We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might be right for some” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1868 Crosby House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1868 Crosby House
Ranked #2 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Might be right for some”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a lovely B&B that wasn't quite right for me, though others may enjoy staying here. Here are the PROs and CONs as I see them; you can decide which are important to you.

PROS
1. The common rooms, grounds, and guest room were lovely and clean. 2. Breakfast was very good - the hosts even inquired about special dietary needs. 3. It was quiet in the house at night.

CONS
1. We found both the house and our room too cold, even though the hosts told us "the heat is on." I run warmer than my partner, and it's rare for me to find a room too cold. There was a gas fireplace in our room, but the two-hour timer prevented running it through the night. 2. The road noise from Western Ave woke me in the night, even though I wear earplugs when I travel. Noise-sensitive people may want to research their room options.

A nitpick: we have to have our coffee in the morning, so we were pleased to see a Keurig machine in the common room. But whenever we tried to use it, the host insisted on pouring us a cup of coffee from the kitchen, which was not strong the way we like it. We tried to tactfully indicate our preference for the Keurig coffee, but the host didn't (or wouldn't) understand.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face Western Ave if you are noise-sensitive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Owner at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Though it's rare, it always disappoints us when we have not been able to give our guests an overall good experience. To be sure, we Vermonters are energy conscious, but not to the point where our guests are uncomfortable - I apologize, wish I'd known. And it's hard to make coffee that meets everyone's criteria these days and that Keurig sure helps, especially with Starbucks fans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
112
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Moments from the center of Brattleboro, the house full of charm. Lynn, the owner, was wonderful. With her guidance, we made a day trip exploring nearby locales. The room was warm and immaculate. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asimari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkuralt, Manager at 1868 Crosby House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our stay was brief but the house was lovely, inviting, and well managed; It was a very open and comfortable place to be in. If I had to think of one complaint, it was that no soap was provided in the shower; however, this minor detail is overshadowed by the pleasant and comfortable atmosphere the place provided as well as the amazing breakfast the morning had to offer. It was a fulfilling and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband, daughter and I stayed for one night on October 22nd. It was even better than the website pictures! Lynn, the owner, was charming and friendly and we found much in common. She suggested restaurants for our evening meal and we found the one we chose to be just right for our needs. Our room was the Garden Suite which accommodated us perfectly. The beds were so comfortable, the gas fire and chair beside was a firm favourite with our daughter. The bathroom was clean and had plenty of towels - every detail had been thought about and provided for our comfort. Pretty decorations in our room and white shutters - the view over the garden was lovely to wake up to. We managed a quick walk up to the summer house before we left. Unfortunately we did not have time to walk any trails. Breakfast was a delight - Lynn enjoys cooking - poached pear in cinnamon with a baby muffin, fresh juice and coffee followed by eggs wrapped in ham and local Grafton cheese baked in a muffin tin (yes) with swirled pumpernickel toast - amazing! We ate in the beautiful period dining room with the fire lit and the autumn holiday decorations tastefully arranged. So hard to leave - would love to return. If you need to stay in Brattleboro a stay at this home is to be desired.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are beautiful for a couple. The Garden Suite has a double sofa bed as well as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ascoteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I loved the Crosby House...warm and welcoming and the room was perfect in every sense of the word. My only regret was that I only had one night to stay there. Lynn was lovely and kind and the perfect host.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Queensland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a wonderful property set amongst beautiful trees. The hosts are fantastic and make you feel extremely welcome. Breakfast was fantastic! The room we had was spacious and the bed comfortable.
The B&B is a good walk down to the restaurants and shops but well worth it. Highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My mother stayed at 1868 Crosby House, and loved every moment of her time at this fabulous B&B. She enjoyed meeting and visiting with Lynn, the proprietor. The breakfasts were delicious, and the dining areas were beautifully decorated. The room and bath were spotlessly clean, and the bed very comfortable. Lynn helped us with directions, a map, and other recommendations for activities. The gardens are lovely, and there are miles of hiking trails right off of the backyard.

Room Tip: The upstairs apartments are private, with a separate living area from the bedroom, and a mini fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.8 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.0 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#5 of 10 in Brattleboro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1868 Crosby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Crosby House

Property: 1868 Crosby House
Address: 175 Western Avenue, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1868 Crosby House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosby House offers three luxury B&B rooms and 2 spacious suites for a memorable stay in Southern Vermont. Extensive gardens bordered by woodlands with 9 miles of walking/skiing/snowshoeing trails in Vt. Trust Land. Yet, we're only a half mile walk to downtown Brattleboro with it's unique shops, restaurants, galleries and Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 1868 Crosby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing