We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special”

The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's
Reserve with OpenTable
The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 17
Description: Our legendary restaurant has been enticing guests for over three decades. Since 1983 Chef-Owner Doug Mack has offered farm to table menus emphasizing all local products. Fresh food sourced from our own on-site farm as well as other small, local farms is the framework upon which our culinary magic is built. "A visit to Vermont and missing Mary's is like visiting Paris and missing the Eiffel Tower... the food at Mary’s is legendary" - Vermont Magazine
Bristol, Vermont
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

A good way to celebrate my birthday with a special evening dining out at Mary's. The food was delicious, I am a fussy eater but the scallop dish with corn and bacon hash was excellent and quite worthy of the price. Maple Creme Brulee for dessert was served in a small dish, just right after
such a lovely meal. The servers were extremely accommodating when I wanted my scallops cooked just a little more. . I highly recommend this very welcoming and friendly B & B dining room.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonem93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    14
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monkton, Vermont
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of our local favorites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We always enjoy a dinner at Mary's. It is one of my husband's favorites because of the cream of garlic soup. This is not an easy menu for those on a diet. The food is rich in butter and cream, but good. The atmosphere is comfortable and the staff is friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenGazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First Time - Last Time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Went with a group of six to Mary's over Presidents Day Weekend, Beautiful setting but oh my was the food poor. No one in our group enjoyed their meal. Maybe the chef just had a bad night but the food was very very average and absolutely not worth the price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starksboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely quintessential Vermont dining room, always welcoming ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Mary's is lovely ... the food is always good, the service is wonderful and the dining room(s) and bar are about as close a match to what you imagine a Vermont B&B dining room should be. When you come here to eat, you are always welcomed and treated as a special member of the family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pegpurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The reservation made via Open Table was seamless, the restaurant also increased the size of our party from three to four without any problem. Drinks at the bar were good, and our bartender poured with a heavy hand, always a plus. So far, so good.

We waited at our table for a short while, looking over the menu, and ordered. Then nothing. The adjoining table had bread and butter on their table, we had nothing. When we asked for it, we were told it is brought out with the starters course, which was a ridiculous answer and also not true given what we observed at the adjoining table. As a "make good" we received a covered jar of a mixture of pretzels and coated nuts. Eventually, we received a small loaf of bread which was tasty accompanied by a small tub of chive butter which was also good. Then a wait for the starters. Two orders of a beet salad and two orders of the creamy garlic soup, all excellent. The "sticks and stones" ordered for the table were just okay. The mains were mixed. The strip steak, for nearly $40, was only about 1/2" thick and thus overpriced. The ravioli was fine. The eggplant "lasagne" dish (sans noodles) was fair with a tomato sauce which was poor. The duck dish looked like it was chicken (it was duck) and disappointing. We did not stay for dessert or coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davmiksal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's also viewed

 

Been to The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing