We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wholesome food, friendly staff, small-town ambience”

Bristol Bakery & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Bristol
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Zip code 05443 Phone 802-453-3280
Rochester, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wholesome food, friendly staff, small-town ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Breakfast is served daily until noon. My husband and I enjoyed this popular bakery/restaurant in the charming small town of Bristol. The staff was helpful and pleasant, even offering to wind down the awning to keep the sun from our eyes without our having asked. Fresh fruit was cheerfully substituted for the home fries that were to have accompanied my three scrambled eggs with three additions (VT cheddar, carmelized onions, mushrooms). Served with a house-made onion bagel and a small cup of preserves (not a pre-made packet). Order at the counter, be served at your table. Everything is made from scratch. Obviously very popular with the locals because of its interesting and wholesome food, warm and cozy ambience, and many delicious choices. Highly recommended. Casual dress -- mostly fleeces and boots -- is prevalent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mountaintoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    24
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great baked goods! I love these guys!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We serendipitously discovered these guys by sheer luck last year after staying at the Crystal Palace bed and breakfast just up the road-(which is also wonderful BTW)! Anyhoo, we stopped in at the Bristol Bakery, and from that first moment, we were in love. They make these AWESOME cinnamon twist thingys that you CANNOT stop eating. They are so light and flakey and delicious! We are fortunate enough to be driving through on our way to Stowe next week, and we are absolutely going to make a detour to visit the Bristol Bakery! I already put my order in....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank illumina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place to take a break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Amazing cookies, great lattes, and free wifi in the entire town of Bristol! We loved our stop at this artsy cafe during our foliage drive through the towns in the area. Walk around and visit some of the art stores across and next to the cafe too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank taranaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, Vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolute gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Bristol Bakery has the typical muffins and scones and stuff, but the best thing they have is the cheese bread and cheese croissants. OMG best stuff ever! I would travel hours for this stuff!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mindy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good breakfast place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Located in tiny downtown Bristol. A nice cafe, good for fresh baked breakfast and lunch food. Nice ambiance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bchawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bristol Bakery & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bristol Bakery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing