We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridgewater Corners
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
October Country Inn
GreenLeadersGold level
north carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Stayed at the October Country Inn while on a bike tour with Bike Vermont. What a sweet couple that own this charming B-n-B. The breakfasts were delicious and generous as were the evening meals. Great location. Right across the street from Long Trail Brewery. Great jump off point for road biking. Close to some great skiing. Edie can point you in the right direction for great rides in the area. I highly recommend that if you stay here with Bike Vermont that you stay an extra night after the tour is finished. It would not be fun to finish a ride, shower and then hit the road home. We loved lingering one more day and heading home on Monday. All in all a great value. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Avoid the two rooms off the dining room. I would think they would be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at this inn as part of a Vermont Cycling Tour, and it was the perfect introduction to Vermont—a state treasure! Accommodations are comfortable farmhouse bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms. Tea, soft drinks, and homemade cookies are always available, and there is a lovely front porch to sit and enjoy them. The décor features work by local artisans, including innkeeper Edie herself, who is a talented quilter. The food was truly outstanding, including scrumptious scones and light-as-air pancakes at breakfast and themed dinners—we had French and Italian, beautifully prepared and served family-style. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I just returned from two nights at the October Country Inn.
This was our first time staying at a B&B so we weren't sure if we would like the experience but it was great.

The room was very clean and inviting as was the rest of the inn.
Inn keepers, Edith and Chuck were wonderful and a pleasure to converse with.
We went there to bike but almost didn't get it in because of the weather, then the sun came out on Saturday giving us all the time we needed. Chuck set us up with a map of the bike route and off we went. When we returned, we went across the street to the brewery for some great beer.

Bottom line, I would highly recommend the October Country Inn. Especially if you haven't stayed at one before, you might as well stay at the best.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabo
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

We had a blissful 2 nights stay at Chuck and Edies charming bed and breakfast. Spotlessly clean, with all the comforts of home. They are great hosts and a mine of historical information about the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaboDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

We just returned home from a weekend stay at the October Country Inn with friends. Edie and Chuck are wonderful hosts who met our every request and more. We enjoyed the breakfasts and an enjoyable dinner prepared by Chuck and Edie. The rooms were spacious and comfortable Since we had no real plans when we arrived and all of us were from out of state, they were great about giving us ideas of what was in the area. We look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

My husband and I tried out the October Country Inn earlier this month because we needed a place to stay near Killington, where we were skiing for the weekend. We could not have been more pleased with our choice! The innkeepers Chuck and Edie are the perfect combination of friendly and laid-back, so we felt adequately welcomed and very much at home.

The Inn is decorated in the quintessential Vermont farmhouse style (fruited wallpaper in the dining room, wide pine floors, lovely quilts on the beds, tasteful color palettes) and is as impeccably charming as it is clean.

Chuck's daily breakfasts were absolutely delicious, and we very much appreciated the variety of breakfast foods (freshly baked scones, oatmeal with apples and raisins, yogurt / granola, fresh fruits, cold cereals) set out in addition to Chuck's specials. It is exactly what we needed to energize us before a full day on the mountain.

In addition to providing a delight for all the senses, the October Country Inn could not be more reasonably priced. I very much appreciated the room rates, especially compared to the other lodging in the Killington area.

With such great rates, a prime location (15min drive from the lifts), and endless charm, my husband and I returned to the OCI to ski Killington again two weeks later and will most likely return again and again in the future. I cannot imagine finding a nicer place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RdRC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dnymrc
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

i was very happy with my brief stay here. the staff is very nice, the inn is clean and welcoming, i would return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnymrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgewater Corners
3.1 mi away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
5.6 mi away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
11.7 mi away
Mendon Mountainview Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
2.0 mi away
The Woodbridge Inn
The Woodbridge Inn
#7 of 16 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
5.8 mi away
Salt Ash Inn
Salt Ash Inn
#1 of 2 in Plymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to October Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about October Country Inn

Property: October Country Inn
Address: 362 Upper Rd., Bridgewater Corners, VT 05035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Bridgewater Corners
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgewater Corners
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the last 40 years October Country Inn can be found alongside this quiet side road near Route 4 about halfway between Woodstock and Killington. We can not be found under listings for Woodstock or Kilington, We are a well kept secret. You get all the advantages these towns have to offer without having to endure what you came to Vermont to escape. Our accommodations include ten guest rooms, large dinning, meeting or game rooms, a spacious living room scattered with overstuffed furniture where, if its cool, a fire always crackles in the fireplace. We have plenty of games, puzzles, and books. And we're willing partners for a little idle conversation if you're inclined. We are country living at its most relaxed and enjoyable. Join us won't you? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
October Country Hotel Bridgewater Corners
Country Inn Bridgewater Corners
Bridgewater Corners Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing