We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Same old Ascutney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Same old Ascutney”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

After hearing of the exciting changes that were promised for the new ski season and because New England had received so much snow, we decided to try Ascutney Mountain again. Ugh!
This resort has so much promise, it's disappointing the way the management treats its property.
They advertise 95% snow-making but we neither saw nor heard of any recent snow-making and the trails were only open at the lower part of the mountain. When we asked, we were told different stories about broken equipment, frozen pipes, bad weather - all the same stories we had heard over the years. So, there were only 20 trails open when most of the other resorts were in full operation top to bottom.
The last day of the trip we had some decent natural snowfall which finally opened most of the trails but there's more. They advertise 1800 vertical (which, on a few occasions is magnificent) but they did not operate their new high speed quad so only 1500 vertical on a very slow triple-chair ride was available for our full-priced tickets. You wouldn't believe what they told us about why the quad wasn't running. And still, no snow-making.
By the way, the grooming is generally horrible. It doesn't bother me because I like it that way, but to hear so many people complain, it's obviously bad for business and this resort could flourish with some effort. Right now, it's not a place for the average skier.
The management misses the point not only on the big things but little details like broken toilets, heavily damaged carpeting, brushing snow off the lift seats and often lacking a fire in the base-lodge fireplace.
Well, maybe we'll try again in a few months. With a little care and better marketing sense this resort would be terrific.

  • Disliked — The ski experience was disappointing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tripper6116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    132
    38
    40
    28
See reviews for
154
96
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

RUN.... do not walk... AWAY from this place! The resort is in a beautiful setting and has nicely appointed rooms. Unfortunately it also has surly service, incompetent management, many things which need repair/renovation and was a huge disappointment. Here's why:

(1) Our room was not as booked and confirmed in advance by phone. We were sent to the Essex building, where half the suite had no electricity and where workmen were doing construction on an earth-mover ten feet from our window. Past 8:30 pm. And dumping new shingles on the roof at thirty second intervals.

(2) Our room in the "air conditioned Windham building" had NO air conditioning, nor could the A/C be fixed (it needs major replacement). On the hottest weekend of July, the entire place was like opening an oven while baking cookies and unfit to live in.

(3) The one fan provided (bedroom) did not work and it took hours to get a replacement. When the front desk called maintenance (while I was standing there), the maintenance man yelled via walkie talkie "Where the hell am I supposed to get more fans?".

(4) The general manager cannot be reached outside regular business hours and so could not be spoken to until the following day.

(5) None of the resort's outdoor lighting was turned on. Do you have any idea how DARK it gets after sunset on a mountain in Vermont? It makes unpacking the car difficult and walking from building to building virtually impossible.

(6) The hotel has only one ice machine....in the basement. The one beverage vending machine (next to the ice machine) was "out of order" the entire four days we were there.

(7) The "activities room" was so hot it was unbearable being there for more than a minute at a time. It has two nice billiard tables. Bothe were marked "out of order" for our entire stay. The nearby "reading room" was nicely decorated and had lots of bookshelves--- all empty. Not even a brochure to read.

(8) There is no in-room coffee, no iron, no ironing board, no complimentary newspaper. In 2007, when every other hotel (even budget motels) offer all the above.

(9) There are precisely TWO carts with which to move one's luggage in or out. For the entire resort.

The entire experience was chaotic, to say the least and left us with a very very bad impression. In meeting the general manager, he explained that he had only been there for a month, major renovations were planned, additional service staff were to be hired, etc etc. Who cares? Why wasn't the resort CLOSED while all the above were taking place? In my many trips to the front desk, there were always other guests complaining about things not working, rooms too hot, asking to be moved, etc etc. I honestly wonder how this place stays in business. I know we will not be back--- ever.

The ONE bright spot of our entire stay was the effort put forth by the food & beverage manager (Pam B.) the night of our arrival. Although it was not her responsibility, she went out of her way to find us some additional fans, invited us to the bar for a complimentary drink and even scrounged up some food for us after the kitchen had closed. She was pleasant, professional, welcoming and the only example of "customer service" we experienced during our entire stay.

  • Liked — Checking OUT
  • Disliked — Lack of air conditioning and amenities
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank PoloRalphLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brownsville hotels

Tallahassee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

After reading less than stellar reviews on this resort, we approached our June 2 - 9 time share trade with some trepidation. Fortunately we experienced none of the problems encountered by previous guests. Our accommodations were clean and the staff was pleasant. The area is great for anyone wanting a low key vacation involving hiking, sightseeing, and enjoying the historical areas of southeast Vermont/southwest New Hampshire. There was not much activity at the resort itself, but the pools and several buildings were undergoing major renovation while we were there. We had a relaxing quiet week at Ascutney. Just what we were looking for. I agree with a previous writer who indicated this place is a jewel in the rough. Whether management has improved, or our experience was a fluke, we cannot say.

  • Liked — Clean and roomy, comfortable space
  • Disliked — Couch was uncomfortable
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank RetiredTraveler649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Region, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2007

Our prospective is different from others we've read here, as we booked a two night, $ 60 per night special which required us to take the time share tour. It was 2 degrees farenheit when we arrived and our room had no heat. The only heat we got was what came throught the walls from the adjoining unit. We were told to wait but it never got warmer - surprise!! We called the desk and were amazed to learn, they had to ask permission from their boss to move us. Our room was a "lock off unit", a crackerbox with a king size bed and just enough room to walk around it. You would think if they were going to ask us to buy a unit, they'd showcase one of their two or three bedroom units. What they did is kind of like a car dealer sending us for a test drive in a beat up Ford Escort, then trying to sell us a new Lincoln. Also, there was no information in the room as to what amenities were available, where to get coffee in the AM, etc.
The whole place had lots of deferred maintenance: covers falling off the heaters, algae on exterior wooden surfaces, stain worn thin. Brown's Tavern was cold. Either the heating system was inadequate for the Vermont climate or they cheaped out and had the thermostat too low. Prices for the meals were as expensive as Simon Pierce, an upscale restaurant in Woodstock, with much less atmosphere.
Our overall rating is zero. If we owned a time share here, we'd try to get the owners together and kick the management company out.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank NH_Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2006

We stayed at Ascutney Mountain Resort Oct. 14- 21 as a timeshare exchange through Interval International. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in the Hanover Building. We thought the room was average. It could have used a new paint job and a little fixing up but other wise it was a very comfortable room for the 3 of us. One bedroom had a king size bed and the other had 2 twins. The location of the resort was close to Interstate 91 and so we felt we had eacy access to areas we wanted to visit like Bennington, Stowe, Ben and Jerry's in Waterbury,etc. The resort had a nice pamphlet on a driving tour to see local covered bridges. We took a 2-3 hour drive to Kitttery, Maine to have lobster and clam chowder . We did not eat at any of the restaurants at the resort as we were busy sightseeing. The resort staff were all very friendly and we did not encounter any problems.

  • Liked — location to sightseeing
  • Disliked — could have used a little touch up ie: painting, new furniture, wallpaper
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WH, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2006

My family and I stayed at this resort August 12-19, 2006. The first problem came when we checked in. We went to our unit but could not get the doors unlocked, the keys would not work. My wife talked with the front desk and came back to the car complaining about how the desk clerk had treated her cheekily. The desk clerk called security for assistance with the doors. He could not get the doors open either. In past dealings with other resorts/business’ if management screwed up they would compensate for the discrepancy – it seemed we were penalized here. Our room did not have a queen size bed for my wife and me instead we had two bedrooms with full size beds. I am glad it wasn’t very hot as the only thing available for “cooling” were fans. According to our exchange policy we should get a unit that is comparable to our home unit, which did not happen here. The facility looks as if they cut corners in construction of the buildings. Parts of the ceiling in our unit were failing off. It was better and more comfortable than a motel room, nice view of the mountain, quite country surroundings and places to see but not so much for our children.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wally01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2006

We stayed there recently, and paid close to $200/night for a 2 bdrm apartment. While we were aware that the apt did not come with an AC, they only had 2 fans for the entire place, which were barely sufficient. We requested 2 more, but they could only provide one. They said that providing another one "could be a problem" even though the place was half empty! The windows in the rooms had broken nets, and I had to physically tape them to avoid a flood of insects in the night! Our room was not serviced/cleaned AT ALL the next day. When I spoke to the manager about it, she was completely non-chalant and couldn't give two hoots about why the cleaning staff had failed to clean the room. And the next day, they barely changed the towels. They didn't bother to replace the toiletries, vacuum the floors, clean the ktichen, replace ktichen rolls, toilet paper, NOTHING! On talking to the manager again, she said that they only clean "if they see a need for it." WHAT NONSENSE! What about replacing the toiletries etc? Is that left to the discretion of the cleaning staff? I've never heard such a preposterous suggestion. Either you clean or you don't. Simple. They bill themselves as a full-service establishment (and charge for it), even though they're far from it.

In short, really bad management. The place needs to hire people who are competent enough to run the place. The teenager who was checking people in had more common sense than the incompetent manager.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gupsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brownsville
10.5 mi away
The Pointe at Castle Hill Resort
13.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
12.7 mi away
Jackson Gore Inn
Jackson Gore Inn
#2 of 6 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
13.8 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Lebanon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
10.5 mi away
Castle Hill Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Address: 485 Hotel Road, Brownsville, VT 05037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brownsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brownsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This vibrant resort is tucked away in the rolling New England countryside away from the bustle of daily life making it the perfect spot to truly get away from it all. Ascutney Mountain Resort is a year-round indoor and outdoor recreational playground for nature lovers and adventurers alike. Whether hitting the areas ski slopes, touring historic covered bridges, enjoying one of the nearby golf courses, or simply gazing upon the magnificent palette of crimson and gold of autumn in New England, you'll find activities for every taste. In winter we are located in the heart of more than 150 acres of groomed slopes and trails. Visitors will enjoy alpine and cross-country skiing, as well as snowboarding and snow tubing on a variety of trails offering more than 1,530 feet of vertical drop and 32 kilometers of freshly groomed cross-country trails. The resort also offers a learning center and ski camps to help skiers of all skill levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Ascutney Mountain Hotel Brownsville
Holiday Inn Brownsville
Brownsville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing