We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lousy food for the price!”

The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's
Reserve with OpenTable
The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 17
Description: Our legendary restaurant has been enticing guests for over three decades. Since 1983 Chef-Owner Doug Mack has offered farm to table menus emphasizing all local products. Fresh food sourced from our own on-site farm as well as other small, local farms is the framework upon which our culinary magic is built. "A visit to Vermont and missing Mary's is like visiting Paris and missing the Eiffel Tower... the food at Mary’s is legendary" - Vermont Magazine
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lousy food for the price!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I went here with my family expecting the best of the best. Unfortunately the food was not that great. I have been to the Bob Cat in Bristol which has great food and great prices. When I was at Mary's the waitress was rude and seemed hung over..it took forever to got our food and it just wasn't that good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    14
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Early Valentine's Day”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Being our first time here, I will rate this 4 out of 5. We do plan on going back and I will be able to rate more accurately.

The bistro has a small seasonal menu and a very intimate setting with about 10-11 tables in a sitting room with a fireplace. We had made reservations for 6 and there was only 2 other couples there. More people started to come in at 8.

The menu had unique items and ingredients. Elk was on the specials list which was exciting since it's not a regular food on most menus. It had a chocolate port reduction sauce which was very unique but fit the meat beautifully. Ask the server to bring out a sample of any of the sauces.

On the regular winter menu there is the staples: steak and burgers. Some uncommon cuisine options were rabbit, venison scaloppini, steamed mussels and pecan crusted haddock. I was surprised to see so many seafood options in mid winter.

I got one of the specials which was lobster pasta. Huge pieces of lobster in a buttery cheese sauce. My husband got the elk which was tender and very lean. He's a big steak eater so he wasn't as fond as the texture compared to beef.

The dessert seems to be the same as another reviewer. The molten lava cake. It was very warm served with a dense whipped cream. Most likely homemade and very flavorful. It almost had a hint of maple along with the rich cream flavor.

I really can't wait to go back to try more of the menu. They offer cooking classes to which piqued my interest.

Find it on a map before you go. There's not many signs notifying where it is. It's a wooded area so it sneaks up on you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Vermont Inn with Great Food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We went here for a 30th birthday. The atmosphere was very lovely with a crackling fire. The food was delicious and the service was very friendly and accommodating. The only drawback was that food took a while to come out - we did have a large party.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SachelJoelecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
563 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“The "Inn" Place”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Mary's Restaurant at The Inn at Baldwin Creek is wonderful. The charming dining room with its roaring fire on a cold winter's night is warmly welcoming. The food is prepared with great care and the presentation is appealing. And yes, the food is great! We cannot wait to go back and hope it will be for one of their many special menu dinners.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont, United States
1 review
“Great, seasonal food”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

It's definitely a homey Vermont experience. The menus are seasonal, so we try to go at least once a season to check out what's available. In the summer the lobster rolls are great. In the fall and winter, anything with root vegetables is great. I always order off the specials menu, because they are actually truly special. It's an elegant place but still good for families (at least those whose kids are used to restaurants). Experienced, knowledgeable staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's also viewed

 

Been to The Inn at Baldwin Creek & Mary's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing