We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1868 Crosby House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1868 Crosby House
Ranked #2 of 5 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Deep River, Connecticut
1 review
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We are in our late 60's and wanted a getaway to Southern Vermont. We chose the 1868 Crosby House for location and a smartly designed website. Our stay was made perfect by warm, friendly staff, a skillfully prepared gormet breakfast, and a room that provides the comfort and quiet you would expect. All this for a reasonable price and right off the highway. Well done!

Room Tip: Suite upstairs has private entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn K, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you! It's responses like yours that keep me going!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
105
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We chose this delightful house to stay at because of the ratings here and we were not disappointed. We have been treated like family and housed excellently. The gardens out the back are lovely but we didn't attempt the miles of trails. Breakfast was excellent and tea and coffee making facilities much appreciated, as was the wifi. The bed was very comfortable and the shower nice and hot. The whole place is spotlessly clean. An excellent stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs suite at the back is very nice and has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Playfairest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! Enjoy the rest of your time in New England and have a safe trip home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Charming hosts in a lovely home. Close to town. Bathrooms are I to date. Sitting room upstairs. Every possible convenience in a charming Victorian ambience. Wireless, gas fireplace in room. Curling fan, etc.,etc. Breakfast is elegant, tasty & not overdone.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
I'm so glad you had a chance to experience our beautiful woodland trails! Thank you for taking the time to send a review. We certainly appreciate it! And, don't forget to come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

This is a real find! From the warm hospitality of the hosts, to the beauty of the house, to the lovely, comfortable rooms, to
the incredible homemade breakfast (fruit, French toast, homemade muffins, coffee brought to your room). We are already creating reasons to return!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ronnie63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
....And we certainly hope to see you again! Thank you for your gracious review, we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We loved our stay at this beautiful, relaxing, immaculately clean and homey B&B. We only wish we could have had a larger bedroom with the same roomy bathroom because, as artists, we tend to travel with more gear and enjoy nooks for journaling. (Reviewer Tim B must not travel with much luggage!) Lynn went out of her way to accommodate any of our needs. One night we chose to bring "take out" back to the inn and were most comfortable dining in front of a gas fireplace with use of the house china! We enjoyed chatting with Lynn about the B&B experience. She is a natural as hostess with the mostest! We found Brattleboro interesting and would definitely like to explore more of the activities, such as a winter sleigh ride! We will return, especially for Lynn's delicious muffin egg delights (not egg muffins!) . . . for which she generously shared the recipe!

Room Tip: Choices are very individual. We actually opened the windows (in February), for some fresh air! Eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColorfulExpressions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Love the details in your review! Next time, you should try one of our spacious suites, they're perfect for travelers who like extra space and places to tuck away extra baggage! Thank you for taking your time to write about us....see you on your next visit to Brattleboro!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I spent many nights in the B&B in 2013 and 2014.

Rooms are great and Lynn and Richard are the sweetest persons in the world.

And finally, Brattleboro is a very cool place to stay (countryside, foliage, mountains..)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you, Alex....we always look forward to your stays with us! Wish more corporate travelers would give us a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights at the end of December 2013. The room was beautifully decorated and spacious enough to accommodate all our winter luggage. Breakfast was very good, and we enjoyed meeting the other travelers at the inn. The whirlpool tub was spacious and relaxing. We loved the Brattleboro area and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
So glad you enjoyed the Crosby House and Brattleboro! Don't forget that all our repeat guests get a discount with a direct reservation....we love having you come back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.8 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 11 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
2.0 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Brattleboro
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1868 Crosby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Crosby House

Property: 1868 Crosby House
Address: 175 Western Ave, Brattleboro, VT 05301-6950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1868 Crosby House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosby House offers three luxury B&B rooms and 2 spacious suites for a memorable stay in Southern Vermont. Extensive gardens bordered by woodlands with 9 miles of walking/skiing/snowshoeing trails in Vt. Trust Land. Yet, we're only a half mile walk to downtown Brattleboro with it's unique shops, restaurants, galleries and Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your 1868 Crosby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing