and lit candles to cheer and warm us.

Cooking at The Pond House is straightforward and wonderful. One rainy morning, while we enjoyed ourselves by the fireplace, Gretel prepared an Orange French Toast. It was, by far, the best French toast we have ever had. It came with locally smoked bacon, organic yogurt with fresh peaches and blueberries and freshly ground coffee.

We met other guests at the inn who had brought their horses because Gretel can provide stabling. It’s a lovely idea.

In better weather the property has Adirondack chairs, a patio with one of the best country-side views we know, and a spring fed pond that is very inviting on a warm summer day.

This was our third visit and each time we have been delighted with the location, the accommodations, the food and the hospitality. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbercaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

We recently stayed at the PH Inn in February, and had a pretty good experience. Keep in mind that this was in the middle of winter, and a number of comments will not apply to other seasons. However, for our stay, there were some great things, as well as some serious problems that limited our enjoyment of the long weekend.

Hospitality: We thoroughly enjoyed our interactions with the proprietress, Gretel. She is very intelligent, and had some great insights and opinions on current events. Easy to talk to, and was a wealth of knowledge on local events/restaurants/locations. We brought our 50 pound dog, who was very welcomed by Gretel.

Food: Breakfast was basic, but good. Pancakes, nuts with yogurt, fruit, OJ and coffee on the weekends. Missed out on waffles one morning. The owner holds a separate job during the school week, so only yogurt and fruit and fluids are available on weekdays. The dinner option on Saturdays is pretty good for $50 (for 2 people). Three courses, satisfying, basic home-cooking. Wine and cheeses available in afternoons for separate fee.

Accomodations: This is where we had our biggest problems. In Feb, Vermont is surprisingly cold. However, the radiator was only on for a short amount of time, even with us turning up the controls all the way. It heats up around breakfast time (8am-9am) and supper time (6-8pm), but was otherwise off. I understand that this probably saves a tremendous amount of money, especially if people are out of the inn during the day. Unfortunately, this meant that nights and morning showers are bitterly cold. There is a convenient thermometer by the door, which registered 50-55 degrees overnight and when we woke up. Our poor short-haired dog couldn't sleep because he was shivering too much. We slept by wearing sweaters to bed and throwing on extra blankets. Again, this was only during the winter, and I'm sure the other seasons will bring a different experience. The room itself (we had the pink room upstairs) was very roomy and spacious, but with some dated and threadbare furniture. Excellent reading materials though (including books and current magazines), both in the room and downstairs by the wood-burning stove. There are NO closets, so things to be hung went on hooks attached to the doors. There are plenty of dressers. The bathroom was large as well, with a large glass enclosed shower. Water pressure was average, but the water was satisfyingly hot. We never ran out of hot water while we were there.

Extras: The room did not come with any shampoo/conditioner, so be sure to bring your own. There is a bar of soap provided. No hairdryers. No TV. IPod docks on the alarm clocks, which was fantastic!! Could not test the wireless internet, as it was down the weekend we were there (2/19-22). The location of the inn is fantastic. While it is very isolated by itself, some great towns were accessible within a 15 minute drive. A moderately sized ski resort, Ascutney Mountain, is about 10 minutes away, which made it quite convenient.

Overall, the value was pretty good, given the location of this B&B. Again, hopefully with a different season, the experience would be better.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hattrick1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We were touring New England and stayed here for a few days. We were really comfortable here, breakfasts were good and the dinner we had was excellent, as was the wine! Gretel was very helpful and gave us good advice re eating out and places to visit.

The situation was peaceful, set in beautfiul countryside.

Advice - take Gretel's advice re directions!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Margaret058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

I stayed at the Pond House this past winter while visiting the Woodstock area for the weekend. Overall, it was a pleasant stay in a good location - near skiing and other things to do. The decor was charming and very New England. The room was spacious and stocked with interesting reading materials. The bed was comfy with fresh linens. The innkeeper is a great cook with delicious homemade meals - breakfast, and dinner on Sat. nights by reservations.

There is some room for improvement at the inn. While the food was good, portions were small for your average man. There didn't seem to be any flexibility here either.

Also, access to the inn can be a bit tricky in bad weather. It is located on a steep dirt road. When we arrived, both the driveway and the sidewalk to enter the house were quite icey. We felt the inn keeper was not very sensitive to guests trying to manuever with luggage. We would have appreciated some warning about the road and salt at the entrances.

Additionally, payment must be in cash or check, including a deposit. It's a small place, so understandable, but can be inconvenient to some guests. The price is good for the area, so this can be overlooked.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay, but I probably wouldn't go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SouthEndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pond House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pond House Bed and Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 234, Brownsville, VT 05037-0234
Location: United States > Vermont > Brownsville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Brownsville
Price Range: $162 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pond House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Pond House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing