We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with family”
Review of 1868 Crosby House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
1868 Crosby House
Ranked #2 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windham, CT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like staying with family”
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We have stayed at the 1868 Crosby House a number of times and never were we disappointed. If you read the other reviews you will see they are all gushing and its for good reason. Lynn and her husband Richard are the perfect B&B owners, there if you need them invisible when you don't.

The house is beautiful, the rooms quiet and comfortable, the breakfast first-class.

Get out of town and enjoy a nice stay in Vermont.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyaNjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
117
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new haven
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Martha Stuart would have loved it here. The antiques, rooms, one with Jacuzzi, are all beautiful. We fond it unnecessary to leave the grounds. Breakfast was imaginative and worthy of 5 stars, and I am picky. We felt like family. Look no further.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Crosby House gets it right--the decor, the amenities, the food, and the service--are simply on target. There is a subtle but careful attention to detail in all of these domains that makes everything work, and work well. It's rare to find such high standards at a B&B in this price range.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPS_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We recently spent a night at the 1868 Crosby House and were very pleased with our stay. We booked the Summer Retreat room (although the night we stayed was cold and rainy) and would not have been more pleased. Cosy room with a gas fireplace, spacious bathroom with a jacuzzi for two and a quiet, peacful setting for a relaxing night.

The innkeeper, Lynn, was gracious and made us a truly gourmet breakfast. When we stay at inns and B&B's, we like our solitude (no hovering hosts for us) and Lynn gave us just the right amount of attention and space.

I would highly recommend 1868 Crosby House to anyone who enjoys high qualtiy lodgings at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler9028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, GA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We discovered this B&B when required to travel to Brattleboro, VT. It is a beautiful place, but what makes it so special is are the accomodations. We lacked for nothing. They bring coffee to your room prior to breakfast, allowing you to choose when you want to eat, rather than having a set time for everyone. The room had a wonderful fireplace, with a timer to allow you to fall asleep without worrying about it. It is located in a beautiful town of Brattletoro, which seems to be a sleepy, artsy community set in the hills of Vermont. I can't say enough about this inn and the innkeeper, Lynn. Beautiful, comfy, cozy - perfect!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyRoswell_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Just returned from three-night stay at 1868 Crosby House. It couldn't have been more perfect. Lynn and Richard are most gracious innkeepers. The Summer Retreat bedroom has an extra-large bathroom with a wonderful jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. There are two other bedrooms upstairs, but we felt like we were the only ones in the house. I can't say enough good things about the three breakfasts we enjoyed. Just when we thought it couldn't get any better, it did. The back garden area is beautiful. I wish we had allotted a half-day just to go exploring on the trails adjoining.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover25Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Lovely B&B. Innkeeper is wonderful, friendly and extremely helpful - supremely nice person. The house & rooms are beautiful & there is a gorgeous garden in the back that is right next to woods with good hiking trails. Food is superb. Cozy little library of books and videos is great for lazy evenings. Location is good - close to downtown but just far enough to be in a peaceful, quiet area.

  • Liked — setting
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jemMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.8 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#3 of 10 in Brattleboro
346 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
2.0 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
572 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1868 Crosby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Crosby House

Property: 1868 Crosby House
Address: 175 Western Ave, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1868 Crosby House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosby House offers three luxury B&B rooms and 2 spacious suites for a memorable stay in Southern Vermont. Extensive gardens bordered by woodlands with 9 miles of walking/skiing/snowshoeing trails in Vt. Trust Land. Yet, we're only a half mile walk to downtown Brattleboro with it's unique shops, restaurants, galleries and Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your 1868 Crosby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing