We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
193
17
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
193
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailsgas fireplaceski jumpvictorian charmgluten free needsrose roomdelicious breakfasthighly recommend staying heregardens are lovelychamber musicprivate bathrooman excellent cookcharming b bnew englandthoughtful touchesdietary needslocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 212 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2017

The 1868 Crosby House is the quintessential Vermont B&B. Maria, the innkeeper, was friendly and helpful from the first phone call and throughout our stay. The house is warm and inviting, and very clean. We traveled with our 12 year old son -and the innkeepers went out of their way to make him feel special - from the warm cookies waiting when we arrived to the special goodies at breakfast. Many other small inns frown upon children - but not the 1868 Crosby House. Speaking of breakfast - it was a two-course, homemade feast. The perfect start to our day. After breakfast, we headed out the back door to hike the Retreat Trails. Super convenient and beautiful hiking! I highly recommend the 1868 Crosby House - and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, General Manager at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Oh goodness - we're so happy that you loved your stay with us, and that you took advantage of the gorgeous trails out back. Your family was a pleasure to host, and we welcome all families to call us to assist them in selecting the perfect room for their needs! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

We stayed here one night on our 20th anniversary road trip through New England. Our room, Winter Solace, was extremely comfortable with everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and ensured a great nights sleep.
The breakfast was delicious, fruit, pumpkin french toast with a stuffing of cream cheese and wonderful coffee served in a cozy dinning room. Maria is an excellent cook.
Lynn is so friendly and gregarious, she took the time to tell us about the area and what to see and do. We never felt rushed when talking to her. Maria also has the same qualities, they work well together!
The hiking trails just out the back was an easy walk in the woods after breakfast.
I highly recommend staying here.
Thank you for your great hospitality!

Room Tip: I'm sure any room is good.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn5450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, General Manager at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

What a pleasure it was to host you both on your special trip, and thank you for your kind words! We very much enjoy working together to take care of our guests, and it's lovely to know that you felt at home here. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile

We had an very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Lynn and Maria provided a vegan breakfast that was exceptional and made us feel right at home. The room we stayed in (Garden Cottage Suite) was upstairs and the staircase is outside the building with a private entrance. It had a small outside patio, a gas fireplace, and a small kitchen area with a mini fridge that was super convenient for storing leftovers and drinks. The grounds are beautiful, with hiking trails right in the backyard. Make time for a hike that can be as short or long as you like. Parking is ample. Close proximity to downtown Brattleboro and the Brattleboro Farmers Market. We took advantage of a drive to Mount Snow and took a scenic chairlift ride. Love the Brattleboro Food Co Op, Super Fresh Organic Restaurant, and the Farmers Market. Highly recommend and would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank rlocicero10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, General Manager at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2017

Thanks so much for staying with us, and for your great review! Lynn and I decided we preferred those vegan waffles so much that we served them to everyone today! ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Tough to add to the superlatives already out there, but you have to start with Maria's breakfasts. They are not just a cheap buffet, but a plated dish of heaven. Maria accommodated our gluten free needs with homemade waffles one day and base of polenta the next. Roasted pears, poached eggs, tomato sauce from scratch, fantastic presentation! After this kind of breakfast, you wonder why you ever stay in hotels.

The rooms are in excellent shape - comfortable bed, excellent bathrooms, sense of privacy, plus plenty places throughout the house and patio to sit and read or chill. The location is excellent - trails right out back (20 minute easy walk to the ski jump), Under a mile to downtown, or to the deli/farmer's market in the other direction.

What really makes the difference is simple - Maria. This isn't just about the food. When you meet Maria, you will find someone who is genuine, open, caring, and very ready to laugh. The kitchen is a perfect place to just stand and chat, and she is totally in her element. You won't just feel like you had a great stay and great food - you will that lightness in your soul from how much she has made you smile.

Room Tip: All the rooms in great shape
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kohavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, General Manager at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Wow....just wow. I am blown away by this, and can only thank you and tell you that you two encouraged my heart just as immensely with your kindness and mirth! I loved having you here, and look forward to next time... :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile

A lovely friendly B&B. Lynn and Maria will go above and beyond to make your stay a delight. The breakfasts are a gourmet delight.
They are full of information in regards to what to do and how to get there.
We stayed for 4 days on our way to York ME.
When we travel to Vermont will definitely stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Wilcher79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria T, General Manager at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2017

Thank you so very much for your kind review! We loved getting to know you both, and sincerely hope that you do swing back through and see us sometime! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews