We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST TERRIFIC!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgewater Corners
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
October Country Inn
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“JUST TERRIFIC!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the October COuntry Inn over the Thanksgiving weekend - it was perfect. We were visiting family and the Inn was our "overflow" - great accomodations and lovely breakfast. We could have spent more time with the games and the books. Next time, I want Chuck to take us out for a snowboard lesson!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamTravelerBOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived at the lovely October country inn after and long drive and Edie and Chuck couldn't have been more welcoming. Plenty of tea and biscuits and a welcoming warm living room with an open log fire. Had a great time at the Long Trail Brewery over the road - awesome beer and bar food. My 2 regrets were only staying 1 night and forgetting to take a maple scone with me the next morning. Chuck helped us pick out some good hikes with great views too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a wonderful inn run by a couple who aim to please. Arriving late afternoon we quickly changed and took advantage of the warm weather to swim in the pool and enjoy the fantastic view. The cozy common room with fireplace is a great place to relax as well as the front porch. The breakfast is wonderful and they serve some of the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever eaten. Hoping to see Chuck's maple scone recipe in Bon Appetit some day.

Room Tip: An upstairs room would be quieter if you like to retire early and people are still enjoying the comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripwizardry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

It has taken a few years, but I returned to this inn last weekend for the third time and was treated, more than ever, with the utmost care and warmth. Chuck and Edie run my definition of a quintessential B&B in creating a friendly, peaceful, immaculate, and pampering environment. Of the many B&Bs I have enjoyed, I also don't know of one where I have met more interesting breakfast companions either -- younger and older couples, weekending girlfriends, families with children. Though introverts like me don't particularly seek out new friends at B&Bs, the conversation just seems to flow over the scones we can't stop eating.

October Country Inn is a destination unto itself. Chuck and Edie are thoughtful, resourceful, fun, and real friends that I wish I could see more often. The grounds and gardens are more beautiful than ever. There are numerous inviting spaces, including the pool area, for quiet reflection time. I particularly enjoyed the front porch space this visit. Chuck's cooking delights as always. When we wanted a light, simple dinner, Edie's recommendation of nearby Brad's Crazy Side (I had carrot-ginger soup) was unexpected goodness. Our stay was too short -- I look forward to returning next summer.

Room Tip: My first-floor room (near the entrance) was roomy, well appointed and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLY-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at this lovely B&B - Chuck and Edie could not do enough for you - Breakfast was great and their homestyle dinner was equally good, and desert was awesome. Tea and cookies when you return from skiing is a very nice treat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelam287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed at the October Country Inn while on a bike tour with Bike Vermont. What a sweet couple that own this charming B-n-B. The breakfasts were delicious and generous as were the evening meals. Great location. Right across the street from Long Trail Brewery. Great jump off point for road biking. Close to some great skiing. Edie can point you in the right direction for great rides in the area. I highly recommend that if you stay here with Bike Vermont that you stay an extra night after the tour is finished. It would not be fun to finish a ride, shower and then hit the road home. We loved lingering one more day and heading home on Monday. All in all a great value. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Avoid the two rooms off the dining room. I would think they would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at this inn as part of a Vermont Cycling Tour, and it was the perfect introduction to Vermont—a state treasure! Accommodations are comfortable farmhouse bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms. Tea, soft drinks, and homemade cookies are always available, and there is a lovely front porch to sit and enjoy them. The décor features work by local artisans, including innkeeper Edie herself, who is a talented quilter. The food was truly outstanding, including scrumptious scones and light-as-air pancakes at breakfast and themed dinners—we had French and Italian, beautifully prepared and served family-style. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgewater Corners
3.1 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
300 reviews
5.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
401 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Woodbridge Inn
The Woodbridge Inn
#8 of 16 in Woodstock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Farmhouse Inn at Robinson Farm
2.9 mi away
Deer Brook Inn
Deer Brook Inn
#3 of 16 in Woodstock
533 reviews
7.3 mi away
Killington Mountain Lodge
Killington Mountain Lodge
#3 of 13 in Killington
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to October Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about October Country Inn

Property: October Country Inn
Address: 362 Upper Rd., Bridgewater Corners, VT 05035
Location: United States > Vermont > Bridgewater Corners
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgewater Corners
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the last 40 years October Country Inn can be found alongside this quiet side road near Route 4 about halfway between Woodstock and Killington. We can not be found under listings for Woodstock or Kilington, We are a well kept secret. You get all the advantages these towns have to offer without having to endure what you came to Vermont to escape. Our accommodations include ten guest rooms, large dinning, meeting or game rooms, a spacious living room scattered with overstuffed furniture where, if its cool, a fire always crackles in the fireplace. We have plenty of games, puzzles, and books. And we're willing partners for a little idle conversation if you're inclined. We are country living at its most relaxed and enjoyable. Join us won't you? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
October Country Hotel Bridgewater Corners
Country Inn Bridgewater Corners
Bridgewater Corners Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing