We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I might never find a nicer place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1868 Crosby House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1868 Crosby House
Ranked #2 of 4 Brattleboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I might never find a nicer place to stay!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This was our fifth stop on our New England tour, all at B&B's given good ratings on TripAdvisor. 1868 Crosby House did not disappoint. I just hope that I am as hospitable to people who visit my home. Lynne was an absolutely delightful hostess who provided an excellent breakfast as well as showing us where we could help ourselves to coffee and soft drinks. Our room was large, clean, comfortable and we were blessed with wonderful weather during our three day stay. The trails that start at the bottom of the garden were much enjoyed.

At earlier stops we had stayed at Aisling B&B in Boston, Bufflehead Head Cove in Kennebunk, Riverside B&B at Intervale in NH, and Beaver Pond Farm in Warren, VT. All of these have been reviewed on TripAdvisor. Now on to our final stop - the Captain Freeman Inn in Brewster on Cape Cod.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SussexWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
112
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We so enjoyed our stay here last year that we returned for a 3 night stay this year! We cannot say enough about this B & B! The location is great - just off the highway and a short walk to downtown. The trails behind the inn are beautiful, complete with a ski jump. Lynn & Richard are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts' are superb! What are you waiting for? You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Don't know the name of the room, but the one with the whirlpool tub and great shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trewq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Excellent in every detail! Rooms, food, and service are top notch! Grounds are amazing! The Woodlands Trail behind inn is delightful. Great spot to do leaf peeping and serve as a home base to explore southern Vermont.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This charming house with its charming grounds and beautifully decorated rooms (each is unique) was the perfect place to stay during our fall foliage trek. Lynn thoughtfully put out a basket of things you might have forgotten like toothpaste, shampoo, deodorant, etc. in the sitting room upstairs. There was also a fridge with bottle water and soft drinks. I did think it odd that no shampoo was provided in the bathroom, but the basket took care of that. There was afternoon tea and a cookie jar, and a sumptious breakfast. I thought it a very nice touch to bring coffee up to the room in the morning. Lynn is a born hostess and very personable. Would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pesca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

What a treat to get a chance to stay at this B&B. Our room, Autumn Rose, was a delight with beautiful furniture and well appointed bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and early delivery of coffee to our room before breakfast was a bonus. Our host Lynn is a natural, so easy to talk to and very helpful with information about the area. We enjoyed our stay and would stay at the 1868 Crosby House again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

upside: Clean, comfortable, spacious room, good breakfast, coffee & tea available any time, beautiful back garden.

downside: Sits on a busy road, 20 minute walk into town, windows wouldn't open.

That said, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckahoe
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We always look forward to our yearly weekend visit to the Crosby House. Lynn and Richard’s gracious hospitality and the lovely surroundings make it a truly enjoyable stay. Although we have a favorite, every room that we stayed in has its own unique charm. We love strolling through the beautiful gardens in the back of the house or just taking a short walk on the path. And I wouldn’t leave out the wonderful breakfast that is always one of the highlights. You will not be disappointed in this distinctive B&B!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brattleboro
0.8 mi away
Latchis Hotel
Latchis Hotel
#2 of 10 in Brattleboro
332 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
550 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1868 Crosby House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1868 Crosby House

Property: 1868 Crosby House
Address: 175 Western Avenue, Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Brattleboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brattleboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1868 Crosby House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crosby House offers three luxury B&B rooms and 2 spacious suites for a memorable stay in Southern Vermont. Extensive gardens bordered by woodlands with 9 miles of walking/skiing/snowshoeing trails in Vt. Trust Land. Yet, we're only a half mile walk to downtown Brattleboro with it's unique shops, restaurants, galleries and Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 1868 Crosby House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing