We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing experience and great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Was there with friends for the week beginning Dec 1 , 2012 . Everything from the immaculate and large unit to the friendly staff always with a smile . The views of the countryside and the now closed ski area picturesque . They have a great full size indoor pool and great exercise room . An outside seasonal pool . While there two desk staff Emily and Christina were always very friendly and accomodating. Also had to call there maintenance staff for a couple minor questions and they were promp . If you wand to relax and use your accomodation for that this is the place but they have lots to offer within short drives such as covered bridges , Harpoon
Brewery , Woodstock VT and so many other points of interest within a short drive . I highly reccomend this resort .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alpinejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We certainly appreciate it. We are always so happy when guests with their friends are visiting and have the ability to enjoy the resort and the surrounding area. I will be sure to pass on you kind words to our Front Desk and Maintenance staff. They are always so appreciative to hear they are making an impact.

I hope you'll have the ability to visit us again in the future. In the meantime, have a very Happy Holiday season and safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 374 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had a terrific experience at this hotel. It is a very comfortable, warm place. I was on business for just one night and wish I'd been able to stay longer. The hotel is very updated and modern while maintaining a ski lodge mountain type of atmosphere. My room was a 2 bedroom 2 bath villa with kitchen, living area, balcony and fireplace.

Staff was friendly and helpful, the restaurant was welcoming with good microbrews and the fitness center was a highlight. The fitness center is huge with a full weight room, cardio room, racquetball courts and pool. The highlight really is that they offer complimentary classes throughout the day. I checked in just in time to go to a spinning/strength class.

I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timalnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We are all so happy you enjoyed your visit. I share your comments with the rest of my staff and they will be thrilled to see they made a difference. We will certainly look forward to your visit in the future. Take Care and happy traveling, AMY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

As an Orange Lake (Florida)Timeshare owner, I have been spoiled with top of the line amenties, beautiful grounds, golf courses, numerous restaurants, and activities. This property is very modest. Notwithstanding, the unit was exceptionally large and their fitness center and heated indoor pool were very good. If you are looking for a good not great Vermont vacation then this property would meet average expectations. The location was not bad with shopping, restaurants, and activities as close as 15 minutes away in Windsor or many more choices within the hour. Only bad note was that the mattress were uncomfortable and likely of lesser standard than other Holiday Inn properties. Otherwise, the remaining timeshare items including furniture, bathrooms, and kitchen equipment were nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blueangel1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. Yes, unlike our sister property in Orlando, our amenities are limited. I was happy to see that you enjoyed the local attractions. I will certainly share your comments with my staff. You comments help us to do all we can to meet the expectations of our guests and owners.

I hope you may have the chance to visit us again in the future. We are always looking for new ways to enhance the resort and experiences for our guests. Until then, take care and Happy Trraveling, AMY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I love the small towns in this area. Sidewalks roll up at night so don't expect an exciting nightlife here. This is VT not NYC. Had the one bedroom villa. Villa area very spacious but bedroom and bathroom are very small. Lots of stairs. Even on "ground" (2nd?) floor. Laundry room, pond, trails, all very nice. Staff SO friendly! Stayed 4 nights this time. Previously had week long 3 bedrooms. Grew up next door so familiar with the area. I absolutely love "running the roads" as we would call it. Beautiful vistas! Live in FL now so the cool weather and turning foliage were very nice. Lots to do (for the country) lots to see. When you come to Vermont, leave the city behind and enjoy what VT is really known for. Foliage? Mountains? No! It's friendly people!! They're top notch and trustworthy.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for the lovely comments. Yes, you are right, Vermont is well know for it's autumn foliage and quiet, small, cozy towns. I do agree that our friendly staff help to make all that seem even more charming. We take great pride in helping you enjoy your visit. I hope you will have the chance to visit us again. Until then, take care and Happy Traveling, AMY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely place during a family vacation (5 people). The resort is very convenient, We had a vila with two floors - 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, at the first floor there is a nice big living room with fully equipped kitchen. At the first night we had been at Browns tavern which is the only resturant at the site - it was a bad experience - we stayed more than 10 min. waiting to be seeted, until we got in and sitted by ourself, there was only 1 waiter for the whole place who was also the barmen, the food was not warm enough and the prices are expensive - we did not came back to this place.
The fitness center is amazing - olympic pool extraordinnary gym - we enjoyed it very much.
The beds are not big and sleeping quality was not than OK.
staff was nice and also we had a free movie with popcorn every night.
We did not had breakfast on their facility but cooked our own - and it was very nice.
To sum - it is a good nice place for a family vacation and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shlomi31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

My thanks for all of your great comments and service evaluations.

I was happy to see you enjoyed the unit. I will pass on your comments about the restaurant service. It is always important to understand our guest's dining expectation. Quick acknowledgement, well prepared food and attentive service are all a priority. My apologies that we did not meet up with those expectations.

I hope you'll have an opportunity to visit the resort again. We strive to make every guest experience a great one.

Take Care and Happy Traveling, AMY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Booked a 2 bed/2bath condo for 5 days. Location is an old snow skiing resort that is no longer in operation. While secluded from any city location the location does offer a beautiful, tranquil setting at the base of the mountain. The condo was nicely appointed. The master suite had a king bed and walk-in shower, the other bedroom had a queen bed and bath across the small hall. The only thing lacking was having it's own laundry facility. Laundry facilities were located in the lower level of the building. There were only two washers and two driers so availability of these is first come first served so go really early if you want to get wash done. They served a wonderful oatmeal breakfast buffet in the morning at a minimal charge of $5 per person. The buffet included juice, yougurt, oatmeal, eggs and sausage along with choice of beverage. The restaurant on premise could be good if the service was better. Prices are high for the service you get. No bread or rolls are served with the entrees, the wait staff is inattentive. We ordered a pre-dinner cocktail and were never offered another. We ate there once and chose to drive to alternative cities to dine after that.

Room Tip: Take bathing suits and workout attire. There is and excellent indoor and outdoor pool and work out...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gerald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you very much for the great comments and evaluations. These are very important to me so that I can share them with my staff.

My apologies for missing the mark in the restaurant. I will certainly discuss your recommendations with my Chef. I will also remind the servers the importance of making certain our diners are being attended to throughout their dining experience.

I hope you will have the chance to return to the resort.

Take Care and Happy Traveling, AMY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I decided to use our time share points to visit Ascutney Mountain Resort in September 2012 before we become new parents in December. We wanted a place to relax, be comfortable, and have easy access to day trips and sight seeing.

Check in: Fast and efficient. The staff member offered local directions, help with our luggage (our room was on the top floor and as other reviewers have mentioned, there are no elevators), and was very welcoming.

Our room: we booked a two bedroom villa as we thought another couple were going to travel with us, but we ended up travelling alone. My first words were "holy crap! It has an upstairs!" Our villa had a large flat screen tv, a smaller tv in each bedroom, 3 a/c units, a fireplace, WiFi, a great kitchen with all new appliances, a great view from the patio, 2 full bathrooms.... I could go on. Not your typical hotel room. Oh, as for beds, there were 2 singles in one room and two doubles in the other.

Location: less than an hour from many great sights and flavours of Vermont. We would recommend Fox Hollow Tavern, Sagebrush farm, the Dartmouth College campus and Manchester.

Amenities & Grounds: I'll be honest, the sight of the closed ski hill is a bit weird if not creepy but hopefully this is temporary and new owners will come in. The lawns were all mowed, trimmed and I didn't see a single piece of garbage on the property. The fitness center is a stand-alone building but we just drove to and from because the mornings were a bit cool. The pool was nice and warm and very quiet every morning. Not a screaming child to be found :) We didn't use the gym but the equipment was extensive. The beaver pond on the property was very cool and made for some great photo ops.

Food: we only tried the food one night and weren't very adventurous. The chicken fingers and wings were pretty good, but nothing extraordinary. Too many restaurants to try and we liked to save $ by cooking in our room.

Complaints? I'd have to be creative and say maybe put more toilet paper in the washrooms and get your money back from the company that installed the tile in the kitchens and bathrooms. That's about it. Most of the grout was cracked and some tiles were soon to follow. Too bad.

Awesome place to take a family to relax or see Vermont in day trips. Not a 5 star glitzy dreamland, but a comfortable resort for those in need of rest and relaxation.


  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gsmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacationsAMR1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments. We love that we are a relaxing place, where you can find peaceful surrondings and still have access to many of our Vermont attractions.

I will be sure to share you comments with our staff, who are always eager to discover our guest expectations and how we can deliver them.

I hope you have the opportunity to return some day. Take Care and Happy Traveling, AMY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brownsville
12.7 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#1 of 5 in Ludlow
270 reviews
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
299 reviews
10.7 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
7.6 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort

Address: 485 Hotel Road, Brownsville, VT 05037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brownsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Price Range: $122 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unplug at Holiday Inn Club Vacations® Mount Ascutney Resort in Brownsville, Vermont. The peaceful resort is perfect for couples’ getaways and fun outdoor-oriented family vacations. Enjoy spacious hotel-suite, condo-style 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom accommodations from 970 to 1,600 square feet including two-story villas. You’ll love the living room and in-unit washer/dryer. And save money by preparing family meals in your full kitchen with cookware and dining table with tableware. Plus, Wi-Fi and parking are free! The resort has everything needed for quality Vermont vacations. Enjoy indoor and outdoor pools, Sidewinder's Arcade, racquetball and The Maple Kitchen featuring local cuisine. The Climb Fitness Center offers the latest exercise equipment, group fitness and yoga, an indoor pool and basketball court, plus massage services. Explore the beautiful outdoors of Vermont with hiking and biking trails right from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Hotel Brownsville
Holiday Inn Brownsville
Brownsville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing